We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't go here if you are coeliac.”

Caravan Exmouth Market
Reserve with OpenTable
Caravan Exmouth Market is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,241 of 22,375 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Clerkenwell
Description: Located in vibrant, pedestrianised exmouth market, caravan is a bright and airy space with glazed frontage on two sides and an outside terrace on the market. Serving our signature well travelled breakfast and all day food and drink menus, and freshly roasted coffee from our in house coffee roastery, our style is relaxed, open and friendly. Come for a coffee with the morning paper or a cocktail and small plates in the evening or anything in between!
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't go here if you are coeliac.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Came here for lunch with a friend and was bitterly disappointed with the complete lack of gluten free options. There was no cider (gluten free alternative to a beer) and every option had bread or flour involved, when I told the waitress this, she suggested a dish with toast on the side, I said was there any alternative to the toast, as I don't see the point in paying and receiving something I cannot eat, and was told no, plus when the dish arrived it still had the toast. Really dissapointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    167
    63
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If the service were as good as the food, it could have 6 stars!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I've been here twice. Once for lunch, once for brunch. The Salt Beef Bubble, with its perfectly poached eggs, was the highlight. The burrata at lunch was also memorable. That being said, the service is appalling, and at the brunch incident, after beginning to apologize, the server then chided us that we were "lucky" to only have to wait 40 minutes from ordering for our food, and 30 minutes to get our bill even when the line was out the door. If they sort those issues, they'll be top notch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boilerjess98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“As much wrong as right with Caravan”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Caravan is in the super trendy former total no-go area behind Kings Cross station in a former warehouse with high ceiling and exposed brick/iron work. It is an uber-cool set up with great table layout so everyone can see, a big bar area shared loos and an open to view kitchen. Its set back from the road and has limited signage but if you spot the fountains you have found it! There is no close-by parking and its a good 10 min walk from the tube. Daytime I'd imagine would be quite pleasant but at night its bordering on threatening if you are remotely anxious - there aren't many people around and those who were din't look up to spending £50pp on dinner!

First impressions are very good, great buzzy atmosphere and busy kitchen but if you like being welcomed or even the faintest hint of a bit service then the bad news is this place isn't for you!

On arrival we stood ignored for an uncomfortable 5 minutes until one of the 2 guys working (?) at the screens on reception lifted their heads. Without making any eye contact our booking was confirmed and we were shown to our tables a bit too briskly for comfort and then left to our own devices for just over 10 minutes with the menus and wine list.

At last we were served. The menus are on clipboards and run to several sheets - food sounded great - mainly small sharing plates and the wines actually quite reasonable. We were offered water but as I was asking about the wine list and trying to choose the server inexplicably walked off while I was mid-ponder presume my pause was too long or she had some kind of attention deficit issue?

Regrettably this set the tone. The small plates came at an alarmingly fast pace, some very (very) good but a couple just about average and we had a very nice pizza and dessert. The large plates looked very nice so there's no doubt these guys can cook. None of the servers stopped for long enough to ask if we wanted anything else or if we liked the food - the wine was never ordered and we were out in just over an hour. The 2 guys at the door didn't raise their heads on the way out either in case you were wondering!

No doubt they will thrive as this is a place of the moment but they really need to teach their staff the value of a modicum of service and how to smile! Nice food but we wont be rushing back - far better places for the price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Always one bad apple”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We'd heard good things about the coffee served here, having an on site roastery, and being placed in many 'top 10 London coffee shop' type run downs, so we thought we'd try it out one Saturday afternoon.

On arrival it looked as though they were going for the Guinness record for most people they could fit inside a restaurant, with an inordinate number of people ŵrithing and jostling for position within. This obviously wasn't a particularly appealing start but we decided to add ourselves to the record attempt. On entering there is a narrow walk way in front of the bar which partitions it from the dining area and this is where those waiting for a table gather.

We were primarily interested in having a coffee or two, but were also amenable to ordering food, if the menu grabbed us, so we asked for a table to be informed by an amiable lady that the wait would be 30-40 mins but that we could have some coffee at the bar while we waited.
Having finished off our coffees we were in the process of deciding whether to have another or to leave when I accidentally nudged one of the waiters while turning around, such was the congested space, this must be a regular occurrence. However I made the requisite conciliatory gesture only to receive the kind of dirty look to suggest I'd kicked his dog. At that point I weighed up the options, assist the indolent streak in getting some fresh air via one of the windows (ok I'm over egging it but I was fuming), or leave. Judging discretion to be the better part I opted for the latter.

You can't criticise an establishment for becoming popular, only how they deal with that popularity, and in this case an otherwise courteous team were let down by one miserable, anaemic smear in an apron. I'd advise that you go by all means but try to avoid their busiest times, ie weekend lunchtimes, and if it's so busy that you have to wait then don't as the are excellent alternatives on nearby leather lane such as prufrocks and the department of coffee and social affairs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Came here for dinner on a Saturday night with a group of 13 for a friend's birthday. We had the sharing menu, which was all very tasty, great flavour combinations and decent servings. Service wasn't overly amazing, but not appalling either. Wine list was decent. Only downside was the final course in the sharing platters - the quail itself was lovely but different to every single other dish that was brought out on the night, it was only over 2 plates (every other was dish was served over 4-6 plates) and both plates were placed at one end of the table. We kept expecting more to be sent but they never arrived. After we commented on this, we were told there was no more quail but could choose another dish from the list, so they made up for it all in the end...

If you're in the area, I'd recommend it

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marionjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caravan Exmouth Market also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Caravan Exmouth Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing