We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a dream!”
Review of Petrus

Petrus
Ranked #110 of 22,552 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Belgravia
Description: Renowned throughout London and beyond, Petrus is one of the biggest names on the restaurant scene. With the world-renowned Gordon Ramsay behind the scheme to raise Petrus - now located on Knightsbridge's Kinnerton Street - from the ashes, the restaurant exudes the famous Ramsay sense of luxury combined with down-to-earth charm. Decorated in subtle tones of champagne, oyster and copper along with the claret red which inspired the restaurant's name, Petrus's beguiling interior is superbly decadent and romantic and actually quite intimate. In the kitchen, Head Chef Larry Jayasekara is creating its trademark modern French menu. At Petrus the highest-quality ingredients go into dishes that combine delicious familiar flavours with unique presentation. Expect waves of divine amuse-bouches and a stupendous wine list, including a long list of vintages of Petrus to make it all perfect.
Österreich
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a dream!”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

This restaurant stands for perfection! The food is perfect, the service is perfect, the atmosphere is perfect! We will definitely return, it was a great experience and the best restaurant we have ever been to!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabine1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,581
    448
    212
    64
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Highly enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Tried to make a reservation at Restaurant Gordon Ramsay for Dec in Oct but it was fully booked.
Decided to try Petrus instead and we were not disappointed at all!
The food was fantastic and the service was excellent.
Three-course lunch at 35 GBP. Totally worth it! Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bren-da2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Almost faultless”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We entered here wondering if the restaurant would match the hype surrounding it.

A place such as this is always under pressure to deliver the highest standards and to our delight it did.

First class service without being intrusive, splendid wine list and the most delicious food. Delicious pork belly, duck, foie gras, scallops, snails amongst other things. Delicious cheese table and the chocolate sphere for desert was outrageous. Truly delicious.

If I could find a fault, and this was very difficult to do, it would be that they did not remove the few crumbs off our table but that would be me being pedantic and unnecessarily critical.

Fabulous restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RussH79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Very good but not excellent anymore”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was our second visit to Petrus. We visited for lunch both times.

We arrived a little early but were taken directly to our table. We ordered a drink, but did not receive menus for about 15-20 minutes or so. We were quite hungry after shopping on Sloane St all morning but were not given bread until we had ordered our food and received our amuse bouche, which was annoying.

The waiter was very nice and bilingual. However, I think that there were not enough wait staff on because the plates were left in front of us for a long time after eating and we did not have the same waiter throughout and it seemed somewhat chaotic at times. After our mains, I had to hail a waitress to take our plates away which had been sitting there for some time, which was a little frustrating.

The food itself was lovely. The ox cheek main on the lunch menu was divine and the chocolate sphere dessert was great (although very rich). The lunch menu is well worth the £35 set price. My only issue was that the main protein portion was huge. It was all perfectly cooked, but, for me, just a little too much food. Obviously, for many people, this may be a positive!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LegallyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“1 Year on and still the King of the Restaurants”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I first visited this restaurant in July 2012. Last week, I came back for a second helping with expectations very high, I only hoped it could deliver the goods and it did, big time.

From the moment you see Petrus at the end of Kinnerton Street, you know you are in for something special. You walk through the main door and the room just elegantly glows, a warm and inviting welcome along with a friendly and gracious smile by the maitre d'.

Service is never overbearing, it comes at just the right time, you're never having to look for a member of staff to attend to your needs. They are there in the right place at the right time.

We had booked way in advance for a table for 2 persons for the lunch menu. Even though you're ordering three courses, that gets boosted to about 6/7. There's the canapés, the petit fours, the cheeseboard (if you opt for it). I recommend treating yourself to a gastronomic experience the likes of which you have never tasted ever and go for it all. The waiter who explained the cheeses with such flair and grace to the waiters who explained each and every dish as they were laid in front of our salivating mouths.

It's the perfect dining experience. I just find it hard to believe that it only has one michelin star, sure he deserves at least 2 possibly even 3. The food is divine, the service is impeccable. I just only hope I can return for a third time at some point.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavi19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Petrus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing