We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TOP NOTCH SUNDAY ROAST”

The Princess of Shoreditch
Ranked #1,627 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Price range: $32 - $45
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Shoreditch
Description: Blissfully hidden down a quiet side street, the 'Princess' has become a Shoreditch institution. From the award winning people behind Smokehouse and the Pig and Butcher, the Princess serves top quality traditional British pub food in the lively downstairs bar and refined British & European cuisine in the elegant and charming dining room. We source the best meat and fish we can using small family companies, farms throughout the UK and south coast day boats. Winner of multiple awards including Timeouts "Best New Gastropub''.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TOP NOTCH SUNDAY ROAST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Wanted to treat my parents and I sure chose the right place for a Sunday roast ,a special mention goes for my starter the smoked haddock & salmon fish cake with poached egg & hollaindaise sauce.....orgasmic !!! Pie was excellent (perfect pastry) & the leg of lamb was juicy and nicely presented...THUMBS UP ! defo visit again

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    158
    50
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Better than Pub Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

While they do have some traditional selections such as fish and chips (yum) and shepards pie with a twist (venison was yum!) They have other preparations which change daily and have the flair of a chef! We were there twice, in our long stay...recommend the pork chops but the BEST was the Sticky Toffee Pudding...decadence in a glass and every member at our table swooned. Great staff and a great vibe, beautifully restored with a clean modern approach but still lots of old English appeal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank musicalroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Very good food in a relaxed, yet special environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Excellent service (apart from twice bringing a main course option that wasn't ours!) and a really lovely environment full of character. Not an extensive menu, but very high standard and incredibly tasty! Note that bookings made for dinner upstairs before 8pm have a 2 hour limit. However, a table was set aside for us downstairs when our table upstairs was needed, so was fine. Will go back for sure!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prippit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We booked very last minute (we were in a cab heading into the West End!) and they managed to squeeze 5 of us onto a small table upstairs. It was certainly a tight squeeze but well worth it!

We all started with a few of the unique Ales that they had on tap. The India Pale Ale was excellent.

I had the sauteed bacon and crispy hen egg which I can only say was excellent. We also had the fishcake which looked odd (more of a mousse) served with crispy bread but were very nice. 3 of us had the steak and chips and this was excellent. We shared a platter of cheeses which were all very nice but perhaps we didn't order enough for 4 as we demolished it fairly quickly. Service was excellent and the serving staff were friendly and charming. Wine was great, beer was really good and the atmosphere was excellent. Also very good value. Definitely would recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tapinder C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing service in a great little dinning room.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Went to the Princess Friday night and found it tucked away in a Shoreditch side street surrounded by after-work drinkers enjoying a warm evening. Inside the airy lower floor was loud and bustling with a hipster crowd and overly pretty bar staff. I was initially concerned that the place was a bit too cool for a pleasant meal, but turns out I was very wrong. After a bit of a wait (during which I admired and sampled their great selection of local craft beers amongst the Belgiums and usual suspects they had on offer) we were shown up the spiral staircase to the dining room for dinner. The room was small and decorated with funky Vicoriana. The five of us sat at a little table and began..
Food was pretty good. I had a yummy scotch egg for starters, there was an amazing artichoke heart to dip in aioli, all very tasty. Main courses were not quite as exciting, but my lamb chop was nicely cooked and pork belly tried was fatty goodness. What really made the meal was the service, from finding us in the bar to the end of the meal, the guys were super lovely, attentive, funny and generally charming. Most amazingly, when my other half received an asparagus tart topped with a poached egg, we all looked to see if the yolk would cascade over the tart when cut. Alas, the yolk was firm and we carried on with the meal without a thought. Within minutes, totally unprompted, a waitress appeared with a fresh poached egg, this time nice and runny! Fabulous, bordering on psychic service.
Final note on the price, although I felt the drinks in the bar a little expensive (maybe I don't drink in Shoreditch enough) the meal itself was very reasonable at just under £35 per head including wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mwoolcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Princess of Shoreditch also viewed

 

Been to The Princess of Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing