We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty and great service”
Review of Bencho Cafe - CLOSED

Bencho Cafe
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tasty and great service”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My wife and I dined at this establishment in July last year as part of our European holiday. I quote from our notes, "Tasty food and excellent services. Wished we had had dessert as the samples we tried were delicious. We tried a sample of the Kiwi Cheesecake (chocolate chip)."

If we are back in London again we will definitely be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WellingtonChris10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    65
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, reasonably priced”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Got to Earl's Court for a show and Bencho seemed to be the only place with a table available. Thankfully was not disappointed. It has a very cosy atmosphere for where it is (surrounded by new shops, restaurants and pubs). The staff were very friendly and the food was reasonably priced (for central London). The pizza I had a was interesting with a few toppings that would not be standard on most menus but thoroughly enjoyable. My friend's spaghetti with meatballs seemed to be slightly off the mark. It seemed like the spaghetti had been cooked earlier and then kept warm. They had some tasty looking desserts (that we didn't have the time to sample unfortunately).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kushal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I wish they had a Bencho's at home!”
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Bencho's was just wonderful. We found it early on a Sun morning, while waiting for our hotel room to be ready.

They were very welcoming, they have free wifi and the pancakes are just fantastic.

We went back several times during our stay for breakfast, as well as in the evening for coffee and cake. (Try the Red Velvet...)

If you're anywhere near Earl's Court, make this your new regular.

Helpful?
Thank CAVAL13R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
“Your mama's poached eggs!”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Awesome, delicious brunch, excellent service, free wifi, feels like home, great music.
ok the food is not the healthiest but come one once in a while it will not hurt :)
if you are looking for a cozy place for brunch that's the place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karolina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Food and Service”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I am a regular business visitor to Earls Court and can highly recommend Bencho's. Had breakfast and dinner at the cafe. The food is excellent and always you get service with a smile. I visit the cafe both with my partner and on my own and have always been made welcome. The cafe has wifi which is also a bonus.

Can highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SFFBNO3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bencho Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing