We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, modern spot on the South Bank”
Review of Kennington B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kennington B & B
Ranked #51 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2010

This B&B in the Kennington Park area of the South Bank is a spotless new total renovation of a huge 1700's-era townhouse; it's a bit stark and sterile in decor, but I'll take that over shabby any day. (Our only objection: rooms so minimally furnished that there were few places to just put your stuff down; we longed for a cheap Ikea side table or even a folding chair!) Beds new and comfy, a flat-screen TV in each of our rooms in the top-floor suite, and plenty of hot water, and a decent enough breakfast buffet (supermarket pastry and cereal but fresh tea/coffee) served with brisk, efficient friendliness by our hostess, a City legal-eagle who lives next door with her family and still finds time to look after guests' needs. There's also a pleasant garden for guests, and our aerie had a tiny balcony AND a view (just) of the London Eye at night! Location was fine, steps from the Kennington Park tube stop on Northern line, and the immediate neighborhood was diverse and pleasant and full of interesting London commuters instead of tourists. Thanks to a recommendation from our hostess, we tried the nearby 'gastropub,' Tommyfield, and had just about the best meal of our 2-week stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrendafromFlatbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 357 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2010

The owners were away on holiday & arranged for me to be met at the B & B by one of two nephews. My arrival was to coincide with the World Cup final & (understandably) neither nephew was keen to help out. Hence, the plan changed & a key was left for me with elaborate instructions as to its whereabouts. All a bit of a hassle, to be honest, at the end of my journey.

My rooms on the ground floor were nice but the bathroom was at the end of a corridor by the back door. The B & B's website fails to make it clear that the bathroom for this room is not en suite. The room rate (£120) fails to take into account the huge inconvenience of having to leave the room and make a trip to the end of a corridor to use the bathroom.

Breakfast was supposed to be served between 8 and 10. The owner's nephew arrived at 8.15 and got things ready. I had an early meeting and the delay set me back. He was plainly annoyed at having to be there (told me he's been up since 6.15 to make the journey) and was less than welcoming.

I understand this to be a new business venture. My feeling is that there was no proper plan in place to run the B & B in their absence. If you want to charge £120 for a room with no en suite bathroom, everything else about the experience should be 100%. Sadly it wasn't.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NottinghamCounsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teddyfinn, Owner at Kennington B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

We were terribly upset to receive this review of the B & B, I would not wish for any guest to experience a bad stay indeed quite the opposite, we went into this business in order that visitors to London should have a good experience.
Due to the fact that the house is over 230 years old, having been built in 1779 and is Grade II listed, we were unable to put in en-suite bathrooms, except for one on the 1st floor, which is why we provided a floor plan of the house on the website. It was provided so that no one would be misled. It does not state anywhere on our website that the bathroom is en suite, however the use of the guests wording "at the end of the corridor" makes it sound as if the bathroom is miles away which is frankly not the case at all.
It is the first time we had taken a few days away since we began the work 2 years ago, this guest was a last minute booking who was indeed arriving half way through the final of the World Cup however on speaking to her she agreed she would collect the key.
I am truly sorry that my nephew was late for breakfast and came across as rude, I think it was possibly more a defensive and immature reaction, he is only 16 and it is a Saturday/holiday job for him, he lives an hour and a half and 2 buses away and this was the first time he had laid out breakfast on his own.
The guest even sent me a message at 8:30, after the late breakfast she complained of, thanking me for the stay and even enquiring if she could stay a further night. I have tried to call the guest and have sent an e mailed apology however she did not respond.
We did have a plan in place to run the B & B in our absence unfortunately the person who was to supervise fell sick 2 days before we left on holiday. I have 3 young children and did not feel it was fair to cancel their summer holiday, in hindsight perhaps I should have stayed behind, This has been a steep learning curve for both us, the owners and my family that help us run it, We hope that this shall remain our sole average review and we shall continue to enjoy the excellent reviews we have been fortunate in having so far.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Kennington B & B is one true fabulous gem...a stone's throw away from the Kennington Tube station off the Northern Line, this place is amazing. Brand spanking new amenities, plush towels and duvet covers. Very attentive to the needs of the guests, that on the day of our departure, she made us a small breakfast. would certainly recommend this place to family and friends....in fact, a co-worker is planning a stay in November..Sian, thanks a lot of being so nice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glrodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We are a family of 5. The taxi ride from the Eurostar took less than 20 mins. My 2 eldest girls, 7 & 4 were straight into the quaint English garden along with my husband who read his paper as I was able to put the baby down for a nap (in the travel cot provided) and unpack in peace. The beds were very firm, just what the Dr ordered, after a long day shopping and sightseeing. Breakfast was fab. All that you could want in a continental breakfast and much more. A family run B&B was what we were looking for....and that's what we found. It was worth every penny. 

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We felt really at home in our room here. The house has been renovated with beautiful taste. Breakfast was delicious. We were at Covent Garden in ten minutes, and being on a direct line from St Pancras made it so practical to get to.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hebbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Demandez une chambre en étage et qui donne sur le jardin à l'arrière de la maison
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico93320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STG65, Owner at Kennington B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bauerstein22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STG65, Owner at Kennington B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
B+B Belgravia
B+B Belgravia
#42 of 571 in London
738 reviews
Tulse Hill Hotel
#14 of 571 in London
280 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Hotel
Jesmond Hotel
#22 of 571 in London
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 571 in London
718 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Parkwood at Marble Arch
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#27 of 571 in London
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennington B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennington B & B

Address: 103 Kennington Park Road, London SE11 4JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $181 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kennington B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Boutique B & B in a beautifully restored Grade II listed Georgian House built in 1786. Situated just 50 metres from Kennington tube station, our B & B is only minutes from Central London and all the City has to offer. All our rooms have original fireplaces, corniced ceilings, original Georgian shutters and cast iron radiators. 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linen. Free wifi and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Kennington B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennington Hotel London
Kennington Bed And Breakfast
Kennington B & B London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing