We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”
Review of Viajante - CLOSED

Viajante
Price range: $46 - $147
Cuisines: Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: East End / East London
Cross street: Patriot Square
Transit: TUBE 3 minutes walk to Bethnal Green tube on the Central Line (between Bethnal Green Road and Hackney Road). Take the 1st exit on the right hand side of the station, walk straight up Cambridge Heath Rd. TRAIN 2 minutes walk from Cambridge Heath Road overground (5 minutes from Liverpool Street) BUSES 26, 48, 55, 106, 254, 309, 388, 394,D3
Description: Viajante offers a blind style tasting menu of 3, 6, or 9 courses for lunch and 6 or 12 courses for dinner. Menus are based on the seasonal availability of produce and on the diner's dietary restrictions. Lunch is served Wendnesday to Sunday: 12:00 pm to 2:00 pmDinner is served Monday to Sunday: 6:00 pm to 9:30 pm
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Micheline star restaurants have a tenancy towards stuffiness however this place seems to avoid this. The waiters are friendly and professional however missing the cold, silent and scared ways I have seen so often. The food is fantastic, not over flavored and not fussy but elegant and delicious. Some of the dishes were served by the chef, which was a very nice touch. Cocktails were a winner.

Thank you Viajante!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    34
    15
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Speechless & not in a good way”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

After finding this buried at no.59 in the worlds 100 restaurants, I thought this would be a great idea for a valentines meal.

At £100 per head for 12 courses I starved myself all day expecting to be stuffed with the finest in cuisine.

Over the next 3 hours I struggled to put away most of what was put in front of me, with things like pig skin? Waiters gleefully explaining how it's dried out for crispness ? So pork scratchings then.

The food size was terrible with morsels of food with flavour combos that were often sickly or horrible.

I want to finish and anticipate the next but just wanted the whole experience to end.

The place has outstanding service but the food although crafted with perfection , fails at the main event , the taste.

I was bitterly disappointed and as a foodie who has experienced the very best menus , this fell well short of expectations.

The decor doesn't scream elegance rather than a diner. Disappointing.

And for the first time a 99p burger was used following a £300 bill just to fill the gap that was not filled in the restaraunt.

On the plus side the wine was good and as said the waiters were very attentive, but sadly the location suffers being in bethnal green , where the array of hoodies eyeing you up on entrance does nothing for the overall experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I was bought a voucher for this restaurant as my leaving present recently. It came highly recommended and I am happy to endorse that.
WE were not sure what to expect but found everything to be exciting and interesting
The amuses-bouches were tiny bites of heaven. The 12 course tasting menu took 4 hours in total. All the courses bar one where amazing and the combination of flavours extra ordinary.
Who would think of coating salsify in chocolate or making a sauce from pine.
Service was very good, efficient but unobtrusive. The waiters informed us of the ingredients for each course and printed out a menu for us at the end of the evening.
Waiters were casually dressed and there was no dress code for diners so a very relaxed atmosphere. WE were behind the chimney so unable to observe the staff performing their "ballet" in the preparation of our food.
An evening not to be forgotten

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank foxylady23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“What a great evening”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We spent a lovely evening at Viajante. Fantastic atmosphere and ambiance. All the staff made us feel very welcome straight from the start. We opted for the 6 course menu with wine pairing which lasted for over 2,5 hours. We were surprised by the amount of little snacks they served before the actual menu even started and each single one was absolutely delicious. The wine pairing was also a great decision, each wine suited the dish wonderfully. All in all it was a absolutely amazing evening and I cannot wait to come back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scb0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Where creativity and taste beautifully come together”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

An amazing journey of creativity, beautiful ingredients and varied textures. Each of the amuses-bouches and dishes was carefully crafted and left us with a positive lasting impression.
I asked my tasting menu (6 courses) to be made without any seafood, and never felt the replacement dishes suffered any less effort than the main ones.
Cocktails and wine pairing (with a strong focus on whites) were also impressive.
Service is swift, by über-trendy yet friendly waiters.
Super cool furniture too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viajante also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing