We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, service, atmosphere!!”
Review of The Summerhouse

The Summerhouse
Ranked #1,117 of 23,023 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Paddington / Maida Vale
Transit: Warwick Avenue is the closest underground station and Royal Oak is a 10 minute walk away. Buss routes 6, 414, 187, 36 and 18 are all close by.
Shanghai, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, service, atmosphere!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Amazing seafood at the corner of Regent park and Little Venice. Idyllic seating directly at a romantic canal. Perfect for a nice summer day with friends, to impress your business partners or a romantic date out. Don't miss it while in London! Try the Sea Bass or Sword Fish, just absolutely delicious!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    161
    71
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nice location on the canal, but the food was not impressive. Pretty basic for what you pay. The fish and chips was pretty standard, not worth the money.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vglea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely way to spend our aniversary”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We visited the summerhouse purely by chance on 24th march 2012. We were really happy when the staff said they had a spare table. My husband had a broken collar bone and they very kindly sat us right by the canal, which gave us a fabulous view and protected his shoulder from getting bashed. We ordered 2 rib eye steaks which were lovely and cooked to perfection and a cheese board to share., The staff were really kind and professsional. Will definately visit again if in the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clare t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Slightly going off the boil”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

This is still a good restaurant. This still is well located. But, some of the food has gone down in quality. before the mozzarella starter was the best I have ever had - proper mozzarella, very wet and falls apart. They have replaced it with cheaper standard rubbery mozz. not good.

Also when you book. You then get an email with a large number of conditions - not good. f you only have the table for a given time, they should tell you on the phone.

Would I still go there - yes.

Is it brilliant - not quite.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidGHooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Local canal side dining”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

After the disastrous start at Kateh in Warwick Place around the corner The Summerhouse was a great blessing. We arrived hungry and without a reservation and were shown to a table immediately in a busy restaurant. We ordered a couple of cold hors d'oeuvres and grilled steaks. The service was friendly and efficient, the food arrived promptly and the steaks were perfectly cooked as ordered.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Summerhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Summerhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing