We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“so expensive, bad experience and over rated” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of 2 Amici

2 Amici
Ranked #1,922 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $31
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Westminster
Description: Leading the way in the regeneration of Pimlico���s dining scene, 2 Amici is a modern Italian conveniently located a short meander from London���s Victoria Station. You won���t walk straight past this restaurant, thanks to the huge neon-lit sign marking its position but venture inside and you���ll find something much less overblown. In fact, the dining room is charmingly neutral, modern but unpretentious, lit with a warm yellow glow and with a cosy and friendly feel helped along by pleasantly professional staff ��� a very welcome change from Victoria���s many impersonal chains. The menu here at 2 Amici is typically Italian, many dishes given modern twists while others maintain their traditional roots, meaning that every taste really is catered for. The freshly prepared food is consistently marked out as the best in the area by local diners and the wine list is reliably varied, featuring a number of quality all rounders. Little touches such as the glass of Limoncello with your bill give 2 Amici the personality that turns it from a give-it-a-try one off to a regular haunt.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“so expensive, bad experience and over rated”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

very pricey and not even nice .

went on last Sat , was one of the worst experiences . when you get in it looks like a nice Italian family restaurant, dont try the food , the seafood risotto was lumpy (£15) , pasta was dry (£13) , broscetta was less than the price of two bread little portions for ( £7 ) , parmigiana was the only nice plate i had there (£9) , for a mini portion we had to order 2 portions. the chicken was so dry and tough when we didnt eat it the the waiter looked and smiled and "you didnt eat it " ... he didnt even bother to say sorry and ask what was the problem or even offer to replace it.

been to many italian rest but it was the worst experience with food.

oh wait the main took 40 min to be served !!!!!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sbrAIdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mario B, Owner at 2 Amici, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
I would just like to flag up a few details this diner has seemed to have forgotten to mention.

First of all, there were two other people dining with this customer, so altogether three people, who shared two starters (one of which they asked to remove the main ingredient).
After having finished and enjoyed these starters, they asked for a third starter, which therefore meant the main dishes went on hold.

As for these main dishes, this particular diner invented her own dish- asking us to mix tomato sauce, with pesto sauce and Gorgonzola cheese with chicken. As the customer is always right, we met her demands, even though these ingredients do not go well together. Not surprisingly, she could not finish it.

And finally, as a result of her bringing a discount card, they were given a LARGE discount, that she also failed to include in her review.

As the owner of this restaurant, I would like to ban this diner from ever returning to my place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    56
    24
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

As ever a lovely dining experience in here. Food is always delicious and this time was no exception. Staff are attentive without being 'in your face'. My only downside was when diners from the restaurant popped out to smoke, their cigarette smoke wafted back in and over us inside the restaurant as it was a bit too warm to have the front door closed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las vegas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet Oasis of Italian Dining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We came across 2 Amici while trying to find our way to Lambeth Bridge and are delighted we stopped in for dinner. The food was delicious and the service excellent. Vitor and Monica were very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overprized and poor quality food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

We came in around 10 p.m and there were not many customers in the restaurant. The place seemed nice but as we saw the prices we thought that this must be a high-quality place. We ordered two bacon pastas and red wine. There were little bones in the portions! And tomato sauce didn't taste nothing and anyone could have maken better pasta than that. And the total prize of that was 45£! We felt fooled.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank annepalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced & Rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

Whilst the food was reasonable in quality it was far outweighed by the expense and rudeness we received from the staff. Firstly, we had the old "rip off" order. This entails an explanation of a number of dishes and if you don’t immediately select one you are offered a mix which is when all of them come out! 3 small plates of broccoli some leaves and chips at 3.80 apiece. All you would want is 1. and then there was the 20% surcharge which was kept secret till the very last minutes (when the bill arrives) and when you refuse to pay it in its entirety you get a verbal assault thrown at you leaving you with a feeling of a criminal. Would definitely be one to avoid. Such a shame as I usually try to support the independent restaurants, it seems like the governance offered by a corporate structure is need in a place like London.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew_Ineta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 Amici also viewed

 

Been to 2 Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing