We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch, average service.”
Review of Lpdj

Lpdj
Ranked #15,945 of 23,041 Restaurants in London
Price range: $1 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great Lunch, average service.”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Looking for a spot for lunch with family and found this gem outside Westfield. We had beef Carpaccio, Lobster, Scallops and each dish was amazing. Great portion size, beautifully cooked, well presented. Service was average as the restaurant was empty but we were still seated in a corridor and asked to move our chairs...not sure who was walking by. We were left alone most of the time, so not sure how well they would cope if they had more than the 2 tables occupied when we visited. I am giving them the benefit of the doubt based on the amazing food. The food was also exceptionally well priced. My full lobster was £16.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuttsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    46
    21
    16
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food, but you have to wait”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Went there last year. Good food, we went for the lobster platter. Service was great...when the lobster platter came out we both stared at wondering where to start, the staff showed us how to dig in to it. Price not bad either. Only thing I'll say is that we had to wait a while for our food. Atmosphere was ok...I like more of a lively experience and it was very quiet in there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Only average attempt at a French restaurant.”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

There is something a little soul-less about this restaurant. The décor is quite nice, but nothing special, the service was ok, but not great, the food was mediocre, certainly nothing to rave about, and the price, well, also, pretty average.

What is good about this restaurant, is that it departs from the norm of chain restaurants at Westfield. This could make it stand out and capitalise on its difference and attract a more upmarket clientèle at Westfield but it just doesn't seem to manage that either.

Very average.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Nice resturant offering good French food with some good special offers. Good value for money, nice atmosphere, although there good be a better choice of value wine. Espicially nice for groups.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disgusting And A Disgrace With A Capital "D"”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I couldn't wait to get back home and write this review. If there was ever a restaurant that needed to call it a day it's this ... .

My husband, a friend of ours, and I had all met up at Westfield and decided to try this place out as the menu looked decent enough.

We were greeted by a manager who -although was smiling- looked like he was about to throw in the towl and leave. Our waitor then came around with bread and butter and informed us that "a few items" including the "Soup Of The Day" and the "French Soup" were sold out including the venison, the crab salad and God knows what else!

Still, We decided to order two stoganoffs and one cod with lobster sauce. The food arrived after quite a wait ... And boy did I later wish that it hadn't. The stroganoffs were swimming in a brown/dishwater thing of a sauce while the cod looked an unappetising, stale piece of fish which should have been binned months ago. Then came the tasting ... The meat of the stroganoff was chewy, bland and simply awful! It's sauce was even worse! My husband and friend couldn't even pick at it with the morsel of greesy rice that was offered on the side. The cod was every bit of the lump of tasteless, bland and dated fish that it looked. We just couldn't eat anything! Nothing was edible except for the bread and butter and the side salad we had ordered. Even the side vegetables were swimming in butter and were quite unappetising ... WTH!

Our waiter did come to ask us how we were enjoying our food ... He was quite poker-faced when we began to tell him how awful our whole experience was turning out to be and simply said "well, this is how we serve our food" .... SERIOUSLY?!!!! Thank you so much for clarifying! Had you not explained we would never have guessed!

The manager -however- was another thing altogether! He totally ignored the fact that he had 3 unsatisfied customers and did not deign to even approach our table and hear what we had to say for himself.

We ended up paying GBP67 for NOTHING! In hindsight ... I wish to God I had thrown that very same amount down the drain.

DO NOT GO THERE PEOPLE!

P.S. There were only three other tables with people having dinner and two couples at the bar in a quite spacious, empty restaurant. Yes, the place was totally empty.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZEeZEe-OCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lpdj also viewed

 
Westfield, East Sussex
 

Been to Lpdj? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing