We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FOOD POISONING!!!”
Review of Mr Wu

Mr Wu
Ranked #16,674 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Soho
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“FOOD POISONING!!!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Went there yesterday with my partner and we didn't even finish one plate of food, most of it tasted off. It must have been there for over 2 weeks for sure. After we got home my partner felt sick whilst I had the shakes, cramps and temperature. We both had food poisoning from this disgusting food and had to call in sick!!! I can't even get to my GP as I am in too much pain but will definitely be reporting this people with trading standards. AVOID!!!

Oh and there was a homeless tramp eating there and hurling abuse at all other customers including ourselves, everyone ignored him and the waiters did not do a thing!!! He should have been kicked out immediately. Clearly these people really want their £8.50 for their rotten food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    82
    108
    78
    144
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average - had better...”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

This is a classic average restaurant, they take also 10% of service charge (maybe this is normal?!). We paid it in the end(without drinks), 20£ for two. Most of the food is not fresh, but still if you hungry you can eat good..but maybe there are better restaurants in this area..

Helpful?
Thank Hoodstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Walk around the corner?”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This could have been SO different!!
The place looked the part, just around the corner from China -Town.
Will leave the rest to the other reviewers.
I have not given a rating for one point!! Fast food with a difference.
We were welcomed in with open arms & pushed out with open palms!!!
Table for 4, ate, ( 2 moderate plates of food each). Requested bill, paid.. Started to chat, Mr. Wu, I guess, asked us to leave to make room.
Talk about bursting a bubble!! Despite plenty of room, it seems that Mr. Wu. wants to get them in & get them out asap!!!???
I have never left a negative review before.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ranger297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari
Level Contributor
148 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Back to Mr. WU”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Coming back to London and to this restaurant, i must admit that nothing changed... You have to check the quality : this time i found the Paella overcooked, so I tried fried rice or simply boiled one and chines noodles which were good. Fried vegetables were ok as the other Chinese stuff. Good the prawns and the chicken curry, but the top was the duck very good and fresh meat fantastic cooked Fresh and chinese scirop fruit as dessert. Price ? Nothing for Central London !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AroundtheWorld61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the better buffet restaurants in Chinatown”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I went here for dinner on a Sunday evening with two friends. Since it's an all-you-can-eat buffet restaurant I did not expect is to be very clean, serve very nice food, or have friendly staff. There are two floors where you can sit and it is not too cramped. Compared to other buffet restaurants in Chinatown, this one offers more choice in dishes for a very good price. A majority of the dishes tasted surprisingly nice.

This buffet restaurant is one of the better ones in Chinatown for a very good price. There are more expensive buffet restaurants offering far less dishes, which also don't taste as nice as the ones offered in this restaurant. So if you're looking for a quick bite to eat and do not mind crowded places where the staff is not that friendly, I would recommend this restaurant. It's well worth your money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AsnTingTing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Wu also viewed

 

Been to Mr Wu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing