We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect apartment for a london stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
51 reviews
Second Bedroom
Main Bedroom
Bathroom one of two
Front of property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
London, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Monika N
Kamen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“perfect apartment for a london stay”
Reviewed May 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

thanx matthew. we had a great time in your lovely, perfecty equipped apartment. we enjoyed everything. really nice and cosy. but despite this stylish as well. two bedrooms. two bathrooms. nothing missing. a quiet place with even a small garden. london easily to reach. we will come back!!! promised : ) monika&ines

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet place. the garden. the flat itself...
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa-Da...
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Comfortable, quiet and convenient place to stay in London”
Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
5
people found this review helpful

I was in London on business and very much wanted a quiet flat away from the tourist bustle. This was ideal - plenty of space to work in, convenient grocery shopping a short walk away, easy Underground access, and - since everyone needs some down time - the chance to explore Brixton and Clapham, I particularly enjoyed being in such vibrant local neighbourhoods and seeing all sorts of families going about their business. (There is a school across the street but I didn't find it in the least noisy.)

Matt was very helpful throughout - the only significant issue was a Wifi hardware glitch that he attended to swiftly. I was particularly impressed that he provided for sunny weather throughout my stay, so that I made good use of the terrace in the rear.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location; quiet.
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind.
Traveling group: Solo Traveler
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed F
Reading, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Meticulous flat in a convenient location, great for a family of 5”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
9
people found this review helpful

We are a family of 5 - 4 adults and 1 teenager - from the greater Boston area on a 5-day family vacation to London. Matt, the owner, was extremely helpful and most accommodating. He arranged transport for us from Heathrow. The flat was spotless. Everything was well-maintained and in good working order. Beds very comfortable. While the bathrooms were small, they were perfectly functional and it worked out great having 2 of them. The garden was a nice bonus. The neighborhood was quiet; 3 tube stops were within a 5-10 minute walk. I highly recommend this flat and would stay there again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Size, comfort, cleanliness, felt like a home away from home
Liked least: No issues
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platman
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Review live up to expectation”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is what you would expect from the reviews. Bathrooms small, but handy having two, there is a 24 hour gym nearby and a few small supeermarkets. Avoid the rush on the tube as it ets veery busy and you will have a good value stay for checking out London. A twin bed in the 2nd bedroom instead of a double would have been handy as kids will only sleep in the same bed till a certain age!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pitpat2
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Spacious Appartment”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
5
people found this review helpful

We had stayed in the Stockwell area on our last trip to London, and when the Griffin House wasn’t available this time, 22 Dalyell was recommended as a handy alternative. After several emails back and forth with Matt, we were able to get the apartment for four nights. This is a handy area, not too far out of London by Tube, and much less expensive than staying right in the city. There is a corner store about two blocks away, and several large supermarkets within a 20 minute walk. We went to the Tesco’s, but we made a wrong turn somewhere along the way, and it took a lot longer than expected! There is an organic bakery about 5 blocks away on Landor, The Old Post Office Bakery, with delicious Danishes and Croissants that we picked up for breakfast.
There was a little confusion on our arrival, my fault as I hadn’t read all of Matt’s email instructions. After the taxi dropped us off, you are left looking at the door to a flat that has no indication that it is a rental apartment. After ringing the bell to both flats at this address, I had DH walk up to the end of the road to make sure we were at the right place! After a call to Matt, he explained the lock box and how to retrieve the keys for the front door. The main space inside the apartment is very spacious, lots of room in the living/dining room and kitchen, and two decent sized bedrooms. The two bathrooms are TINY (I do appreciate the reason for two small bathrooms over one large one, but it would have been nice if a little space could have been spared from the kitchen area). There is a nice little courtyard accessed by French doors off the two bedrooms.
We did have a few problems, including WiFi issues for our laptop (hence the wrong turn on our way to Tesco’s), burned out light bulbs, and a Thermostat that was hard to get to work. Matt did come by within about 20 minutes of my call (after my spending a good 20 minutes trying all of the neighbourhood internet connections!), and got things working for us. I also had trouble getting the towel warmers to work (maybe they were on a timer??), and we didn’t find the switch for the bathroom fan until day 3 (it is on the wall near the ceiling above the light switch). There are lots of light switches throughout the apartment, and it can be confusing to identify which ones work which lights/appliances (we accidentally turned off the frig). Matt does have an info binder, and I suggested that he put in a little more information about how things work!
Still, we had an enjoyable stay. Matt provided tea, instant coffee, sugar and fresh milk, and there were bathroom products for our use (body wash, shampoo, etc.), which is not always the case with a self-catering apartment. He was available when we needed him, and printed out some tickets for us that we had ordered. The bed was very comfortable, and the linens were good quality. We felt that this was a safe and quiet neighbourhood (across from a school), not too far from several Tube stations. There are large windows in the front of the building, with patio doors off the bedrooms (no windows). There is a small dishwasher (which we didn’t use), and a washing machine. We would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable Bed, Well Stocked Kitchen
Liked least: Hard to get the temperature right
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Great sightseeing base for Grandparents and 3 Grandchildren unde”
Reviewed June 9, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Dalyell Road provided a fresh , clean , well appointed , spacious base for our sightseeing trip . The 2 en suites were a real bonus .Tv in all rooms was a plus ,as was the court yard area , lovely for breakfast and evenings ,weather permitting !The location was fine we got to places like the London Eye and The Natural history museum in under 30 minutes . For the 5 of us we enjoyed a space , freedom and privacy that could not be found in a hotel.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
two_muddy...
USA
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good for families”
Reviewed May 29, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
6
people found this review helpful

Most comfortable and pleasant stay of our trip was at 22 Dalyell Road.

Lot more space than a hotel - allows kids to spread out, relax and not feel cramped in a tiny hotel room. Would definitely recommend it for families.

Convenient
- walking distance from Stockwell tube and Brixton tube and National rail stations. Safe to walk back late at night.
- 5 mins, just down the road, from a Costcutters for groceries.
Iceland near Stockwell tube and Sainsbury near Brixton tube are bigger and have more choice. Depending on where we got off, we stopped in these stores, to get groceries/dinner, on our way back home from the tube. With the ready supply of good quality, a lot of it pre-made, food in London and the convenience of having stores nearby, we did not have to eat out in London. Talk about traveling on a budget.

Washer was a big help for us since we were going to be traveling for almost a fortnight and wanted to travel light. No dryer but a drying rack is provided. It worked fine.

2 bathrooms - big save on time. Admittedly, the bathrooms are small and cramped but 2 showers are any day better than 1. We realized this later in other accommodations in our 3 country trip where we did not have 2 bathrooms and spent a lot more time getting ready.

Nice courtyard, although the weather was not warm enough for us to lounge outside.

There was also a small barbecue (? - I think) in the kitchen area. We did not use it.

Brixton is a lively town and seems to have more selection of places to dine and shop than Stockwell.

Arriving from Heathrow - We booked online with www.onlineairportcars.com from Heathrow to Stockwell. It cost us 46 from the airport and 37 for return. No problems with them - they were prompt.
If you do decide to take the rail, you probably should take a cab from the station to the house. Also, there are steps in Brixton and Stockwell stations which could pose problems with baggage. Walking from the station to the house is not an option unless you have just a backpack.

And, last but definitely not the least, Matt was very prompt and responsive in answering all our queries before and during our stay. He made the effort to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. Staying here made our trip to London a hit with everyone in the family!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, ease of booking and comfort level with owner
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing