We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only women - missing toilets”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 4 Star Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
4 Star Hostel
Ranked #562 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only women - missing toilets”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

I was in this hostel and even if the location is perfect (close to everything), I feel it was overcrowed, there was no almost space in the room, which was full of beds leaving narrow corridors to get your place, but this wasn't a problem at all, in my opinion the worse part is the toilet, just one by floor, which means, huge queues or going during the night, in order to avoid the queu.

There were no place to leave the lugagge and people used the kitchen to leave it.

If you visit London with just girls, and you are looking for a good location I will recommend you this place but remember no to drink too much and get ready without going to the toilet.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Marian T.,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly London.
Please note that we have actually 3 toilets on the 2 floors and that there is a luggage store at the reception where guests can leave their luggages.

Hope to see you again soon at 4 Star hostel. :)

Greetings from London.

James
Guest Relation Manager
4 Star Hostel at Piccadilly London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    24
    19
    18
See reviews for
7
4
40
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

The beds were clean and very comfortable. The staff was VERY helpful and had many suggestions for places to go and were very knowledgeable in the transit system. The kitchen was not for use and we were told it would not ever be, due to concern with fire hazard. This made it a bit difficult to keep meals inexpensive as we had no way to even refrigerate food or have use of a microwave. There was also no commons room to use in case you wanted to play cards or just hang out outside of the bedroom. This made is difficult if you didn't want to disturb the others sleeping in your room. Overall, I would recommend this place for a stay, if you have lots of plans on being out of the hostel and in the city.

Room Tip: All of the rooms we saw seemed in good condition, and of course you will have a good nights rest so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Hi dear Emily B.,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly London.

Hope to see you again soon at 4 Star hostel. :)

Greetings from London.

James
Guest Relation Manager
4 Star Hostel at Piccadilly London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2011

The concept of an "all women's" hostel is fabulous. The fact that security is lacking, is something that kept myself and women in my room on edge. Some came for one night, others stayed longer. From "austerity measures" by the owner, lights without bulbs, to smoking indoors, to fire escapes that are inadequate, this place is not safe for women. My bed creaked, the mattresses were not covered properly and there is a question about bed bugs in some beds. The location is fabulous, however the risks far outweigh the benefits of this hostel. No kitchen or even a fridge to store things and it is one of the most expensive places in London to stay for hostels.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank photojenik2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Photojenik,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly London.
It is a disappointment to hear we weren’t able to meet your expectations back in November 2011.
Our guests are not allowed to smoke inside the hostel, but they can smoke on the balcony when they close the door.
I can guarantee that our fire escapes are safe, that our hostel is perfectly safe for women and that all bed are cleaned and sterilized eveytime a guest check-out.

Hope to see you again soon at 4 Star hostel.

Greetings from London.

James
Guest Relation Manager
4 Star Hostel Piccadilly, London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

The location is great. The bathrooms are clean and the sheets are clean. Plus there's a lovely view from the balconies and it's located in a pretty safe area.

The room I was in had two dim lights. A lady bunking beneath me and complained. A gentleman from the restaurant downstairs came up and replaced a dull bulb and added a third. The bathroom needed lights as well and the shower door was broken but there was a curtain. The bunk beds are a bit rickety and loud. One of the bunk beds had an unusable ladder (screws were out) but the tools weren't available to fix it. I wasn't staying in the bed so I didn't care. Also, remember to bring your own towel and toiletries. Towels may be rented but I think they were £3? I brought my own stuff but another girl didn't and had to cough up. There's a small market down the street before Piccadilly if you need to grab toiletries, water, or snacks.

The bad? There is no security. No locks or anything, not even on the main door. At night from 10pm-3am is a nice doorman but he doesn't check ID, nor is he overly discerning. Great to talk to but not that vigilante. From 3am to 8am the doors are locked. The problem is if you come in late or go out early morning and forget something there is no way to get back in. Other than that, doors are wide open (literally). There's no code on the elevator or keys to the dorms. The night club was closed for renovations when I stayed but I'm not sure how comfortable I'd feel there when it's in full swing. Plus, in the day, anyone can come up to the rooms and steal stuff. I didn't do any shopping or keep any valuables there but I might feel differently if I had. There was even a poster warning us if we saw a particular girl to tell the staff because "she's trouble"!

Honestly all this hostel needs to do is add a lock and give guests keys to the dorms and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again. Everything else I could live with.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Masihkap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Masihkap,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly London.
It is a disappointment to hear we weren’t able to meet your expectations back in November 2011.
Our guest can leave their suitcases in the room or leave their valuables at the reception, where there is a luggage store, free-of-charge.
I can guarantee our security guard is checking the identity of all the people who are trying to get upstairs in the hostel.
Since 2012 we have a new key system for the Hostel.

Hope to see you again soon at 4 Star hostel.

Greetings from London.

James
Guest Relation Manager
4 Star Hostel at Piccadilly London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

The high standard of cleanliness that this hostel boasts of has dropped significantly in the last 5 months since i've been here. Perhaps because of its popularity, the hostel has become complacent in conducting even basic cleaning in their bathrooms. There is mould in the shower, absence of soap and hand cream (when these were provided during previous visits), a broken shower door, and missing lights in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Avoid this unless you have no other options
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoveGelati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear LoveGelati,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly London.
It is a disappointment to hear we weren’t able to meet your expectations back in October 2011.
I can confirm that our cleaners clean all the rooms and bathrooms everyday.
We apologize if there was a broken shower door and missing lights in the bathroom when you stayed here, they have been fixed long time ago now.

Hope to see you again soon at 4 Star hostel Piccadilly, London.

Greetings from London.

James
Guest Relation Manager
4 Star Hostel at Piccadilly London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binky_610
Level Contributor
75 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is the worst hostel or guest house I have ever experienced in my 30 years of traveling. Mildew, mold and now they are taking the door off of the refrigerator and throwing the food away without notice. One out of 3 of the bathrooms for 60 women is broken. No mutual living space, no kitchen or anywhere to eat. \and now the owner is fighting verbally with one of the young women. He is extremely rude and disrespectful and scary. He has asked her to leave and has given her money to do so. He now says that he is taking the fridge apart and that the website never said that those facilities are available. Do not trust this place. \bad vibe.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Binky_610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Binky,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly London.
It is a disappointment to hear we weren’t able to meet your expectations back in October 2011.
We apologize if one of the 3 bathrooms did not work when you stayed here.
Our guest can use the Kitchen area if they need a place to eat.
On all the websites it is advertise that we do not provide coocking facilities or fridge.

Hope to see you again soon at 4 Star hostel Piccadilly, London.

Greetings from London.

James
Guest Relation Manager
4 Star Hostel at Piccadilly London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2011

I stayed there for a week. The location is excellent - close to tube, metro, convenience store and cafes etc. I wouldn't give 4 star though. Although fridge, microwave, and sink is there, no working stove us provided.

Bed rooms have various numbers of beds. These beds are pretty tightly packed - I can't imagine staying here when it's > 80% occupied - that would be way too many ppl competing for the spaces and shower spot. And as always, there are some pretty inconsiderate ppl. So it's definitely not a leisurely place to hang out. But if you just want a place to crash at the end if the day, maybe this is for you.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mypillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hostel4star, Guest Relations Manager at 4 Star Hostel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Hi dear MyPilllow,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to let us know your feedback after staying at 4 Star hostel at Piccadilly London.

Please note that 4 star is the name of our hostel and not our rating.

Hope to see you again soon at 4 Star hostel. :)

Greetings from London.

James
Guest Relation Manager
4 Star Hostel at Piccadilly London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#108 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,816 reviews
Mayfair
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Le Meridien Piccadilly
#526 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,337 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#89 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
St. James's Hotel and Club
St. James's Hotel and Club
#87 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#180 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#128 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 4 Star Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 4 Star Hostel

Property: 4 Star Hostel
Address: 91 Jermyn Street, London SW1Y 6JB, England (Formerly Piccadilly Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #562 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 4 Star Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A London Hostel Providing Cheap Hostel Accommodation in Central LondonThe Hostel 4 Star @ The Piccadilly Guest House is a new, modern, penthouse-style ladies only hostel providing comfortable, cheap hostel beds in Central London.We offer a low cost, safe and convenient hostel accommodation for ladies to stay when visiting London England.Based on the top floor of a modern block on historic Jermyn Street, it is moments from top London attractions, including the West End Theatreland, Piccadilly Circus, Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, and Oxford Street.Easily accessible via Piccadilly Circus, Green Park and Leicester Square underground tube stations, and just 15 minutes from Waterloo, Piccadilly Guest House should be your choice when planning a trip to London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your 4 Star Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccadilly Guest House Hotel London
4 Star Hostel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing