We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Jack Horner

The Jack Horner
Ranked #767 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I went here with my sister and 16 year old daughter. Location was very central, just up from Tottenham courst tube, very near to the Dominion theatre and close to the Pheonix theatre. They are known for their pies and I can see why. I had a vergetarian goats cheese pie, which was a great treat (never seen that on the menu before). Food was delicious, good atmosphere and prices not bad at all for London (about £40 for 3 main meals and 3 drinks). Well worth eating at if you like good pub food in a central location.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DilligafDilligaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    170
    33
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Who ate all the pies?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Decent pub grub and good snack menu if you fancied a drink and a wee something to eat. We ate here twice: once at night when we shared nachos and once for lunch when I had the chicken mushroom and onion pie which was lovely. Service was pretty good but took about half an hour in the evening but we'd timed our order just after a large table. Bar staff were really friendly and generally got orders right although I did have difficulty ordering the standard fresh orange and lemonade. We did get there in the end - I wasn't expecting freshly squeezed orange. Good pub grub at decent price. Did have to wait to be asked for a sweet - maybe in case I asked for something complicated :-)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sazzer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good pub, steak pie only average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Have been in several times in the last few weeks. Excellent selection of beers and liquor in a comfortable and welcoming setting. This is a place where women can feel safe and welcome, alone or with other women. The staff are young and efficient and seem to genuinely like each other and what they are doing. Service is unfailingly there when needed but not intrusive, and one day when we walked in hungry and the kitchen had already closed, a very nice young woman behind the bar kindly made suggestions as to where we might still find food in the neighborhood. I've only eaten there once, and was a bit disappointed by the steak and ale pie, which had a pre-fab bottom crust with a hard to manage puff pastry on top and modest amounts of beef in a gravy that didn't quite pull off savory. The veg and chips with it were nice, and it was certainly an all right pie, but definitely not the best I've encountered. Go for the beers on tap, the pleasant staff and the comfortable atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FeralTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmestrand, Norway
Level Contributor
183 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice pub, not so crowded by tourist!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Excellent athmosphere and bartenders with great sense of humour! "Strawberry Daquiri? Good luck with that! :)" Great selection of beers on tap and bottles.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wullumt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“crouded pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

what you ecpect from a pub, crouded, nice atmosphere, cheap enough, the food was ok. A nice lunch after a long oxford walk

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marina1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jack Horner also viewed

 

Been to The Jack Horner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing