We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petrus

Petrus
Ranked #105 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Belgravia
Description: Renowned throughout London and beyond, Petrus is one of the biggest names on the restaurant scene. With the world-renowned Gordon Ramsay behind the scheme to raise Petrus - now located on Knightsbridge's Kinnerton Street - from the ashes, the restaurant exudes the famous Ramsay sense of luxury combined with down-to-earth charm. Decorated in subtle tones of champagne, oyster and copper along with the claret red which inspired the restaurant's name, Petrus's beguiling interior is superbly decadent and romantic and actually quite intimate. In the kitchen, Head Chef Larry Jayasekara is creating its trademark modern French menu. At Petrus the highest-quality ingredients go into dishes that combine delicious familiar flavours with unique presentation. Expect waves of divine amuse-bouches and a stupendous wine list, including a long list of vintages of Petrus to make it all perfect.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Seriously, I can't find any flaws to complain about!

Dining at Petrus is an experience not to miss. The food is delicious, and without a doubt I would eat anything that comes out of that kitchen. Service is genuinely the best I've ever experienced; every staff member seems to genuinely enjoy his/her job and wants to please you. The atmosphere is beautiful and intimate. Even though this isn't an inexpensive restaurant, I do think it is a wonderful value for the quality of food and service you receive. For 2 adults, it was almost $400 including additional tip (12.5% was included but we left more in cash), and we did not order any alcohol.

Tip: book in advance if you're particular about what time you dine. We booked a week in advance for a Saturday night, and the only reservation left was at 22:00. Not a problem for us, but I can imagine not everyone wants such a late dinner.

Petrus has exceeded all of my expectations, and I think I'll be returning on a weekly basis because I doubt any other restaurant will be able to live up to Petrus!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,537
    436
    210
    63
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“food was great, service was sloppy at times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

recently visited this restaurant with my wife and my sister-in-law based on its number one rating on tripadvisor. late dinner at 2145 finishing at 0020. had to book this almost 1 month in advance using their online booking system.

we had the chef's menu (5 course taster).

pros:
great food, good atmosphere, up to standard for a 1 star, overall professional service

cons:
service: for a 1 star, i felt the service was a little sloppy. water splashing around when being poured
delay in getting our wine: had to wait 30 minutes, needed to prompt a few times.
*to their defense i must add, the head waiter (?) was very welcoming, even went out to get our taxi at 0015. our allocated waiter was friendly, professional and charming.

highlights:
lobster tortellini (main), caster-beef (main), chocolate sphere (dessert)

cost:
about £100 per person (including 1 bottle of bordeaux [which was very nice, AND cheap considering] including service.

would i go again - yes
would i recommend - yes

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shamrock1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
djmarty2002
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A truly remarkable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Wow! Simply wow! Petrus came highly recommended and they lived up to it all. My wife and I recently celebrated the end of a long vacation with a meal here before we returned to the States. We opted for the A La Carte menu. She had the scallops, roasted pig belly and pistachio souffle and I chose the foie gras, Fillet of Beef and Chocolate sphere. Simply exquisite. The restaurant also sends over a small bite in the beginning along with an amuse bouche. Right before desert they sent a couple sweet mini bites over which were also delicious. While the portions don't look too big, by the end of the meal you are stuffed and contentedly so before the after dinner chocolates arrive. Sean Burbidge has created magic in Petrus' third location in Belgravia and we long to return.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank djmarty2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Oh wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We ate here our first night in London, it was the only time we could get a reservation. So we drug our jet lagged selves to the restaurant for our 9 pm reservation. It was worth it! The food was impeccable and the service matched the food. It is worth the extravagance and the cost

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank QuitosCGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Went for the 3 course a la carte menu and it was fantastic. Highlights were the fillet of beef, scallops and the desserts (baked Alaska and their famous chocolate sphere). Service was exceptional and made to feel very welcome. Lots of nice touches such as the amuse bouches and also the impromptu kitchen tour. Deserving of its no. 1 status in London.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Petrus also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Petrus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing