We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip and fun hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Ranked #84 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonds, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hip and fun hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our stay was fantastic and the customer service was great. The hotel was spotless and very quiet. We paid a bit more at checkin to get a larger room, which was very nice. The complementary bar was also a plus to have. The hotel is located near resturants and close to Tower Hill and the tube stop. It is more of a business area but a very nice modern hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Great review thank you. Some say Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill is a "hidden gem". Others are still surprised by it's unique some say "quirky" character. But most of you say this small boutique hotel represents fantastic VFM. We agree on both counts.
We also look forward to seeing you back with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    330
    47
    12
    4
See reviews for
94
669
74
251
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was brilliant. My husband and I went for a weekend away over the bank holiday to celebrate our anniversary. They generously upgraded us to a suite on this basis. Suite was amazing - really clean, spacious, ample facilities including a free mini bar. The hotel even offered a turn down service where they left an elemis heavenly sleep spray on our pillows as well as thorntons chocolate. These little touches made a world of difference.
The hotel is located in the business district so was quite busy on Friday when we arrived, but nice and quiet over the weekend. A short walk from the tower bridge and just a few seconds from algate tube station so just a quick ride into central.
For those who have a forthcoming stay, would strongly recommend a local Italian restaurant called Il Bordello on wapping high st which is a 25 minute walk away.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_mann10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Fantastic review, thank you. Everyone here at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill looks forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had a great stay in the Hotel Indigo!

This is what would be considered a boutique hotel. There are 6 floors and about 40 rooms. There is a very small but pleasant reception lobby. The staff is very friendly, courteous and helpful. The hotel is located really close to at least 3 tube stations, Tower Hill, Aldgate and one other. London Tower is a 5-10 minute walk at most. All the common areas in the hotel are spotless.

The rooms are beautiful, modern, clean and fairly spacious. They have a free mini bar with water, juices, granola bars and chocolates. The rooms are and well appointed. There is a desk to plug in a computer and also free wifi. The front desk gives you a code for all your devices. The bed is super comfortable with four fluffy pillows. They have an iPhone, iPod charger/alarm clock and several lights around the room and a flat screen TV. The room was so nice, it was hard to leave to go out and see London.

The bathroom was beautiful also. It has a nice shower with a rain head and flexible shower arm, all with separate controls. The shower has glass doors and nice tiles There is a towel warmer and Hotel Indigo supplies the rooms with shampoo, soap, etc. They have those funky cool European egg shaped toilets with the dual flush system. They even have robes and slippers and an in room safe.

The price was really great for a major city hotel. We had a rate of £90 per night. After taxes and fees it was about $170.00. That is 1/2 the price of a comparable hotel in New York City.

My only small complaint is the hotel is in the financial district. During the day, it is vibrant with banks, coffee shops, pubs and restaurants but at night there is not a lot going on as the places close up. This can be a good thing as the street is quiet. However, Brick Lane and East London are an easy walk with more options for food in that area. Also to get to Heathrow is bit of a pain by bus or train. There are a couple of tube changes to make to get to Victoria or Padingston Station which can be a hassle with a lot of luggage.

I loved this hotel and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a really nice hotel for a very reasonable price in London. It was one of the nicer hotels I have stayed at in terms of value vs. cost.

Room Tip: Only 6 floors so if your on the 6th no noise above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rrmambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Great feedback, thank you. We are so pleased you have enjoyed our amenities and our unique blend of hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Check-in is fast and efficient, rooms lovely designed, spacious and well conditioned and very modern.

Food is good quality for what you pay and staff are friendly and helpful.

Location is great for business.

Have stayed here lots, would stay here again and will do so.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better as their are a few bars across from the hotel which can sometimes be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weephil76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I took a couple of 10-year-old boys to the Indigo so that we had a place to stay in London after a late night at the Olympics. What a lovely hotel. The staff upgraded us to a one-bedroom suite, which as most welcome so I could stay up later after putting the boys to bed.

The minibar was complementary and the room even came with a free Olympics mascot for the boys to take home. Beautiful modern room with an excellent bathroom, two TVs, etc.

I don't get over to this part of London much, but I would highly recommend the Indigo to anyone heading to the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NicholasWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Wow, what an endorsement! Thank you for your warm thoughts. We would love to welcoming you back very soon. This part of London holds so many "hidden gems"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Having stayed at the Indigo hotel in Glasgow, I expected something similar in London (despite the franchise nature of the Indigo brand), and I did get just that, something vaguely familiar.

Just like the Indigo in Glasgow, the design of the entire hotel was impeccable. Nothing but tasteful design, right down to the last detail. No shabby English hotel decor here!

After the design, things go downhill, however. The "complimentary minibar" is quite pathetic (I have seen much better stocked ones at more than one cheaper English hotel), the 24 hour room service is similarly almost non-existent and for the first time the crisps were locked up at night (?!) and therefore off the menu. I would much rather pay by the item, i.e. have a true minibar, and also receive better service. This is something most other hotels consider quite self-evident.

I can only blame the management however. The staff are as courteous and helpful as their better paid colleagues elsewhere and definitely made the best of what they were given to work with. Only being able to allow later checkouts for the price of your personal data, for example, is evidently a profit driven management decision.

Unless these shortcomings can be brought up to par with hotels in the same category in the west end, this will have been my first and last stay at that hotel. There are a few establishments in Westminster and Kensington who appreciate me a bit more. Heck, even very nearby there's a better one...

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the Minories are marginally quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gekkoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your candid comments. We enjoyed your comparisons to Hotel Indigo Glasgow, a fine example of our Brand. I also took some of your other comments on the chin like a man, especially when I also have a secret passion for hand cooked crisps in the early hours...
As for our suggestion to join the IHG Loyalty Card scheme, PCR (Priority Club Members) have a wealth of benefits from accumulating reward points as you stay in any IHG (Intercontinental Group ) Hotel, including a complimentary late checkout facility. In fact, it is the only hotel loyalty scheme that allows you to redeem your points in other Hotel chains!
We would love you to carry on trying all the other Hotel Indigos as we are all so very different from one another but in a pleasant and surprising sort of way. I can assure you, despite the occasional shortcomings that all businesses face, you will never be disappointed from what Hotel Indigo Brand delivers in abundance, a unique blend of hospitality, delivered by inspired, caring and well appreciated staff.
We all look forward to welcoming you back with us on your next trip to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the Indigo for 1 night during the Olympics and chose the hotel as was close to Central London, but also not too far from the Olympic Park and we got a reasonable rate on Expedia. A lovely welcome from the lady on reception - we were quite early so our room wasn't ready, but she checked us in and assured us that our bag would be in the room for us later that evening when we returned. Sure enough when we returned at 11pm, our keys were promptly issued and we were pleased (and a little surprised!) to find our bag was in the room as promised.
The most impressive part of the hotel was the room. The furnishings and design was excellent and I would say on a par with most 5 star hotels we have stayed at. It had a contemporary oriental design to it - the 4 poster bed was a really nice touch! What I was more surprised about was that the fire evacuation map on the back of the door indicated that ours was the smallest room on the floor, but it was larger than most London hotel rooms I have stayed in previously. The complimentary soft drinks and snacks in the mini bar were also a really nice touch. The basement bar also looked very nice, although unfortunately we didn't have the opportunity to use it. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy_Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Fantastic comments thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back with us on your next trip to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#82 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,492 reviews
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#129 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#44 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#50 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,206 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#36 of 1,089 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill

Property: Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Address: 142 Minories, London EC3N 1LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in London
#66 Business Hotel in London
#70 Family Hotel in London
#77 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located near Tower Bridge and the Tower of London, Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill is just a stone's throw away from all of London's transportation links and so eminently suitable to both leisure visitors and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing