We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Guide in London!”

Gowing Private Guiding
Ranked #226 of 692 Tours in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: I am a fully qualified, Blue Badge Tourist Guide based in London. I have wide experience of guiding individuals,family groups, tour groups and groups of students of all ages around the iconic sites of London and locations within easy reach of London such as: Oxford, Stratford, Bath, Windsor etc. I would be delighted to welcome you to this fantastic city and to ensure that you have the best possible experience whilst on your trip. Using a Blue Badge Guide ensures the quality of service that you will enjoy and you should be wary of "Free Tours" (they often aren't!) and "Fully Qualified" without the Blue Badge or naming their qualification, from other guides. Please check out my website to see how I can work with you on making your trip to England the very best experience it can be!
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Guide in London!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Went on a walking tour with John, there were four of us. I have a little trouble with my knee but John was very mindful of it. We did Westminister Abbey, the Changing of the guards at "Buck Palace" rode the Tube and did the Tower of London! John was so informative, tireless and his knowledge poured like an encyclopedia! He was Witty and friendly and fun too! I was worried that I would not see anything of the guards, but he brought us to secret spots. I was able to do a video of the guards and horses and all the regalia, just like the professionals and they were inches away! All of England was on Holiday, so there were massive groups of people, however John managed to whisk us into private areas where we never waited. We are so thankfull that we found him! Cant wait to go back and do other parts of London with John! He is the Best of his Trade!!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank kudytm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent London Guide - John Gowing”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

John was a very informative and interesting tour guide for our large group. He kept everyone's interest. We were a large group of almost 45. It isn't easy to keep up with a group that large, but John did an excellent job. On the bus, he entertained us with witty anecdotes and history. My only disappointment was there wasn't enough time to stop and take good photos. He could probably do that with individuals or a much smaller group. Thanks John, for a delightful and enjoyable visit to London, Oxford and Stratfford-Upon-Avon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jasperjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another great walking tour”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We recently did another walking tour with John, this time in Soho and China Town. Being local to the London area we thought we new Soho well.. Clearly not, John's wealth of knowledge and persona far exceeded expectations again. If you need a flexible and knowledgable tour guide John is you man!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lanzerote08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply the best guide in the greater London area”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

John Gowing is an amazing Blue Badge certified Guide with tireless enthusiasm and fantastic knowledge of all the sights that we went with him from Stratford, Oxford. Hampton Court, Windsor Castle and practically everything in the greater London area. His voice is a delight to listen to and his manners are so polite and charming too. He is simply the best, a true gentleman and the most interesting and well informed guide that we have ever come across.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank eventarranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“All you could want in a guide!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We are a family with 3 boys from 10 to 17. John took us on a private tour of Westminster Abbey just before Christmas. A former English and Sport teacher, he had the professional ability to engage and educate with entertaining stories and explanations. The Abbey is packed with memorials and architectural features and he was able to bring out the highlights in a way that held everyone's interest. At the same time he is also incredibly personable and the tour felt more like spending the morning with a very knowledgeable family friend. After The Abbey, and a warming cup of tea in the nearby, almost hidden Wesley cafeteria, we walked to get a double decker bus to the Tower of London, passing Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament on the way. John continued pointing out things of interest as we went. Unfortunately the weather was against us. After settling us in a lovely, reasonably priced Pub for lunch, we decided to leave the Tower for another time and reluctantly said farewell.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mumanddrmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gowing Private Guiding also viewed

 

Been to Gowing Private Guiding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing