We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best in London”
Review of Petrus

Petrus
Ranked #129 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Belgravia
Description: Renowned throughout London and beyond, Petrus is one of the biggest names on the restaurant scene. With the world-renowned Gordon Ramsay behind the scheme to raise Petrus - now located on Knightsbridge's Kinnerton Street - from the ashes, the restaurant exudes the famous Ramsay sense of luxury combined with down-to-earth charm. Decorated in subtle tones of champagne, oyster and copper along with the claret red which inspired the restaurant's name, Petrus's beguiling interior is superbly decadent and romantic and actually quite intimate. In the kitchen, Head Chef Larry Jayasekara is creating its trademark modern French menu. At Petrus the highest-quality ingredients go into dishes that combine delicious familiar flavours with unique presentation. Expect waves of divine amuse-bouches and a stupendous wine list, including a long list of vintages of Petrus to make it all perfect.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
596 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Simply the best in London”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

There has always been mixed reviews because the expectations are so high, that some peole simply have to look for an imperfection to criticise it. To me it is simply the top restaurant in London and the finest cuisine in a city packed with very good restaurants,

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,617
    456
    216
    67
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Petrus deserves to be #1!!!!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

You will not be disappointed with Petrus if you are looking for perfection in food and professional yet warm & friendly service. There was an evident commitment to detail in both presentation and flavour with every dish we tasted. A trip to the kitchen to meet the chef was an added bonus. The friendliness of the service staff was just as evident with the kitchen staff. We enjoyed a wonderful evening out at Petrus and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys delicious, delightful dining.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank foodieface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Doesn't deserve the no. 1 ranking”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I personally think that Petrus doesnt deserve the no. 1 ranking on TripAdvisor.
We went to Petrus on Thursday afternoon for lunch.
The food was average. Bread rolls are awful, it is hard than a stone.
The cheap table cloth was a disaster, I have asked to change the white napkin and requested a sticky lint roller to clear off the lint that stick on my suit.
It was my girlfriend's birthday, nothing special on the birthday treat.
It is not the best experience so far, I been to better Michelin Star restaurant. I would not recommend Petrus to others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darnac, france
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Petrus”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Amazing food, a real luxurious feast, first class, many wonderful tastes and the staff were just excellent.... The ambience of the restaurant was just complimentary to the food :) I took friends from Scotland to this restaurant, they were not disappointed in fact several have since made a return visit.....an absolute must if you are in London

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellingborough
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Balisimo...great place for a mealx”
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Have been their for a birthday party and found it to be a smashing place. The food is great ..service and ambience very pleased with the restaurant x

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jacsAngelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petrus also viewed

 

Been to Petrus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing