We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but very small rooms”
Review of CityLodge London

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CityLodge London
Ranked #313 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    30
    24
    14
    12
See reviews for
16
43
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The staff were really friendly, great location to get around London, 2 minute walk from DLR, but further to tube station. Could come and go as we please, and help yourself breakfast suited us. One little bad thing was the noise from the road, but this was only really noticeable because I'm used to no noise at night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
5 Thank kathryn_as
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

From the outside, it can be quite hard to tell that you've reached the place unless you look very hard, as my boyfriend and I passed the place before turning back to realised we missed it.
The inside is nice however, clean and well kept. Check-in was a bit more complicated than expected when my boyfriend was asked for his ID as "policy" when everywhere else I'd been to only asked for mine as I was the primary payer. He didn't have his on him but it was a new lesson that the receptionist taught us and he let us off to proceed to our rooms.

We arrived on a very hot day, so we were pleased to see a fan in our room that was essential to keeping us cool, but we had a window with a view that could open aswell so that was helpful. The beds were comfy, the shower was nice and the toiletries simple but nice also.

Breakfast was a do-it-yourself style in the kitchen and I made eggs with toasts and croissants and there was a wide range of food on offer which was a good situation to have.

We went out the night before and was able to stay out for as long as we wanted, we kept our keys to open the front door and our room. Overall a comfortable stay, would come again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crystal1691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were charged £250 for a tiny, very basic double room for one night in this pretty poor guesthouse. En suite bathroom minimum fixtures and shower basin didn't appear clean. Breakfast awful, laid out in kitchen all the time, croissant so stale, coffee, jams, etc. all lowest quality. Entrance pourch and hallway very shabby. Never before stayed in such an awful place, what a scam during the Olympics charging that rate. It is very convenient to two tube stations.

Room Tip: Don't go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed one night for the Olympics and I chose this guest house based on location and price. I was glad that I had read other reviews on here as I was not expecting the outside to look appealing and I was right. If I had been walking along the road looking for somewhere to stay, I would not have considered this place - it looks almost derelict.
However, inside was clean and comfortable if a little shabby. We had a double room with an extra mattress on the floor and it was a bit cramped but we managed.
The kitchen is a good idea - you can find all you need to make a quick snack or breakfast.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

Not somewhere I would recommend for a weeks holiday, but for somewhere to put your head down for one night it was perfectly adequate and exceptional value whilst the Olympics were on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DawnDevon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

I am from india and I was in london for a family vacation during last sep'11 with my wife and 2 yr old daughter here for a week and too bad i selected this hotel for my trip.the receptionist was highly racist and very discriminatory based on colour. where as every other room in the hotel was cleaned and the bed sheets changed every three days the hotel staff / receptionist incharge didnt care about the rooms we were staying. probably it is only to us. i did see them treating the 'white' guests with all the courtesy that you can expect from a marriott staff.

no. we didnt pay any less than what others paid. during the last week of september we paid 60 pounds a night for eight nights in the hotel which is a rip off. also the twin rooms mentioned in the hotel website is a actually single room where you have to remove ur luggages to open and close the door.

if you are not a white and from a asian country better avoid this or should you plan to stay get ready to be loud in what you want. being polite will not lead you anywhere in this dips*it called hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank khaleel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
CityStay Hotel
#943 of 1,067 in London
240 reviews
East End / East London
Ibis London Stratford
Ibis London Stratford
#450 of 1,067 in London
799 reviews
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Stratford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge London Stratford
#368 of 1,067 in London
1,157 reviews
Bow City Apartments
#441 of 842 in London
2 reviews
East End / East London
Park Villa Boutique Hostel
Park Villa Boutique Hostel
#39 of 842 in London
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CityLodge London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CityLodge London

Property: CityLodge London
Address: 167 Bow Road, London E3 2SG, England (Formerly Kings Arms Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #313 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — CityLodge London 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your CityLodge London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Arms Guest House Hotel London
CityLodge London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing