We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, high quality, nice neighborhood”
Review of Judd Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Judd Hotel
Ranked #201 of 560 London B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Small rooms, high quality, nice neighborhood”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Bloomsbury, very convenient for the St. Pancras station (Eurostar to Paris/Brussels), and in general a pleasant neighborhood to walk around. My room had a nice view of a park with tennis courts. Staff was good but sometimes not as attentive or wall trained as one would like, but considering what I paid during high season to be in that neighborhood, I think I got good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    245
    176
    86
    55
See reviews for
160
166
52
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Judd Hotel is in an excellent location for Bloomsbury, Russell Square and Central London. However, it is one of the most overpriced hotels I have ever stayed in. It cost £144 per night. Staying in a single room the size of a matchbox, I barely had room to turn around without knocking into a shelf or the bed. The bathroom is even worse and I frequently caught myself on the fittings. They have created rooms wherever they can which meant mine was right at the foot of the stairwell which resulted in a lot of noise outside my room as other guests moved about. The breakfast area is equally tiny and cannot deal with the numbers of guests using its services. The breakfast is extremely basic and again overpriced. I am shocked that a hotel can get away with these kind of prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Treeknee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Room was tiny, but cosy and comfortable, clean, neat. The room was overlooking well maintained gardens and tennis courts, it was a delight to watch outside. No lifts available, when I baulked, the receptionist carried my case up 3 floors. Breakfast was simple, but good. Being a vegetarian, I had little choice for hot food - baked beans!
Initial days, it was painful to submit room access card when I left in the morning, answering a plethora of questions to retrieve my card in the evening, even though the same receptionist lady was available most days. Finally, a young man at reception gave me an access card to last for remaining 7 days so that I didn't have to go through this rigmarole everyday.
Though I left my luggage for safe keeping for just 6 hours after checkout, I was disappointed to note that keeping beyond that day will invite extra charge.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the tennis courts and the garden have a lovely view, with birds chirping on the branche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoornaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

First impressions really do count, and the reception staff were very welcoming (at any time of the day!) Couldn't fault the rooms at all, enough room to move about, but I just use hotels for what they're needed for sleeping! Only annoyance is the fact the doors are heavy and do slam, but this is typical with fire doors, and it was more the other guests fault then the actual hotel. Very close and easy to find in a quiet area with hardly any traffic noise considering how close you are. Breakfast was just enough for me to start the day, I agree with some people that it was limited choice but I left full. It's a nice hotel for the price, and I would return. Ideal location for train and tube stations. spot on

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruffles87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormerveer, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very nice place in fact, though a tad expensive, well, for this time of year anyway (May). Or may be due to the fact we booked so late. The only thing that really bothered me, as it does with other places as well, is the slamming of room doors. I understand that the room doors have to be fire doors and shut of their own accord, but why can't people grab the door so it doesn't slam and shut it themselves! Every evening and morning all you hear are slamming doors, no matter if one is sleeping, no one seems to care! With breakfast being served between 7-9am people go to bed and get up at different times, but woe betide if you want to lie in a bit, or go to bed early for that matter! I started off shutting the room door quietly without slamming the room door at all, but after hearing so many others doing it without a care that they would be disturbing anyone, I thought why should I care if no one else does! It's hard to believe people could be so ignorant to think that they wouldn't disturb any of the other guests! I don't know why hotels don't make use of DIY materials that allow the doors to shut a lot more quietly!
The breakfast was a little disappointing, comparing it to another popular hotel further along the road where there is far more choice, but apart from that, it was OK.
Hotel security was extremely good, compared to any previous place I have stayed in, using a credit card sized key with it also being used to power up the electrical devices in the room. You have to hand it in whenever you leave the hotel. If you don't, or forget, it wont work by the time you come back hours later. With no actual details on the card, it's as safe as it can be. And with reception open 24 hours a day, you can come and go as you please, though bearing in mind the slamming doors, I wouldn't recommend sleeping outside what's considered normal sleeping hours.
Overall, I'd be quite happy to stay here again at sometime in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fortuner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our bedroom was quiet during the day but very noisy from about 5.00 a.m. onwards. It sounded as if we were on top of a laundry with one noisy washing machine after another starting. we could only conclude that the noises came from extraction units in other bedrooms which were somehow amplified by the system. Room lighting was asymmetrical so that only one side of the bed was lit; the side that had the only reading light and side table.
There was no fruit for breakfast. Despite the turnover there was only one sort of fruit juice and a choice of only two cereals. Expect supermarket sliced bread and chemically cured bacon cooked as a wodge in a microwave, together with tinned tomatoes.
Good location and pleasant staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAF125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#415 of 1,069 in London
718 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#560 of 1,069 in London
568 reviews
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#923 of 1,069 in London
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#529 of 1,069 in London
256 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#253 of 1,069 in London
1,750 reviews
Bloomsbury
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#75 of 560 in London
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judd Hotel

Property: Judd Hotel
Address: 46 Cartwright Gardens | Bloomsbury, London WC1H 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 560 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Judd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from King's Cross, St Pancras and Euston Rail and Underground Stations, the Judd Hotel is the ideal Bloomsbury Hotel. Opened in May 2010, it offers modern, comfortable and stylish rooms at very keen prices.The hotel occupies two classic London townhouses on Cartwright Gardens, an elegant Georgian crescent overlooking gated gardens and tennis courts. The gardens and courts are available for use by guests - an oasis of tranquillity in the heart of London.The Judd Hotel offers 38 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, satellite television, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 57GBP per night and up to four people from 127GBP per night, inclusive of a generous cooked buffet breakfast and all taxes.Situated in the heart of London, with excellent transport links, the Judd Hotel provides the ideal location from which to explore London's historic sights, museums, theatres, restaurants and shops. Direct services from King's Cross St Pancras can transport you to Heathrow, Gatwick and Luton airports in under an hour or to Paris and Brussels in around two hours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Judd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judd Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing