We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!!!”
Review of Petrus

Petrus
Ranked #129 of 23,023 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Belgravia
Description: Renowned throughout London and beyond, Petrus is one of the biggest names on the restaurant scene. With the world-renowned Gordon Ramsay behind the scheme to raise Petrus - now located on Knightsbridge's Kinnerton Street - from the ashes, the restaurant exudes the famous Ramsay sense of luxury combined with down-to-earth charm. Decorated in subtle tones of champagne, oyster and copper along with the claret red which inspired the restaurant's name, Petrus's beguiling interior is superbly decadent and romantic and actually quite intimate. In the kitchen, Head Chef Larry Jayasekara is creating its trademark modern French menu. At Petrus the highest-quality ingredients go into dishes that combine delicious familiar flavours with unique presentation. Expect waves of divine amuse-bouches and a stupendous wine list, including a long list of vintages of Petrus to make it all perfect.
Torquay
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

What a restaurant!! Visited Petrus for my partners birthday in February 2013.Luckily the restaurant had a cancellation so was able to fit us in. We both went for the set menu which i think was priced at £65pp, this was meant to be for a 3 course menu but it actually turned out to be a 6/7 course with all the hidden extras they bring to your table. The food at this restaurant is incredible and the same with the staff. At the end of the meal they brought us 2 macaroons on a plaque saying happy birthday for my partner & then an extra 2 on another plaque saying congratulations as we had just got engaged! They were 1 of the tastiest thing's Ive ever eaten and it was a lovely gesture. This restaurant deserves to be number 1 in London on trip adviser. It is a little pricey by the time you've added wine etc but it is worth the money and I will definitely be returning. If i had 1 criticism it would be that they added a £20 service charge on to the bill without asking us! but they did deserve it and most top restaurants do this now! but this didn't put us off and we will be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,632
    459
    217
    67
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding perfection!”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

What a wonderful experience from beginning until we were the last to leave. The food was astonishingly good. We had the tasting menu with the recommended wines. The service was probably the best I have ever experienced: attentive but unobtrusive; thoughtful (our host had a clutch bag so they brought a little stool for it so she didn't have to put it on the floor).
Petrus really has got it spot on for a special occasion and I can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

During a week long stay in London, we dined at Petrus on our final night in the city. From the moment we walked in the staff was incredibly attentive, kind, and helpful w/menu selections. The food was simply delectable--the best dining experience we had in London. Highly recommend!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kalea_h22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good restaurant but lacks professional staff”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Nice selection of wines and flavors- tried the lobsters and they were amazing, fresh and cooked just perfectly. Soufflé with chocolate sorbet was a delight but yes I had dined in other much better place in London. So it is not the best one but okay. Prompt service, quality/price ration was bearable. Only minus, the waiter that brought the food poured a glass of water over me and left without apologising- lack of professional etiquettes. Anyways the food was okay.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“a "must go to" place”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our second time eating here and everything was just as excellent as the first.
Service, food, ambience all works so well together to create a wonderfully enjoyable experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dborch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petrus also viewed

 

Been to Petrus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing