We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
Ranked #43 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Comfortable rooms, qualified personnel, pleasant atmosphere.
Price/quality correspondance.
Light continental breakfast is a nice day beginning.
Good location, not far from central london (direct busses, train aprox 20 min), quired area with option to walk through the park.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    214
    80
    32
    25
See reviews for
55
62
161
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

This is my second stay at this hostel and is suitable for backpacker. Near to London tube station and it is within zone 2. Free water as water dispenser provided in the kitchen. Breakfast is provided as well from 7.30am until 10.30am. Plus there are many visitors there and the wifi device may not able to cope with the load. Nearby there are many convenience stores and the best thing is that the there is a bus stop in front of the hostel where you can take bus direct to Oxford Circus (bus no 98). And the bus is operated 24 hours. So you will have transport option after the tube operating hours which terminates around 12.00am daily. The hostel seems crowded during breakfast as they seems to cater for many school functions. They have improved the wifi connection in the room but somehow I am not able to connect to my company vpn while I am here. Suspect certain ports being blocked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boonchuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Couple spent 6 nights in a four dorm could not afford private room, clean good bathroom facilities, good Wifi and lounge. No assessable TV (in bar area to noisy to watch), staff are not very friendly and breakfast is cereal, toast and 1 croissant, the biggest disappointment was the shared kitchen which was very small minimal cooking facilities and tiny fridge for a large hostel. Location is okay close to bus and Tube station; overall we felt that hostel was overpriced for what they offered.

Room Tip: There are lots of room variety with different price range but if your a couple and double room not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico C, Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi there and thank you for your review.

It's sad to hear that you couldn't achieve the best experience in our hostel. Unfortunately, I can now realize that you couldn't enjoy all of our facilities. For example, we have an isolated TV room, which is not the lounge or the bar. The lounge we preferred to have it as a quiet and relaxing room and the TV in the Bar is mostly for sports events an ambient. But the TV room is the perfect place for watching movies and relax after a long sightseeing day.
Our breakfast includes coffee, milk, apple and orange juice, cereals (corn flakes and granola), toasts and croissants and it's all included for FREE. We tried having a breakfast upgrade in which people had to pay only £2.00 and they can have a more options but it didn't work. So we are thinking about giving our guests the best possible option.


Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Pros:
Feels safe and secure
Short walk to tube
Nice bar
Close to supermarket

Cons:
Smoking area is just outside and under the windows (of which only one can be opened 5 or so cm) of most rooms
Its pretty disgusting for a non smoker
A roof over smoking area or adequate airflow in rooms would solve this

Walls feel paper thin
I never expect hostels to be silent
but when you can hear people speaking at normal volume 2 or so rooms down...

Guests kitchen has no pans (dont buy food before you check lol)

There was also lots of mould in our room

Overall:
Cons easily outweigh any positives for me....
I couldnt wait to leave

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RARRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico C, Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi there,

I'm sorry that you couldn't enjoy your stay like it was expected. We are constantly trying to improve our services so we took your words in consideration. We are aware that in some particular rooms we need to improve the sound proof of the walls and there is a planning in the matter already. Regarding the smoking area, it is actually located outside the bar and dining area so it has a roof preventing all the smoke to get into the rooms.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

OMG!! This place is so clean, the staff is so friendly, helpful, and courteous. The place is well maintained, great location, safe and it feels better than home away from home. I love this place :) Because this place is so great it's always booked up. The atmosphere is so great it shows on all the guests faces and attitude. I however, would like them to "perk up their breakfast choices".
Muah!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wigs0646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

More than adequate for a one-night stay.

If you do take the Jubilee Line tube, "southwest" from the station is to the right! The #98 bus is a shorter walk and departs from High Holborn and the Oxford Street "shopping strip".

Front desk staff is superb!! As are food and bar servers. "Residential" neighborhood setting is a big plus / outdoor patio deck is a nice feature (if you can stand the smokers!).

Rooms are adequate and everyone was quiet!! "En Suite" bathrooms serve the purpose, are very clean, but have to be the world's smallest!! Left-luggage storage is a plus and free internet and computers in the lobby are a BIG plus!! Thank you all!!

Room Tip: The elevator is very convenient, but can be noisy in operation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ETNPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico C, Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It's always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay.
We hope to see you again in the future!


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
198 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

This Hostel/Hotel was chosen due to its price, location & reviews. Due to the nature of relying on feedback, I try to review honestly as much as possible.

We booked a Double Private with Ensuite. Finding the hostel from Willesden Green station was quite straight forward, check in was quick, painless and simple. Although our receptionist was quite curt with us at times, not a cheerful welcome but I didn't let that put us off.

So off to room B02.This is a basement room, with a very small high level window. The bed is of ample size, the bathroom although small is sufficient for use of two, meaning you didn't have to use the communal facilities. Towels & limited toiletries were provided as were tea & coffee facilities.

We literally got in the first evening, changed & went out. Upon our return we realised we were below the restaurant / bar, hearing chairs scrape et all. Hearing further things, i.e heating etc overnight the first nights sleep wasn't great. The second night however seemed a little easier at getting a good nights sleep.

Breakfast (served in a 2 1/2 hour period) comprises cereals, toast, croissants, jam etc alongside juices, tea & coffee in a self service counter that's constantly flowing & hot. Spaces are limited, some tables communal and the bar shows BBC news to keep everyone posted.

We spent little time in the hostel other than sleeping, showering & breakfast ( all you need from a base ) although reception were helpful with some local directions & knowledge when we enquired.

I would definitely stay again, I had noticed that by reception they actually sell ear plugs, my only issue with that being fire risk etc. Don't be put off by the private basement rooms, go exploring & use the great facilities & location to your advantage.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank carlideal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nico C, Manager at Palmers Lodge Hillspring, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hello and thank you for your words.

We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay despite some negative aspects. As we constantly try to improve, we listen to our guests and always try to act in their benefit. At the moment we are looking at how we can better sound proof the private rooms on the basement.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
YHA London Earl's Court
YHA London Earl's Court
#61 of 837 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
South Kensington
MEININGER Hotel London Hyde Park
Bloomsbury
Generator Hostel London
Generator Hostel London
#40 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmers Lodge Hillspring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmers Lodge Hillspring

Property: Palmers Lodge Hillspring
Address: 233 Willesden Lane, London NW2 5RP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Palmers Lodge Hillspring 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay in affordable accommodation doesn't have to mean a sacrifice in quality. At boutique backpackers Palmers Lodge Hillspring you will find many of the creature comforts you have in your own home, and many you wouldn't. Spacious living areas, quality furnishings, fully licensed bar and restaurant are just some of the reasons for choosing to stay at Palmers Lodge Hillspring on your next London visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palmers Lodge Hillspring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillspring Hotel London
Palmers Lodge Hillspring London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing