We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location - good value for the money”
Review of 4 Star Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
4 Star Hostel
Ranked #589 of 923 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We chose this hostel due to the central location and enjoyed being within walking distance of everything. Booking and check in worked well, staff were friendly and helpfull. For sure, the number of beds in each dormitory was too large, but since only every second or third bed was occupied it didn't really matter. Bathrooms were clean.
The kitchen, however, was not functioning - our rating would have approached excellent if the refrigerator had been on and a kettle had been available for making a quick cup of coffee.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lone221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Hi Lone,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly, London.
Please note that no website advertise that we provide kitchen facilities.

Hope to see you again soon at 4 Star hostel. :)

Greetings from London.

James
Guest Relation Manager
4 Star Hostel Piccadilly, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 88 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good thing was that it wasn’t crowded but that has a most unusual reception i.e. Russian night bar I can’t denied …and that you feel little bit strange when you checking in, or when you are leaving and you’re not able to return key of elevator because doors of bar are closed ….

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
4  Thank kristina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Kristina,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly London.
It is a disappointment to hear we weren’t able to meet your expectations.
We have one main reception for the whole building on the lower level that serves, are Russian Restaurant and our nightclub in the basement.
Our reception opening and closing times are stated on check in and it is always explained that if checking out before this time that you can return all keys the night before and collect anything we are looking after for you.

Greetings from London.

The Team
Guest Relation Manager
4 Star Hostel Piccadilly, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hostel is awful. Checking in was a strange experience that took place in a creepy nightclub located on the bottom floor of the hostel. The staff did not honor the booking price. They insisted it was a mistake and made me and my friend pay £10 more, each, per night. Luckily, we were only staying one night. There are no lockers or storage areas. We left our luggage, after securely locking it with our own sturdy locks (thank goodness we had them!), at the desk in the night club while we left for the day, doing our damnedest to stay out for as a long as possible before heading back to our terrible hostel. The bathrooms (3 total!) were dirty and smelled of mildew. The bathrooms in the pictures online are inaccurate and misleading. They most definitely do not look like that anymore. The rooms were stuffed with bunk-beds. There were far too many beds in each room to comfortably hang out and/or sleep. My assigned bed hadn't even been cleaned and made by the time we arrived.

I could go on and on about how [--] this place is, but I'll leave it at this:
The place is dodgy and feels unsafe.
The staff are awkward and not that helpful.
The price you've been given by a booking site will not be honored.
The nice, central location of this hostel DOES NOT make up for the lack of security, room, and cleanliness.

DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Oryx831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Hi Oryx,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly London.
It is a disappointment to hear we weren’t able to meet your expectations.
We have one main reception for the whole building on the lower level of the building. The nightclub is in the basement which is below the reception area. We did have a issue regarding the prices for when you stayed had been entered wrongly and we did apologize to all guests arriving and was giving people the choice of staying and paying the different or cancelling the booking and finding accommodation in another hostel. There are plenty of storage areas near the main reception which we use for guests luggage on check in, check out and while staying with us. Our bathrooms are maintained daily and we can not account for how they become through the day or until the cleaner, cleans them again. We are a hostel that is very popular with people staying for short stays and overnight stays before traveling on or catching a flight. We have a hung out area in the main reception space which is also apart of the restaurant where guests regular can chill out. We hope that we have answered to your review and that it is more clear as to what our Central London hostel is all about.

Greetings from London.

The Team.
4 Star Hostel Piccadilly, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The only thing good about this hostel is the location. The staff were rude and unhelpful and the whole place felt really dodgy. The description states its an all female hostel but there were alot of dodgy looking men around who looked as though they were staying there. I didn't get as far as the room as the price was changed when I arrived. Despite arguing my point with the staff that they cannot change the price of the booking on the day without giving me notice, they still refused to lower the price leaving me stranded in london at night and all they could say was it's not their problem! This is the worst hostel I have ever seen, and as angry as I was, i'm now glad I didn't stay there because although the central london location was good, I would not have felt safe in this building.
Note to the staff, a bit of manners wouldn't go amiss.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank BeaJane89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Jane,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly London.
It is a disappointment to hear we weren’t able to meet your expectations.
We apologize for what happened when you where here.
Please note that before we were a female only hostel, but since few months we added a 26 bed mixed dorm in a different floor.
So, the 5th floor, where all the female book is still female only, while the 4th floor is mixed.

Greetings from London.

James
Guest Relation Manager
4 Star Hostel Piccadilly, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived at the address and at the building there was no signs for the hostel so we guessed our way through the building and found a restaurant with a desk for the hostel.
when we arrived at the "reception" the lady behind the desk told us to sit down at one of the tables in the restaurant and she'll get to us in a moment.
As we was waiting we saw many people arrive to the check in desk and lady was helping them out.
After half an hour of waiting we went back to the lady at the desk and she then began to check us in, then another customer came to the desk and then lady told us to wait again!
Eventually when then lady came to check us in she told us that when we booked our beds on the internet, the internet "made a mistake" and now we have to pay £70 for two beds instead of £46!
This is out of order! £70 for 2 beds in a 6-8 bed room is crazy! They didn't even email or ring me to let me know!
We then had to cancel our room! we now know not to book with them again!
This hostel may have been in a great location and be very nice n clean but beware they may add more to the price when you arrive!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Kerrie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Hi,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly London.
It is a disappointment to hear we weren’t able to meet your expectations.
We apologize for the inconveniences caused.

Greetings from London.

James
Guest Relation Manager
4 Star Hostel Piccadilly, London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gemma W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#47 of 923 in London
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4 Star Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4 Star Hostel

Address: 91 Jermyn Street, London SW1Y 6JB, England (Formerly Piccadilly Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #589 of 923 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $33 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 4 Star Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A London Hostel Providing Cheap Hostel Accommodation in Central LondonThe Hostel 4 Star @ The Piccadilly Guest House is a new, modern, penthouse-style ladies only hostel providing comfortable, cheap hostel beds in Central London.We offer a low cost, safe and convenient hostel accommodation for ladies to stay when visiting London England.Based on the top floor of a modern block on historic Jermyn Street, it is moments from top London attractions, including the West End Theatreland, Piccadilly Circus, Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, and Oxford Street.Easily accessible via Piccadilly Circus, Green Park and Leicester Square underground tube stations, and just 15 minutes from Waterloo, Piccadilly Guest House should be your choice when planning a trip to London. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Guest House Hotel London
4 Star Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing