We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local fare”
Review of Shepherds Tavern

Shepherds Tavern
Ranked #6,524 of 22,675 Restaurants in London
Price range: $11 - $18
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: The Shepherds Tavern is a handsome feature in the Shepherd Market landscape. Built in 1735 as part of the original redevelopment of the area by Edward Shepherd, after the original May Fair was moved to Bow in 1686. Edward Sheppard was an architect and property owner, the tavern was built on ground belonging to him. Formally a butter shop, the exact date of when the building converted into pub is not known. English born actress M.B.E Wendy Richard lived in the pub from 1948 to 1953, and is honoured by the Heritage Foundation.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great local fare”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Traditional English pub with better than average food. Though many pubs are indistinguishable from one another, this one was a cut above with decent food and service (which in London counts for something). Though the Arsenal game commanded much of the attention and service of staff, still managed to enjoy a semi relaxing evening with folks who were in much better spirits pre-match than post (unfortunately, the Gunners' lost).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank michael_dimaggio25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    46
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
“a good allround pub”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

visited 17 feb a sunday at 5pm with my family aged 4 to 64 looking for for food .my 4 year old was made welcome, great food it does what it says on the menu, great staff, i wish my local pub could be as good as the shepard. tried a few of the beers, they were very good. a no bull honest pub.If you are in mayfair its good to know you dont have to be a millionare to eat and drink out.we stayed at the park lane hotel, the shepard was a few mins walk behind the hotel

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lee t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Texas
Level Contributor
229 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Kick back, relax and have a beer”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A great place for a beer and conversation with locals. Stopped by on my birthday and Viktoria was kind enough to let me hoist a Stella behind the bar for a birthday picture. Very friendly staff that don't mind chatting with you when they aren't busy. Enjoyed the Tavern very much. If I lived in London this would be my daily stop after work.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a nice place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

my wife and i came upon this pub in the heart of mayfair after a long day of walking and shoping walked all way from oxford street down to green park then towards hyde park it looked pleasent from the outside it was the same inside , the menue was good for a pub lunch menue , i chose the steak burger and my wife had gammon eggs n chips , there was a good selction of beers largers so chose a good beer , i asked about other beers and largers and was given tastes , the food came and was a fair size if not huge and was very nice the beer also was great and all at a fair price the staff were friendly and helpfull and pub was clean inside and out
we visted this pub on the 27/12/2012 about 1400hrs

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfozzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Average pub with average food and drink”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

There is a reasonable amount of staning space downstairs as well as standing room and upstairs is all seating. The food is average, fish and chips, sausage and mash. There is a selection of four or so bitters/ales but they don't seem to be particularly well kept. The staff are friendly and there are no short pints but it's strictly average and perhaps a little more expensive that it should be. Nice view of the street from the upstairs.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Shepherds Tavern, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Robert C,
Many thanks for posting your recent review on Trip Advisor.
I have forwarded it to The Management Team for their comments.

Kind Regards,
Taylor Walker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shepherds Tavern also viewed

 
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Shepherds Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing