We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I've just discovered Fish Island!”
Review of Forman's

Forman's
Reserve with OpenTable
Forman's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,741 of 22,671 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $63
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Formans' restaurant is based in the smokehouse of H.Forman & Son, the world's oldest salmon smokers. As well as having a viewing gallery into the smokehouse - a la Willy Wonka - the views out of the restaurant window to the Olympic Park are unrivalled. The food is the finest quality British gastronomy served in an informal setting. The wine list is exclusively English and all-British spirits are served from the bar. Forman's Restaurant has a delightful terrace and outdoor riverside lounge as well as a spectacular 1000sq ft art gallery which can be hired for private events.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“I've just discovered Fish Island!”
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

What an amazing restaurant! What a fantastic little enclave of cafes and galleries. Although a little bit pleased the area and restaurant can be like a ghost town so lacking in atmosphere but when the secret gets out this will be a very popular restaurant. I plan to go for the closing ceremony and watch the fireworks, you can almost touch the Olympic Arena. I hope it survives!!!! PS the Mohammed Ali exhibition is worth seeing and completely free.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    42
    18
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
344 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant but can't see how it can survive without Olympics”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I was invited for a business lunch at Forman's during the Olympics. Nice view of the stadium, endless little dishes brought round with lovely delicacies and also some nice wines. Good way to spend a summer afternoon.

The odd thing is, the restaurant is on an industrial park in a run down area of east London. I can't see who would go there when the Olympics are not in town.

I note that one reviewer criticised prices and low attendance, based on heresay, admitting in his review that he did not actually eat there. Hopefully his review will be removed. Its a bit shabby to review a place you have not actually been to!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“there is more atmosphere on the moon”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I paid £450 for my husband and I to eat here and enjoy the jazz at 10:00pm after watching some swimming in the Olympic Park. It wasn't that easy to find and the signage was misleading before we even got there.
When we did get finally find the place we had to laugh to ourselves as we were shown to a table for 2 in the window overlooking the stadium - there was no one else there. No one just us!!
The food was OK but nothing special. Our wine waiter and waitress were friendly and tried hard. We decided not to stay for the jazz after we had eaten, it was just embarrassing being so empty - although there were a couple of others there by then in the bar area. When we asked for a taxi and one still hadn't arrived after 20 minutes, the man at the door, who we were told was the duty manager, was down right rude and suggested that it was our fault no taxis were available. A rip off all round.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
16 Thank jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Amazing location and yummy food”
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

A great smoked fish restaurant that East London has been crying out for. Surprisingly an ingenious and wide ranging. British wines, beers and sprits - excellent. If you don't like smoked fish, you have to try it here, but there are also other eating options. Located in the same building is a terrific exhibition space, that can hired for special events. Great spot!

Helpful?
1 Thank stewart2726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Surreal spot for brilliant brunch”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Having enjoyed the Whitstable Oyster Company at lunch the previous day (separately reviewed) and after a splendid lamb supper at my cousin's London home followed by a late (men's) whisky evening, we decided to go for brunch at this exciting-sounding place, which turned out to be in a somewhat deserted former industrial area somewhere in the East End, relocated from what is now an olympic stadium on the far side of the River Lea navigation canal. Security was impressive ("krutoi" as the Russians would say), as was the prompt service in the first-floor restaurant, already becoming crowded mid-morning. From there, you can see the ground floor smokery and can access the second floor gallery. Smoked salmon and scambled egg is one of my favourites, whether at home or elsewhere, and here they do it well, along with other savouries, washed down with a selection of English sparkling and other wines plus decent coffee. Well worhtt a visit. And then another. Price? No idea. The ladies paid.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGoddardRiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forman's also viewed

 

Been to Forman's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing