We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room great, breakfast appauling!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Ranked #81 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Stayed at the Indigo on a trip to London for lunch nearby and then the theatre in the evening.
Room was excellent and the reception staff professional.
However, went down for breakfast following morning. Ordered the somewhat pricey Indigo breakfast which included juice, buffet, beverage and a full cooked breakfast. 45 minutes later we were still waiting for the cooked breakfast (it was not particularly busy). The waitress was less than helpful and kept shrugging her shoulders and saying it was coming even though we had advised we had a train to catch. On deciding to give up, the breakfast appeared, but it was inedible. I suspect it had been cooked in stale fat as it tasted rancid and literally left a bad taste in my mouth! The eggs were still covered in uncooked white ughhh.
We complained to reception and they very quickly removed the charge from the bill. However they then promised an email with an explanation for the poor service and quality of the breakfast and something to induce us to return. We are still waiting for both. Dont promise something you do not intend to deliver!

At £249 for one night, even at London prices, would have expected better. Shant be going there again and wouldnt recommend it either.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyandcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2011

Thank you for your candid feedback. It would seem you have enjoyed both our bedroom amenities and our cold breakfast buffet.
I am obviously very concerned that you felt let down not only by our hot breakfast offering last Thur. morning , 8th Dec., but more importantly with what it would appear as a “broken promise”.
At this juncture, I would like to take full responsibility not only for our failure to offer you satisfactory service recovery while you were with us, but also for not meeting your expectations on the timing of coming back to you. Please accept my sincere apologies for this unfortunate mistiming. As our Manager on Duty advised you, both I and my Deputy were unfortunately out of the office the tail end of last week and neither of us was able to contact you earlier. I would like to assure you, we value both your custom and your feedback. As I am writing this, Mon. 12th Dec., a personal reply to you, is already on the way and I welcome the opportunity to receive personal firsthand feedback of your experiences.
I look forward to welcoming back with us when I am certain we will re-ignite in you your passion for the famous Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill blend of hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2011

I stayed here with my daughter for a long weekend of sightseeing in December 2011. The hotel is staffed largely by very competent young Lithuanian women (My daughter says that's why it's such a good hotel). Our room was clean and tidy and the bathroom was very chic. What impressed me most was the free drinks and chocolate bars in the mini-fridge which was re-stocked each day. I am so tired of hotels gouging me with extra charges and a fridge packed with $5 bottles of water that you can't remove without an automatic charge - The little extras made a big difference at the Indigo.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IJHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Great review full of warm thoughts, thank you. All of us at Hotel Indigo London Tower HIll, would love to welcoming back on your next trip to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Stayed here on the last night of a 10 day honeymoon trip in Europe and was very impressed. Beautiful room, convenient location, and very helpful staff. We arrived around 1:30pm and the room was not quite ready yet. We were given complimentary coffees at the bar while we waited and in less than 10 minutes everything was taken care of. Room was small by North American standards, but normal by European.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pbc315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you for a great review. You are absolutely right, our rooms are quite large for UK standards, more akin to those of the luxury end of the market. We love to see you back on your next trip to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Being cynically English and having found few, if any, hotels in this country that have matched up to North America, I was sceptical about the reviews of this hotel. I take it all back. The hotel is very convenient for Tower Hill tube, the river ferry and the Tower of London. The reception was efficient and directions to the room were simple. The room was simply amazing; beautifully decorated, large bathroom and proper king size bed, which was extremely comfortable. I'm very sensitive to noise but wasn't woken once, from anyone or anything inside or out. The bathroom was large and everywhere was immaculately clean. The restaurant is literally downstairs and although I was slightly scornful of the price, the breakfasts were substantial and comparable to other places along the street. Overall, an absolute gem that should be booked out every weekend!

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed, on the side of the building, as high up as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rjs121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Wow, what a review! Thank you. We would love to see you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The good:
2 minutes walk from Tube
Very clean
Free WiFi
Super friendly and helpful staff
Superb breakfast - see the photo
modern and updated decor
lavish towels, robes
free tea, coffee, and even the minibar - nothing fancy inside,
water, some pop, small chocolates and a power bar, but still...

The less-good:
tiny rooms - nothing like on the hotel website -hardly any place on the bed sides
only one chair (for two people)
shower, albeit modern and good looking - not practical:
the glass half-cover allows water to splash into the entire bathroom
the valve in our shower was jammed - needs a repair, water too hot
hated the sink - looks cool but zero place to place any toiletries on it.
not exactly eco-friendly: we placed the towels on the racks and the special card on the bed as instructed, but the towels still got changed after one use.

Overall it was not bad, but we paid 300 dollars per night on a weekend, will be looking for alternatives

Room Tip: perhaps a handicapped room would have more space around the bed and larger bathroom?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h8mosquitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you for your frank appraisal. We are so pleased you have enjoyed your stay. I cannot hide that fact that it pains me to admit that some of your comments show clearly we need to pay closer attention to a few details. Thank you for pointing this out to us. We treasure such opportunities and we all hope we see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is a perfect accommodation for a business trip or when on a city trip. It is a 2-minute walk away from the metro line Aldgate.
The hotel and bathroom was very clean and tidy. It was spacious enough for 2 persons.
Breakfast was nice although an English breakfast is charged separately.
One downside: in the lounge room no little snacks of nuts are available when having a drink.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amulder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Thank you for you feedback. We love to see you back with us very soon if only to enjoy a relaxing drink with bar snacks in our Square Mile Lounge/Bar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My partner and I used some of our Reward Points for a weekend away, and chose this hotel based on a friend's recommendation and the TripAdvisor reviews. We weren't disappointed!
Every minute of our stay was enjoyable. From the welcoming smile of the friendly receptionist on Friday night to our quick and easy checkout this morning, everything was perfect. Our upgraded room was enormous, clean, comfortable, and had so many little extras that we felt thoroughly spoilt :)
Dinner in the Square Mile restaurant on the Friday was delicious, the serving staff were so helpful and we can heartily recommend the G&T's!
Breakfasts cooked to order on both mornings were of the same quality.
What sets this already outstanding hotel apart is the dedication, knowledge, helpfulness, politeness and utter dedication of the staff there. Friendly without being obsequious, they were the icing on the cake of our weekend away.
We know where to stay next time we're in London, thank you Hotel Indigo Tower Hill :)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kel_WestWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM18, General Manager at Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2011

Wow, what a review! Thank you for some great comments. It is warm thoughts such as these that keeps our motivation levels sky high. We would love to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Chamberlain Hotel
Chamberlain Hotel
#105 of 1,077 in London
1,555 reviews
City of London
citizenM Tower of London Hotel
City of London
Apex London Wall Hotel
Apex London Wall Hotel
#45 of 1,077 in London
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#85 of 1,077 in London
3,990 reviews
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#62 of 1,077 in London
3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill

Address: 142 Minories, London EC3N 1LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in London
#66 Business Hotel in London
#70 Family Hotel in London
#76 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $139 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located near Tower Bridge and the Tower of London, Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill is just a stone's throw away from all of London's transportation links and so eminently suitable to both leisure visitors and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing