We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Haven Bistro

Haven Bistro
Ranked #3,063 of 22,375 Restaurants in London
Price range: $13 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Fine or casual dining
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Noisy and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Went out for a birthday celebration with a party of 16 last night. First visit to the Haven and was suitably impressed. The place is vast and packed which meant the ambient noise was loud and made it difficult for conversation. The staff were good if a little over stretched. The menu is varied and plenty of choice for meat, fish and veg. The food was good my sardines were followed by a delicious succulent steak and selection of sorbets for pudding.
Prices seemed reasonable and as previously mentioned the only negative in my opinion is lack of atmosphere due to its size, others may like that.
Well worth a visit if you are nearby.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jhelfgott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    68
    16
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“First time visitors to The Haven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to have lunch today and whilst in Purple Lizzie opposite the owner suggested The Haven, saying she ate there often.
As we walked in we were aware of a young child running around upstairs on the upper deck, unaware at the time this area had been set up as a Studio for a photographer to photograph small children who were there at the time.
We chose to eat in the restaurant which was a pleasant surprise, large open space with tables laid out with lovely white cloths etc. In the centre of the room two large silk orchid displays served as good decoration/focal points which broke up such a large area.
The specials board had two Starters, one of which was Oysters and two Main Courses.
The main menu had a very good choice of fish, meat and pasta dishes, so wonder why anyone would have a problem finding something which they would enjoy! The Spinach tart for starter was delicious and the Linguini for a main was quite tangy but also very good. My husband had Sardines to start (very smelly) and also the Linguini for his main course.
The Service was quick, however there were only six tables with diners at the time, including a large round table with approximately ten people celebrating a Birthday.
I can imagine this establishment having a better atmosphere in the evening with more people.
One observation I would comment on however, the Owner who I now recognise from their web site did not acknowledge any of the diners whilst they were seated. He wandered through to the Kitchen on several occasions whilst we were there without making eye contact! A small detail but given the few diners in at the time, this would have taken little effort but would have added to our visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
562 reviews
356 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Good local restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

A group of 10 went Saturday night to celebrate a birthday and were given a large round table in the main restaurant. There were several large parties being held elsewhere in the restaurant but the staff coped really well. I thought the main Turkey dinner disappointing and rather dry. My salmon cake starter was swimming in sauce which I did not like and finally I just moved it to a small plate. Plenty of bread and butter on the table at the beginning but no offers to replace it when empty. Overall it was a good evening and the food was enjoyable for the majority. Would probably return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brian_uk12000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“not the haven it used to be!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

A useful neighbourhood restaurant with some mid-european pretensions. On occasional visits over a number of years with a party of old friends, it was a useful venue for mid-price range sunday luncheon. On my last visit culinary standards seem to have slipped somewhat although the prices were quite reasonable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HSL_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Boring”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

Went to the haven this evening after approx 3 yrs , The menu hasn't changed at all in all this time and many years previously it would seem ! Then we remembered why we haven't returned ! It's boring the food is obviously pre cooked or in the case of starters / plated and ready to go straight from the fridge ! The main meals came up very quickly also ! I would say the Haven is well past it's sell by date and had its day ! So many better restaurants out there ! The staff were pleasant though ,

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saffiUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haven Bistro also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Haven Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing