We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaos: left wet and hungry”
Review of Judd Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Judd Hotel
Ranked #202 of 558 London B&B and Inns
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chaos: left wet and hungry”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I should have been warned when I arrived at 5pm to find the reception door locked and was left standing in the rain for ages. Room was small, but OK. Breakfast was,however, a disaster. I arrived as it should have started at 7am to find nothing was ready. I was left sitting in the dark for 15 minutes while staff were clearly trying to sort out a problem. No one explained what the problem was, or apologised for keeping me waiting. At 7.30 I'd been presented with a cup of tea and an under cooked piece of toast, but still no comment. I gave up and got something to eat at the station. I can accept that problems occur, but don't expect to be ignored.

Room Tip: Tiny single rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fionah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    244
    176
    86
    55
See reviews for
159
166
52
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed in the Judd Hotel for one night. It was wonderful. Very near to the underground so for us, just 2 stops to Covent Garden. Rooms were small but perfectly adequate. The hotel is very clean and the staff are polite and courteous. I have stayed in hotels double the price of this one and with the same sized rooms. Breakfast was OK. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend it. I great central hotel.

Room Tip: No elevator so if you find stairs a struggle then I am sure you could request a room on the ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here 2 nights (Dec 30 & 31, 2013) with my 3 young-adult children. We had a quad room on the 2nd floor (3 flights of stairs). Room was good for us (2 single beds and a double sofa-bed which was already pulled out and made up when we arrived). Bathroom was small but adequate. Room had flat screen tv and electric kettle for tea/coffee. Breakfast was included and was very hearty & satisfying. Location was great for us as we had to travel by train and Euston station was very close. Also close by were 2 tube stations (Euston & Russell Square) which gave very easy access to central London attractions. Hotel was very clean & front desk attendant helpful. No complaints at all and I would stay here again if needed easy access to train stations (Euston & St. Pancras) as both are very convenient to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Bug-0331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have never seen a room that size....
The room was extremely small with a view on a wall.
You can hear the neighbours and you cannot see the TV from your bed.
The bed was also very small.
Never again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cyblexy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here one night for work and found the hotel very clean, staff helpful, room tiny, wifi good ... so all in all good value for central London and it was very near where I was working. No lift so beware if you have a heavy bag or problems with stairs. Breakfast basic but I don't eat much at that time anyway.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

poor value for money. expensive . advertise as if it is great hotel to cheat customers. not honest. the hotel is same what u get with easyjet hotels group, very tiny room, toilet very tiny and the worst shower room cubicle can not inside as then you hit the walls
breakfast very basic . easy jet hotel are honest in what they advertise as budget ones

Room Tip: poor value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abdul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I give three stars, but only because I was 'upgraded' from a single room to a triple room on the third floor, with seemingly no neighbours to disturb me. If I had been in a single room, I would probably given two stars, and probably just one star if my benchmark was what £144 can buy you in other European capitals. The ascent to the third floor allowed me to note that the stairs would be difficult to negotiate with luggage (I just had a shoulder bag) and that, given the number of doors on each short corridor, the rooms must be very small. My triple room was OK for one, but how three could manage there for more than one night is beyond me. The room was refurbished (except for the windows) and the bathroom was spick and span. The temperature control worked. The conversion of the building must have been expensive, and that is reflected in the price.

I took breakfast early, and the room was not crowded. I think breakfast only starts at 8h on Sundays and holidays, which is unreasonable for a hotel close to major railway stations.
I do not care for a cooked breakfast, which left me with little choice. No alternative to white toast, then only orange juice, only two cereals, only strawberry or apricot jam packets, and only strawberry or apricot yoghurt (honestly). The breakfast staff were pleasant, but they might get frazzled towards the end, what with the cramped, windowless room.

The hotel is well situated between Kings Cross and Russell Square (the latter more convenient if you are on the Picadilly line). There are quite a few cafes and restauarants around, including "Balfour", and in the shopping centre on the way to Russell Square. Assuming £10 was added to the bill for the breakfast, I would have much preferred to spend that £10 in the Pain Quotidien in St Pancras, or much less in Starbucks.

Finally, I got bombarded with a marketing e-mail from the hotel when I returned. My "unsubscribe" from something I never asked for was registered, but I have since been bombarded with another marketing, and this time with no 'unsubscribe' (doubly illegal). There is thus no chance of me returning to this guest house.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Felix0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#422 of 1,069 in London
718 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#562 of 1,069 in London
567 reviews
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#912 of 1,069 in London
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#541 of 1,069 in London
254 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#256 of 1,069 in London
1,750 reviews
Bloomsbury
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#76 of 558 in London
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judd Hotel

Property: Judd Hotel
Address: 46 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 558 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Judd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from King's Cross, St Pancras and Euston Rail and Underground Stations, the Judd Hotel is the ideal Bloomsbury Hotel. Opened in May 2010, it offers modern, comfortable and stylish rooms at very keen prices.The hotel occupies two classic London townhouses on Cartwright Gardens, an elegant Georgian crescent overlooking gated gardens and tennis courts. The gardens and courts are available for use by guests - an oasis of tranquillity in the heart of London.The Judd Hotel offers 38 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, satellite television, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 57GBP per night and up to four people from 127GBP per night, inclusive of a generous cooked buffet breakfast and all taxes.Situated in the heart of London, with excellent transport links, the Judd Hotel provides the ideal location from which to explore London's historic sights, museums, theatres, restaurants and shops. Direct services from King's Cross St Pancras can transport you to Heathrow, Gatwick and Luton airports in under an hour or to Paris and Brussels in around two hours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Judd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judd Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing