We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent deal on Tastecard”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 2 Amici

2 Amici
Ranked #1,999 of 22,375 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Westminster
Description: Leading the way in the regeneration of Pimlico���s dining scene, 2 Amici is a modern Italian conveniently located a short meander from London���s Victoria Station. You won���t walk straight past this restaurant, thanks to the huge neon-lit sign marking its position but venture inside and you���ll find something much less overblown. In fact, the dining room is charmingly neutral, modern but unpretentious, lit with a warm yellow glow and with a cosy and friendly feel helped along by pleasantly professional staff ��� a very welcome change from Victoria���s many impersonal chains. The menu here at 2 Amici is typically Italian, many dishes given modern twists while others maintain their traditional roots, meaning that every taste really is catered for. The freshly prepared food is consistently marked out as the best in the area by local diners and the wine list is reliably varied, featuring a number of quality all rounders. Little touches such as the glass of Limoncello with your bill give 2 Amici the personality that turns it from a give-it-a-try one off to a regular haunt.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
648 reviews
591 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Decent deal on Tastecard”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Having been to another better Italian with a much lower rating on TA I personally think this is ranked way too high. Would certainly not pay the full price here as way overpriced given you have 16000 restaurants on TA in London to choose from. Food was nice but not outstanding and initially friendly service cooled once asking a few fairly standard questions about the menu. If passing or in that area give it a go but don't go out of your way

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beverleydave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    56
    24
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
127 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“London-diluted Italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I would have thought that a back=streetdiner, away from the btight lights of Victoria would have tried harder to draw in a crowd - after all, passing trade is not great here.

Four of us dined together and had mixed feelings. The house wine was poor yet the listed red was fine. My saltimboca was flat yet a colleagues spagetti was tasty. They do the usual ordering rip off on the vegetables when you ask for mixed (as against mixed together) as they bring a plate of carrot and another of green. Yes potatoes also were extra sides running yet another £3.95/portion to the bill.

Food was ok but nothing else to shout about. Although the place was full mid-week I might have expected more.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ossimandus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Food was ok but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

The temperature in the restaraunt was as cold as the Rudeness shown towards my Kenyan colleague as we dined here. When she asked for sweet wine and what the specials were it was me who was addressed with the answers. No eye contact or communication towards her was afforded by the portly elderly Italian. Her seafood special was very agreeable and my pepper steak cooked as I liked it but the service left us both with a bad taste.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GRT7V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We ate at 2 amici for a pre-theatre dinner with 20% discount through toptable. Starters garlic prawns and a bruschetta and we both had sea bass for our mains. The food was fabulous although the sides for 2 on the veg were very small we thoroughly enjoyed it. Not sure if we would go again as it was £33 each for 2 courses and 4 soda waters (no alcohol) and would work out too pricey without the discount. Overall staff were really nice and the food was excellent. A bit out of the way from the Victoria palace theatre but still really enjoyed!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We ate here new years eve with our friends having pre booked our table as we thought it would be busy in london. So pleased we did! The food was lovely and the New years eve menu was perfect. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 Amici also viewed

 

Been to 2 Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing