We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pied-a-terre - small but perfectly formed!”
Review of Judd Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Judd Hotel
Ranked #193 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a four night mini-break. The room was very clean, comfortable and was nicely decorated. Nice, modern en-suite shower room too.

Extremely pleasant part of London to stay in too, lovely Bloomsbury architecture, not too much noise outside and excellent access to transport and to restaurants.

The rooms in this hotel are small, but you will not get a large room in a good part of central london without paying a lot more money.

Staff were very pleasant and helpful - printed out emails for us and supplied iron and ironing board very efficiently

Breakfast was well cooked and plentiful.

Room Tip: Expect everything you actually need but don't expect a lot of space!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (635)
There are newer reviews for Judd Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 635 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Judd Hotel was a major disappointment for our first few jet-lagged nights in London. It is in a good location and has a lovely facade in a crescent of Georgian terraces but the rooms were so terribly cramped we could not relax. We could barely move and struggled to get a good nights sleep. The breakfasts were quite good but we checked out early suffering from claustrophobia.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandapower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend and have found a little gem. We were looking for good value for money and a relatively central location so that we could make the best of the city's attractions. The hotel is on a lovely Georgian crescent away from the hustle and bustle of life by just a couple of hundred yards.
The location is fantastic, just a 7 minute walk form Euston or Kings Cross stations and only a 5 minute walk from Russell Square tube station. It even only takes a twenty minute stroll to Covent Garden.
The rooms, whilst on the small side - this is London after all... Are all very well decorated, are very clean and have all that you need in them, TV, en-suite, hair dryers etc. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the room rate comes with an excellent full English breakfast.
All in all, great value and a fantastic place to stay when you want to take in a show or see the highlights of London - we will definitely be coming back here - a great quality little hotel!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnipsBarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Quick visit to London and we needed a reasonable priced comfortable hotel near St Pancras, and the Judd give us that. The hotel is a 5 mins stroll from the station and easy to find. The receptionist was very helpful and we quickly got our room key. Having read the reviews we were expecting a small room but were pleasantly surprised,as it was fine for a short stay and have stayed in other hotels with rooms of similar size..A few reviews have mentioned a generator outside the back of the hotel near some of the roms and ours was one of them .I feared the worst as I am a light sleeper but although I was aware of it as I went to bed it did not disturb my good nights sleep. The modern shower refreshed us in the morning before enjoying a well prepared English Breakfast. The area around the hotel is fine with a very nice pub/restaurant near by, towards Russel Square Tube Station. We didnt see any other rooms but ours give us what we needed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The Judd is bad, even for a budget hotel. The room was the size of a closet with a single twin bed, a lamp, and a chair. You can't control the temperature in the room, so I froze at night. They make you turn in your room key when you leave, which would be fine except that they couldn't always manage to make/give me a key when I returned in the evening. Which meant standing there for half an hour watching the desk clerk fiddle with the key-card machine. I asked the front desk to book a tour for me, which they tried to do but had to call my room to ask for my credit card number three times before I decided that was fishy and canceled the request. They say there's an airport shuttle... but there's not. The only good thing I can say about this place is that the breakfast is pretty good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark0brien, General Manager at Judd Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2012

Thank you ‘StephenieP’ for posting your comments about your recent stay in our establishment. As is evident in most reviews on Tripadvisor the rooms in our hotel are compact but very well appointed. This is by no means unique to our hotel as most converted town houses have smaller rooms.
We ask guests to leave their key at reception when they go out for several reasons. The main reason is we like to see who is coming in and out of the building and also the cards are programed with a time limit so they have to be re-programmed. As there is no lift in the building it is better that you get your new card before you climb to the top of the house only to discover that your card isn’t working and you have to come all the way down again.
As for standing there for 30 minutes for a new card I have to say I think you have used a little artistic license in your statement. It takes no more than 30 seconds to re-programme a card.
Upon speaking to the desk clerk, you gave the incorrect credit card details for the tour you wished to book which meant he had to call you room several times to reconfirm the details with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Ignore the bad reviews. This hotel offers everything you need and more. Excellent central location overlooking some tennis courts. Rooms are very clean. It is true they are on the smaller side but what do you expect in central London? The staff were polite and courteous. The breakfast was fairly typical fare but there was enough choice for everyone including vegetarians. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ugm1dak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank CECILE M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#427 of 1,072 in London
729 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mentone Hotel
Mentone Hotel
#561 of 1,072 in London
570 reviews
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#907 of 1,072 in London
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Crescent Hotel
Crescent Hotel
#527 of 1,072 in London
258 reviews
Bloomsbury
Harlingford Hotel
Harlingford Hotel
#562 of 1,072 in London
449 reviews
Bloomsbury
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#73 of 563 in London
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judd Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judd Hotel

Address: 46 Cartwright Gardens, London WC1H 9EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $110 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Judd Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes from King's Cross, St Pancras and Euston Rail and Underground Stations, the Judd Hotel is the ideal Bloomsbury Hotel. Opened in May 2010, it offers modern, comfortable and stylish rooms at very keen prices.The hotel occupies two classic London townhouses on Cartwright Gardens, an elegant Georgian crescent overlooking gated gardens and tennis courts. The gardens and courts are available for use by guests - an oasis of tranquillity in the heart of London.The Judd Hotel offers 38 rooms, all with en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, satellite television, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Our rooms can accommodate a single person from 57GBP per night and up to four people from 127GBP per night, inclusive of a generous cooked buffet breakfast and all taxes.Situated in the heart of London, with excellent transport links, the Judd Hotel provides the ideal location from which to explore London's historic sights, museums, theatres, restaurants and shops. Direct services from King's Cross St Pancras can transport you to Heathrow, Gatwick and Luton airports in under an hour or to Paris and Brussels in around two hours! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Judd Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Judd Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing