We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghosts made entertaining!”

Gowing Private Guiding
Ranked #237 of 708 Tours in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: I am a fully qualified, Blue Badge Tourist Guide based in London. I have wide experience of guiding individuals,family groups, tour groups and groups of students of all ages around the iconic sites of London and locations within easy reach of London such as: Oxford, Stratford, Bath, Windsor etc. I would be delighted to welcome you to this fantastic city and to ensure that you have the best possible experience whilst on your trip. Using a Blue Badge Guide ensures the quality of service that you will enjoy and you should be wary of "Free Tours" (they often aren't!) and "Fully Qualified" without the Blue Badge or naming their qualification, from other guides. Please check out my website to see how I can work with you on making your trip to England the very best experience it can be!
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ghosts made entertaining!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

John Gowing's Ghost Tour is informative and entertaining. He provides fascinating facts, current connections and amusing anecdotes about ghosts of all kinds which "haunt" the streets and historic buildings of central London.

John caters for all ages, interests and sense of humours!

I can highly recommend this tour which a group of about twenty of us enloyed enormoiusly. Thankyou John.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ValM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This guy knows his stuff”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Mr. Gowing was always entertaining, witty, and informative. He always greeted his customers with a smile and made us clueless tourists feel a bit more comfortable in London.
He really made the trip great.

Helpful?
1 Thank DMvhiltner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quorndon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Westminster Abbey & London's West End”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

An extremely interesting and informative tour by a true professional.

Will certainly be contacting John again in the near future for his Jack the Ripper
and Kray Twin's guided tours.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quorn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Westminster Abbey”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Thank you John for such an informative tour - we thoroughly enjoyed our time with you and felt much more knowledgeable about the Abbey and surrounds after your tour and would highly recommend your services to anyone thinking of visiting London.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“John Gowling is an EXTRAORDINARY private tour guide!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Our family feels fortunate to have had guided tours in various cities around the world. In our experience, there are "good" guides, some who are "great" and a few who are truly "extraordinary". John is among those select few who, among their other professional honors, are outstanding! His historical knowledge, patience (we were a large group -- more than 300 --touring London after all--), understanding of different cultures and countries' citizens and, above all, HUMOR sets him apart from his peers.

I can say that John' proficiency and professional nature (did I mention his wonderful sense of humor?) were first rate and, in addition to the actual tour sites in London, one of the absolute highlights of our week-long trip.

London's history, outstanding tour sites and citizens are among the best in the world. My family and I highly recommend Mr. John Gowling to anyone seeking to have an extraordinary ("above and beyond" experience in London! Well done sir!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gowing Private Guiding also viewed

 

Been to Gowing Private Guiding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing