We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not great.”
Review of Lpdj

Lpdj
Ranked #15,903 of 22,659 Restaurants in London
Price range: $1 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice but not great.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our third visit to this restaurant. It started nicely on the first visit but has dropped off in standards.

All of us know that fresh seafood is vital or the consequences can be dire.

We had the fresh lobster (Canadian Lobster) prawns and scampi. Unfortunately, my wife was not well a couple of hours later.

It has been a fantastic restaurant but feel that with diminishing numbers attending (there were 6 people in a restaurant that would hold over 100 people) they are not able to provide the top quality seafood necessary.

Worth a look definitely but don't be afraid to ask questions about your meal and speak up if it tastes less than you expect.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesandPaulaOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    46
    21
    16
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Stylish and reasonable.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely crab and avo salad. Calamari and prawns perfectly prepared and presented. Service friendly and prompt. Will certainly go again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohanS850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was once a lovely restaurant in Covent Garden. However a recent visit has changed my mind. Service was very slow, we had to ask 4 times before our order was taken. And after finally getting our order in, we were told about 10 minutes later that the food we ordered had run out. We were told no more seafood at all and that we could only order from the meat section. So then ordered steak only to be only they only had sirloin and fillet left. Our drinks took ages and we had to remind them to bring it. We had to ask for bread. Whilst eating our starter and not quite finished yet were told our steak had arrived and so our starter plates were whisked away whilst mid-mouthful. Steak was overcooked and was not good quality steak. We ordered some side veggies only to be told they had no more spinach, finally got offered a plate of mixed veggies. The dish had 3 small broccoli florets, bits of courgettes and a couple of French beans, we couldn't have shared this dish at all. We weren't charged this dish of veggies as I'm sure by this time even the waiter was embarrassed. Finally to top it all off we were each charged £1 as cover charge. Would not recommend anyone to go. You're better off going to Burger King in Westfield.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smm2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
655 reviews
626 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 442 helpful votes
“Stylish, elegant restaurant. Excellent French-style food. Impeccable service.”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have been many times to LPDJ (Le Palais du Jardin) for lunches - the stylish decor, the elegant table settings with crisp white linen tablecloths and serviettes, sparkling glassware and cutlery, the quality of food and the value for money all keep us coming back and makes a fitting lunch when shopping at the adjacent Westfield Shopping Centre.

LPDJ is an unexpected up-market find and makes a welcome change from the fast food outlets within the shopping centre and the mixture of chain restaurants outside. The style is very French with the emphasis on seafood. In particular they offer some very affordable lunch-time specials - amongst which is a 2 course set menu for £14.95. We once went with friends who chose the Plateau de Fruits de Mer (£26.50) - a towering pyramid of lobster, crab, tiger prawns, oysters, langoustines, clams, mussels, cockles, razor clams, scallops and squid and they were very much impressed with the presentation, quality and value for money!

This time we chose for starters Coquilles St Jacques £6.50 and 6 Oysters £6.75 followed by main course dishes of Whole Lobster served with fries £19.95 and Cod £16.50. Everything was perfect.

We finished with selection of cheeses (£5.50).

The style is elegant, the food excellent and the service highly professional and impeccable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mw741002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you like to dine perfect food go there”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I spent with my wife two evenings during my stay in this restaurant. Many people eat lobsters and seafood and they are at reasonable rate. But other dishes are worth to eat too (at my opinion even better than just a lobster). Or come few time- it is worth. Service is also good. It is reastaurant not for rush and hurry up dinner - this is for delicious dinner lovers. It is true can be a calcium stain on a glass. But when we were sitting (near bar) my wife (super cleaness lover :) ) glanced at a barman when he were washing the glasses and he started to wash then harder :). May not everyone can adapt waiting for few minutes at the bar before they invite you to the table (some kind of more formal ambient) but I think it wrth waiting. Number of good fresh juices will refresh you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank isenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lpdj also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Lpdj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing