We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the best in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Petrus

Petrus
Ranked #107 of 22,374 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Belgravia
Description: Renowned throughout London and beyond, Petrus is one of the biggest names on the restaurant scene. With the world-renowned Gordon Ramsay behind the scheme to raise Petrus - now located on Knightsbridge's Kinnerton Street - from the ashes, the restaurant exudes the famous Ramsay sense of luxury combined with down-to-earth charm. Decorated in subtle tones of champagne, oyster and copper along with the claret red which inspired the restaurant's name, Petrus's beguiling interior is superbly decadent and romantic and actually quite intimate. In the kitchen, Head Chef Larry Jayasekara is creating its trademark modern French menu. At Petrus the highest-quality ingredients go into dishes that combine delicious familiar flavours with unique presentation. Expect waves of divine amuse-bouches and a stupendous wine list, including a long list of vintages of Petrus to make it all perfect.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not the best in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Had chef's menu with my wife last week at Petrus. We have eaten in most of the Michelin-starred restaurants in London and have to say Petrus deserves it's one star rating, but no more, and therefore cannot be the 'best in London@. Chef's menu is a starter, fish, main and the two deserts!! Or you can opt for a cheese alternative (£6 extra!). Both of us had this option and both v. dissapointed. Can't see any reason to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,562
    441
    210
    64
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another coup!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is my second visit to this contemporary, understated but brilliant restaurant.
The staff are knowledgeable and well trained, the food equisite! I can't wait to go again!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veronica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and delicious food to boot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I’m really being spoilt but I must indulge while I’m all the way over here. Another fantastic dinner in a lovely polished setting with professional service to match the professional food served. I thoroughly enjoyed my dining experience with the highlight being the main course of roast duck. What a fantastic jus so full of flavour it absolutely transforms the meal and steals the show from the perfectly cooked and roasted succulent duck. Of course, there was consistency across all the dishes and the signature dessert of the chocolate sphere presented not only theatre, but such amazing chocolate decadence. If there is a meal to finish off the night, this was it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“London's Superior Michelin Star Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

A Superior Michelin Star restaurant with the finest of Wine's and foods is why this restaurant is a must to book for dinner. The service is done to perfection, and the menu a dream to eat, fresh lobster, ravioli to die for, and starters to wish you where here very day. I did not have to pay the bill, as we where here on business, so we could have anything we set our eyes on. There is only one word to sum up this restaurant................EXQUISITE !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Exemplary service and exquisite food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Book in advance! Tried booking 30 days out and found our options were limited to late evening (10:00 p.m.). We were greatly warmly by the reception clerk and immediately seated. The service was perfection: not too fussy, not too intrusive, but very attentive. While we had an assigned waiter, it was clear the whole staff saw us as their customers. Wearing jeans and a polo, one might think I would not get the same attention as the guys in the Armani suits sitting a few feet away. But nothing could be further from the truth. I was treated like the most important person in the restaurant... as was every one I could observe. The food to Devine. We both had the 5 course chef's selection. Started with complimentary bites and a soup. Then foie gras, sea scallops, pork fillet (my main) and duck (dining partners main), cheese, and chocolate sphere. The sea scallops were literally the best I've ever had... perfectly seared on the outside, moist and tender inside. The pork was fork tender. The chocolate sphere was unique, rich. Lots of extras. The price is high but I think well worth it: £218 for two chef's menu (£75 each), plus 2 glasses of wine and one cocktail, service included.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rmarsh673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petrus also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Petrus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing