We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I LOVE this restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zeret Kitchen

Zeret Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Zeret Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lovers of Ethiopian cuisine and adventurous foodies will appreciate this bright, clean and modern restaurant in Camberwell that prides itself on its family recipes and dedication to authentic Ethiopian traditions. Zeret itself is a name that comes from a small village in northern Ethiopia, and the menu includes mostly chicken, lamb and beef stews made with butter, garlic and ginger served on pancake-like flatbread called enjera. All the food here is delicious, and the dining room is decorated with colourful placemats, potted palms and simple white walls. Perfect for communal/sharing meals with friends and family, the Zeret Kitchen has attentive staff and a relaxed atmosphere ��� don't miss the Ethiopian style chicken cooked with green chillies, herbs and spices.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I LOVE this restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I can't recommend this restaurant highly enough! The family running it are warm, welcoming, kind, attentive and the food is DELICIOUS. I visit regularly because it's such good food and such good value.I always have the vegetarian selection, and it's always fantastic: the different stews and the extremely yummy vegetable dishes (I had to order extra french beans last time, they were so tasty) along with the very fresh salad are placed ceremoniously on the enjerra by the owner and then you and your companions dive in with your fingers. I can't wait to go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    62
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Revisiting an old favourite.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Used to come here when I lived in Camberwell many years ago. The food and the service are as good as then but it's great to see it so popular and busy now. The owner is great and she deserves it.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Juleshussey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great food, service and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Zeret Kitchen is a great little find; the owner is incredibly attentive and welcoming. The food is very good value for money- much cheaper than other Ethiopian restaurants we've been to, and tastier too! There are good vegetarian options (not that we ordered any) and food is very individually tailored to our spice preferences! WELL worth the trip to deepest, darkest Camberwell. This will become one of our regulars.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaJemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value, good food and charming waiting staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Although Zeret Kitchen was my first experience of Ethiopian cuisine, I was dining with 2 friends who had eaten this type of food before and one of whom had visited Ethiopia.
We ordered the Zeret Surprise which consisted of lamb, beef, chicken, lentil dishes and salad, served on a large platter covered with enjeera (slightly sour pancakes/flat bread), all of which were delicious.
The red house wine was a very good Shiraz and the staff were very considerate, cheery and helpful.
The restaurant represented exceptional value for money and I would return without any hesitation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank afolksongaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible food, service and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

The mixed meze style meal for two has to be one of the tastiest and best value meals to be had in London. Everything I've had here has been utterly delicous and the service is fabulous.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dottie111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeret Kitchen also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Zeret Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing