We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too small”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simply Rooms & Suites
Ranked #563 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Too small”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The room looked recently refurbished. It was so very small. The washbasin was very shallow as a result the water splashed everywhere even when turning the tap on gently. The location was 5 minute walk to a tube, but some distance away from Central London

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janetstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    95
    36
    15
    14
See reviews for
29
94
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I was a little wary to start off with as I tend to stay in big chains like Travelodge/ Premier Inn. I managed to find a deal on this hotel after looking through streams of hotels in london. The area is lovely, and not far from the tube station at all! Quiet during the night as well. Arrived and checked in with no problem, got to the room and was pleasantly surprised, although there was no carpet and laminate flooring, the room was clean, and had good facilities, what you would expect from a hotel. The bed was very comfy, and also had feather bedding something that not even the posh hotels have! Great room for a great price (providing you go through another website to find better deals) definitely come here again if i need to. If you dont mind a few minute journey on the tube to the hotel, its great, if you want to go out and have london on the doorstep, then go somewhere else. Either way this hotel was great!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Staying over for the weekend after a business trip, I had one night on my own while waiting for my family to join.
The name of the hotel says it all, it's a great place for a good night sleep, nothing more, nothing less.
Without a restaurant, the two receptionists I had the pleasure to deal with (sorry guys I didn't catch your names) were extremely helpful and gave great recommendation for dining (Whits, which is just 10 min away) and for breakfast (cafe Elysée) right around the corner.
The room itself has free (although limited) internet, TV with cable package (did not had the time to catch a movie) and was very quiet, welcoming and spotless.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaandOlivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

This hotel ended up being a disappointment for the price (100 pounds per night). The hotel is very out of the way compared to central London hotels, and is a nearly 10 minute walk from the West Kensington tube station (zone 2, District Line), but is actually in Hammersmith. It is in a very quiet, almost entirely residential area, with nothing really around it in terms of restaurants, pubs, or conveniences in the immediate vicinity. It's not a bad neighborhood, but not a particularly good one either, as there are several council estates that you pass en route to the tube station.

It is not especially convenient for Heathrow Airport access, as you have to change lines at Earl's Court tube and there are no lifts/elevators for luggage at the West Kensington station.

There is no lift/elevator in the building, so it is not a viable option for anyone with physical limitations unless they can get one of the couple of rooms on the ground floor.

The rooms are small - the one I stayed in was smaller than all of the other hotels I stayed at in London (that were all in the 90-100 pound per night range). The bathroom was tiny and the shower was narrow, and the water pressure was not very strong. There were hardly any in-room amenities or toiletries. It was a fourth-floor walk-up room, and there is virtually no hallway space between the rooms and their i virtually no hotel lobby. The lobby and stairwell carpet smelled like mildew. There is no fitness center or business center that I could see.

The biggest obstacle was that the WiFi signal while I was staying there was cutting in and out the entire time. This was a major problem due to the fact that free and solid WiFi access, as I was traveling on business and had important emails to send, was part of why I booked the room.

In the end, this is essentially a lackluster hotel in a B&B-style building, and the location is really the biggest problem. Unless you secure a unbelievable good rate (below 85 pounds a night), hold out for a better hotel that's within the Underground's Zone 1.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Go to it through a comparison site! Quiet area. Welcoming staff. Compact and comprehensive room with good shower and good bed (main requirements) good value. Plenty of restaurants and bars within a short walk and close to Olympia. Does what it says on the tin.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed there 3 nights between Christmas and New Year, and it was easy to find at about 15 min walk from where we were dropped off by the Easy Bus coming from LGW. There were upgrading the tube stations close by, but there is a bus stop about 5 min from the hotel, where you can get several busses to central London.

The rooms are small as most of London hotels, but the bed is comfortable and everything seems modern. There is a small fridge, so you can stalk up some things for breakfast. The bathroom is fine with plenty of pressure in the tab and hot water.

There is a big Tesco about 10 min walk from the hotel and Shepherds Bush is also walking distance.

No elevator in the house so if you dont like stairs you need to pick a room at the groundfloor.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Simply Rooms & Suites is a suitable and clean place to stay if you're in London and travelling about or going out for the evening. It has all the facilities you would need, a comfortable bed and a good shower. The rooms is quite tight and it lacks ambience so I would recommend using this simply as a bed for the night. The reception staff were good humoured and very helpful. It is in an easy to get to location.

Room Tip: I would come back if I needed a place to stay in this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tillytastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Hilton London Olympia
#658 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,448 reviews
Hand and Flower Hotel
#414 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
St Paul's Hotel
#60 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langorf Hotel
#566 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
London Visitors Hotel
London Visitors Hotel
#461 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#727 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simply Rooms & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Rooms & Suites

Property: Simply Rooms & Suites
Address: 21 Avonmore Road | Kensington and Chelsea, London W14 8RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#341 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Simply Rooms & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simply Rooms & Suites is a part extended stay property located in convenient Olympia, Kensington. We are a brand new property as of 2010 with chic modern design bedrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Simply Rooms & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simply Rooms Hotel London
Simply Rooms And Suites
Simply Rooms & Suites London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing