We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property and great access”
Review of Kennington B & B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kennington B & B
Ranked #53 of 573 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Having seen this B&B ranked near the top of the TripAdvisor index, we had high expectations which were easily exceeded. The B&B is in an charming old building and has been renovated extensively to provide all the modern comforts. The rooms are large and clean, with fluffy carpets and bright lights that can also be dimmed down. The room we had facing the garden was extremely quiet. Lock the windows, and you got complete silence. The bathroom was huge with a powerful shower. Rooms are made every 2-3 days but if you have specific requests they are happy to try to accommodate them. Breakfast in a buffet style is served by the charming housekeeper Inga, who makes great coffee. Sian the owner was usually around at breakfast time to help the guests with sightseeing and other advise. Sian gives excellent advise on neighborhood restaurants. The Indian restaurant she recommended was so good that we just continued visiting eateries on her list: Thai, gastro pub, traditional pub..., they were all great! The place is just a minute from the Kennington tube station on the Northern Line, which is actually two lines in one. One branch runs through the heart of city center: Charing Cross, Leicester Square etc. , while the other branch goes west to London Bridge and Bank. So it is convenient to visit both the western and eastern sides of central London. On a map this B&B may not seem the most central but because of the great tube connections and the proximity to the station, this place is probably more convenient than most hotels that are located in the center but have more than a few minutes walk form a tube station. The B&B does not display any signs, so it may be better to have a mobile phone to ring the owner once you reach the neighborhood, or take a cab the first time because London cab drivers know every street address. We loved the place so much that we have already booked for a longer stay next year. We are looking forward to going down Sian's list of restaurants further and enjoying London like a local.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chan_and_Boya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 357 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2011

We only stay there for 2 nights but we remember it like if I had stay for weeks. We really felt like in home, it's true to say. Simple room but all is well maintained, clean and functional. Thank you for the owner for his sense of hospitality.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank candylepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Fantastic period property, very warm welcome and children made to feel very at home.

Great location- just far enough out of town to enable it to have a garden, but only 5 mins from Waterloo via tube.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Definitely stay here again, and again and again next time we are in London.

Thanks to the owner and her prompt communication, to our luck, we managed to book a room 2 nights before arriving. The owner was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay, and it is one of the top managed B&B. keep it up!! After 24 hours flight from Sydney, we where given the room on arrival to sleep and having some breakfast.

Great location. It is only 30+ minutes easy walk to The Eye, and 200 steps from the Tube. Nice and save location - we feel very comfortable coming late at night.

We will definitely stay there again. p.s we had the back room, facing the garden on the first floor.

Thanks to the staff in Kennington B&B

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaptnToby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2011

A home from home. We stayd in rooms 4 and 5. Very nice. Ideal for a family with 2 children. Spacious and what a good breakfast. Not a cooked one, but a lovely spread of nutritious foods. Inge the housekeeper couldn't do enough for the children. The only downside I had was part of moy own fault - you can pay with paypal but paypal charged me £ 98,00 extra for costs. I would advise customers to pay cash.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topnosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We were welcomed with kind words and breakfast after a long flight from the US. This B&B is only 90 steps from the metro so the location is grand. The owner Sian made some sight-seeing suggestions and we were able to get into our rooms which were 45 steps up a very narrow stairway. We had a living area, bedroom, and bathroom. The place is in a neighborhood - as I looked out the balcony, I saw lots of people's homes. A very clean place - not charming like the B&B we stayed in in Kensington - but we were not disappointed because it's convenient and clean - it's been all renovated on the inside, but still very old British looking on the outside. Cool in our rooms with the French doors open in mid July.

Breakfast was a variety of bread, cereals, yogurts, fruit, nothing warm except coffee, tea or hot chocolate, but filling enough that we left full. The breakfast helper and maid - so sorry that I can't remember her name - was delightful. So pleasant. Siam offered helpful suggestions at breakfast on all three mornings which we appreciated. We were surprised that no one touched up the rooms during the day but we were ok with that. They offer a phone to use for free to call back to the US which we thought was a nice feature. It's not an inexpensive place, nor particularly charming, but it is convenient and clean. We would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teachers55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

My daughter and I stayed at this B&B while in London this month. The owners are warm and friendly, and the location is very close to a Northern Line Tube station. You can get to London Bridge in less than 10 minutes, and all the way to Camden Town in less than 30.
The taxi driver who dropped us off scared us a bit. He mentioned that the location was not really in London, and he told my daughter to keep a tight hold on her camera. He left us his business card, and expressed concern that the area was a bit "dodgy".
After settling in, I could tell that this was not an issue. We ate at a pub down the street, and went to walk along the Thames. We returned after dark, and were never harassed or left feeling unsafe.
I think the price is very reasonable, and Sian gave my daughter and I wonderful recommendations on things to do. I would definitely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jujubean101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
B+B Belgravia
B+B Belgravia
#42 of 573 in London
757 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 573 in London
740 reviews
Tulse Hill Hotel
#14 of 573 in London
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Parkwood at Marble Arch
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#28 of 573 in London
689 reviews
The Cleveland
#19 of 573 in London
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kennington B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennington B & B

Address: 103 Kennington Park Road, London SE11 4JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $179 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kennington B & B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run, Boutique B & B in a beautifully restored Grade II listed Georgian House built in 1786. Situated just 50 metres from Kennington tube station, our B & B is only minutes from Central London and all the City has to offer. All our rooms have original fireplaces, corniced ceilings, original Georgian shutters and cast iron radiators. 400 thread count Egyptian cotton bed linen. Free wifi and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Kennington B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kennington Hotel London
Kennington Bed And Breakfast
Kennington B & B London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing