We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stonehenge/Bath/Etc.”
Review of The English Bus

The English Bus
Book In Advance
More Info
$119.36*
and up
Bath Stonehenge and Secret Place Small Group tour from London
More Info
$112.66*
and up
Oxford Stratford and Cotswolds Villages Small Group Day Tour from London
More Info
$112.66*
and up
Canterbury, Dover, Rochester, Kent in One Day from London
Ranked #6 of 716 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: #1 rated small group day tours from London, max 16 passengers. Tours to Stonehenge, Bath, Oxford, The Cotswolds, Stratford on Avon, Belgium and more. We go off the beaten track and follow scenic routes that the big buses can't and you get the personal attention from your extremely passionate, articulate, knowledgeable and personable guide that you cannot get in a larger tour group. Small family run business, we care about each and every guest we take on tour. Don't get lost in the crowd - guaranteed small groups for an unforgettable tour experience! All tours start in central London - our Bath and Stonehenge tour departs daily, Our Cotswolds, Oxford, Stratford tour departs Wednesdays and Sundays and our Canterbury, Dover Cliffs and Castle tour every Friday. Bruges day tour departs once a month. Come join us!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed July 20, 2013

What a great way to see these places! Small group with an amazingly informative guide. Chris has fun telling us seemingly everything he knows, we loved it! It was a huge amount of history, sightseeing and fun in one day! We were very happy that we found The English Bus ,we'd do it again.

Thank KDFaustel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,534 - 1,538 of 1,842 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Chris and Jen run these wonderful tours which are highly personalised, friendly with fantastic responsiveness and great customer service. One of the members of our group had to opt out of the Stratford/Cotswold/Oxford tour due to an emergency and Jen who takes care of the back operations was wonderful in assisting us with the cancellation and also managed to get us a part refund......interacting with Jen was so easy during this process and she was incredible during the numerous mails we exchanged. Chris drove our group on this tour and provided insightful observations and information throughout the trip. He interacted with each of us and we almost felt that we were with a long lost friend by the end of the trip. It was a sunny day which got progressively hot and the air conditioning in Chris's Mercedes coach really helped.
I was kicking myself for not booking the Stonehenge tour as well on this trip.

3  Thank Delamitri68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_English_Bus, Owner at The English Bus, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hi Delamitri68,
Thank you for your kind review of your tour with us to Oxford, Stratford and Cotswolds Villages. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the experience, and found the booking process easy. Customer service is extremely important to us, and we do everything we can to make every single customer of ours have a great day. We have well and truly been treated to some amazing weather this Summer, and glad the air con provided some cool relief for you. Perhaps we will get to take you to Stonehenge with us on our next visit!
Many thanks,
Jen & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our family of three booked the Stratford on Avon, Cotswolds and Oxford tour based upon the recommendations on Trip Advisor. We were not disappointed!! Chris is a fantastic tour guide and is quick to adjust the tour to the needs of the participants. The key is that he truly enjoys what he does and this shows during the tour. We also took another tour with a different company and there is no comparison. We should have booked all of our tours with Chris. His personal touch, engaging personality, true interest in the people on the tour, and willingness to answer any questions made this tour the highlight of our trip. I would definitely recommend booking a tour with Chris.

Thank Pandagirl501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_English_Bus, Owner at The English Bus, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hi Pandagirl501,
Thank you for your recent review of your tour to Oxford, Stratford and Cotswolds Villages with us. We are so pleased to hear that this was a highlight of your trip! Chris is a wonderful guide, and takes pride in showing off our country, and helping everyone to get the most out of their time with us. Thank you for choosing The English Bus, and hopefully we will see you again!
Many thanks,
Jen & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

What a great day in the English country side. Chris was an excellent guide and quite knowledgeable about the history of London sites we saw as we were leaving the city and through out the tour. The 16 passenger bus makes this tour the perfect size. Take Chris's advice for lunch in Bath and get a Cornish Pasty in front of the Roman baths. Also take in the cider is recommends, it was great. Its a long day on the bus, but its worth it. Chris even takes the time to drop you off as close to your hotel as possible or the nearest tube station. I would recommend this tour to anyone.

1  Thank Virex39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris_English_Bus, Owner at The English Bus, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Hi Virex39,
Thank you for your recent review, and we are delighted to hear that you had a great day with us. Our route out of London takes us past some fabulous sights – an added bonus! I agree – the pasties and cider are delicious, and very pleased to hear you indulged whilst you were in Bath. We try to facilitate everyone’s onward journey on the way back into London to make the end of the day that little bit easier for you. Glad it helped!
Many thanks,
Jen & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We could not have asked for anything more in a tour or a guide. Chris went above and beyond in scope and depth and was most accommodating when it came to questions.
He took stock of our group and surprised us completely with his Secret Places tour!
We actually did two tours with The English Bus: Stratford / Cotswolds/ Oxford AND Stonehenge / Bath and Secret Places. Both were a pleasure and we hope to join Chris and Jen on another tour in the future.

1  Thank Myjaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The English Bus also viewed

 

Been to The English Bus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing