We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So having waited six months to visit Petrus, was it worth the wait?” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petrus

Petrus
Ranked #105 of 22,202 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Belgravia
Description: Renowned throughout London and beyond, Petrus is one of the biggest names on the restaurant scene. With the world-renowned Gordon Ramsay behind the scheme to raise Petrus - now located on Knightsbridge's Kinnerton Street - from the ashes, the restaurant exudes the famous Ramsay sense of luxury combined with down-to-earth charm. Decorated in subtle tones of champagne, oyster and copper along with the claret red which inspired the restaurant's name, Petrus's beguiling interior is superbly decadent and romantic and actually quite intimate. In the kitchen, Head Chef Larry Jayasekara is creating its trademark modern French menu. At Petrus the highest-quality ingredients go into dishes that combine delicious familiar flavours with unique presentation. Expect waves of divine amuse-bouches and a stupendous wine list, including a long list of vintages of Petrus to make it all perfect.
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“So having waited six months to visit Petrus, was it worth the wait?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Having read all the reviews our expectations were exceptionally high. Nice welcome and we were taken to our table straight away. Food overall was of an excellent standard, however, both my starter and main course were warm but not hot. Flavours were excellent but portion sizes were disappointing, especially when we had ordered from the A la Carte menu. Bread was fantastic and my wife's favourite course was the famous chocolate sphere. All in all a lovely meal and would recommend for a high end meal whilst in London but I was expecting to be blown away and I wasn't, it was simply really good. Had to ask twice for our bill and when it came there was an error. That merited a visit to the kitchen and an opportunity to meet the head chef which was a nice experience. So to answer the question, was it worth the wait I guess it was but I wouldn't rush back. The following evening we ate at the Wolseley, different experience but I would rush back there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank REVIEWKINGGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,533
    434
    210
    63
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ruislip
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“be careful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

just be careful with the drinks. Tried in vain to order house champagne, got very persuaded to opt for "more creamy choice", which we did, and on attempting to reorder was told that it was the last bottle. Tried again to order the house champagne, which I had been drinking by the glass on arrival, but again the sommelier was kept trying to push us onto something else... "something more creamy sir, and which will go better with the food sir". I found this slightly disturbing, as we had not even ordered our food yet. found the sommelier very very pushy, but this time we stood our ground, and insisted on the house. After all, if they serve it as the house drink, then it should be good enough!!!. The sommelier returned with the same brand as the house, but with a different label. I insisted they serve us a bottle of the house.
On paying the bill, we discovered that the first bottle was priced at £259, and the house, at an amazing £159. Nothing special, just well well overpriced for a house champagne.
the service also was not what I have experienced in other Michelin star restaurants. had to continually raise our voices to be served, as the waiters seemed to be in a world of their own.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank christmas2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, great venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

This has to be one of the better Gordon Ramsay establishments. After eating at the narrow I didn't expect too much however I was pleasantly surprised. The lobster ravioli was just perfect to start followed by a perfectly cooked halibut! What an utter delight! Service was quick and efficient with smiles all around. I will return!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KateConsumes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“1 word: Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I cannot say enough good things about this restaurant. It deserves all the ratings that's given. We had lunch there and we order their Chef's Menu. Everything is excellent, from starter to their magical Chocolate Sphere dessert.

We took their advice and ordered Grouse as our main course, it was not in the menu. We were glad that we choose that. The grouse were skillfuly carved in front of us, and the meat are so rich yet tender. It is highly recommended.

All of their staff were very pleasant and courteus. We were not overly dress since we were travelling by train, but they treated us very nicely.
At the end of our 2,5 hours lunch we were offered a tour of their kitchen. Wonderful !! It definitely complete our experience with Petrus. And we will definitely going back if we are in London.

The price we paid is definitely worth every penny.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank blessu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing venue and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We visited this when in London last January and my wife treated me to the set lunch menu which was exceptional value. We spent nearly 3 hours in Petrus and had various extra little bits including an amouse bousce, pre dessert, pallet cleanser and macroons. We bought a bottle of fizz and the bill was not much more than £100.

Excellent service without being pretentious and had a tour of the kitchen afterwards.

Would definately recommend and well worth at least 1 michelin star.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petrus also viewed

 

Been to Petrus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing