We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So hip, and it doesn't hurt at all!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of W London Leicester Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
W London Leicester Square
Ranked #382 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“So hip, and it doesn't hurt at all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Took 6 yr old daughter on first trip to London during half term this week - thought we'd do it in style so she gets an inkling on why I'm always going on about the need to work hard so you can afford nice things - and booked the W.
From moment our taxi drew up we were impressed - this is a proper 5 star and deserves its rating!
YES, uber chic and dark moody lighting; great rooms with quirky 'hidden' shower and loo; but not standoffish cool from staff - they were positively warm and friendly and couldn't do enough for us! Everyone lovely, but of particular note were Chris and Adam on the door - thank you boys.
Location was great for us - steps away from Chinatown (useful for Wonkey Wong Kei's!) moments from Piccadilly Circus and a short walk from Hamley's (very welcome when you're carrying that much swag!)
[Issues raised by previous Reviewers like traffic noise and nightclub noise were not noticed by us - and we were only on 4th floor]

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadameBrutale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear MadameBrutale,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at W London Leicester Square. I am happy to hear that you had a lovely experience here with your daughter.

It is great that you are introducing her to the W brand very early in life.

I hope that you will continue to come here together in the years to come.

Warm Regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    569
    280
    134
    141
See reviews for
179
707
152
449
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Once again, I was lucky enough to have another business trip to London, and had my choice of Hotels. I've stayed at the W Leicester Square about 5 times now, and the place always makes me smile!
The staff is warm, welcoming and accommodating, the rooms are sooooo cooooollll!....the neighborhood is so interesting, with Chinatown and Soho right there! (Love Soho and the nightlife :-D )
David, who manages the bar and nightclub, recognized me (it'd been at least 6 or 7 months!) and made me feel like I was a regular - he's the best and deserves a raise!
Thanks, everyone at the W, I look forward to seeing you again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at W London Leicester Square. I am so pleased to hear that you love being one of our regular guests.

I am glad to hear that David made sure that you were well looked after and I will happily pass on your kind comments. He will no doubt be delighted to hear them.

We will certainly be looking forward to your return.

Warm Regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

It was my first stay at any W hotel. I must admit that the hotel is an ultra modern one I dare say eccentric in style. The facade itself is a wall of glass looking material with colour changing neon lights . Corridors leading to rooms are very dimly lit almost dark. Decorations in common areas seem to come from disco dance floors. We were in a studio suite. This consisted of one small room inclusive of sitting area , hanging space in wardrobe was barley a foot long but there were many small shelves and small drawers around. The disappointing thing was that what was described as a full bathroom did not include a bath tub. Shower cubicle though was a double head spacious one. Sound proofing is excellent and staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast is very good and the spice market restaurant had an interesting decor and serves nice dishes. This hotel is in the heart of the hay market and thus excellent if one is on holiday. The hotel is in the proximity of regent street and new bond street where one can do lots of shopping.

Room Tip: Do not go basic as rooms are very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myself-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
104 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Overall I thought this was a great stay. Was here for one night in a corner suite. Overall, the hotel has a cool, young, hip vibe. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. The room itself was very comfortable with great amenities. Small problems such as floor lamp flickering and mirror light not working....housekeeping just needs to do more thorough checks during turnover. The gym is small, but adequately equipped with what you need to get a basic workout. Nice sauna and steam room too. Location is fantastic, right in the heart of London and close to many major attractions for tourists. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again. Note, there is noise from the square if you are on a lower floor room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nep1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Nep,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at W London. I am glad to hear that you had a great overall stay.

Thank you for highlighting the issues with the lights which have now been investigated and corrected. However, I do apologise for any inconvenience which you may have experienced.
I am glad that you enjoyed the sauna and steam room in our Away Spa and our Sweat gym.

Keep a look out for a new Away Spa web page coming soon.

We will be looking forward to your return visit Nep.

Warm Regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed for a night recently to celebrate my partner's birthday.

Staff made it really special - upgrade to a spa suite, and a card and a lovely piece of cake waiting in the room. Wonderful - really made the night for us.

The hotel is fantastic - stylish, slick, polished, yet with a relaxed, informal edge, so you don't feel the need to walk around with a rod up your bottom like in other high-end hotels.

Every member of staff was fantastic - friendly, helpful and very welcoming. Certainly go the extra mile for guests.

Thanks!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Greg,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at W London Leicester Square. I am very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

I am happy to hear that we were able to make your partner’s birthday a more special experience.

It is also great that you appreciated the extra attention from our hard working team It is nice to know that we are moving in the right direction with the aim of making every guest feel special.
I hope we are able to welcome you both back to stay in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Myself and three friends came here as somewhere different to start the night for my Birthday celebrations. We'd booked ourselves in for an afternoon tea with a difference and it was fantastic from the start.

The entrance is a little hidden (around the left hand side of M&M world in Leicester Square), but is marked with a glitzy big 'W' sculpture.

Inside the decor is modern, fun and impressive; the staff friendly and attentive (but not too in your face). We all commented on how relaxed it felt inside rather than too formal, which was really nice.

Available from 2pm-5pm, the Afternoon Rock Tea is £25 on it's own or £35 accompanied by one of their 'Rock Martinis' (we chose the £35 version...it was a special occasion after all!)

The cocktail was absolutely delicious and the tier of various imaginitave desserts and sandwiches was impressive. You could get them to refill the stand if you wanted more, but to be honest it was plenty for the four of us as it was. You could also keep ordering tea from the tea menu, so we tried pomegranate, followed by grapfruit and vanilla.

I honestly can't fault any part of the experience and would definately go back. It was a really nice start to a special evening in fashionable, clean, relaxing surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ems2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Ems 2424,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to W London Leicester Square. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our W Rock Tea.

Our afternoon tea is proving very popular and it is nice to know that you were impressed with our current selection and our cocktail menu.

Stay tuned on our social media sites for the W Rock tea Remix that is coming up very soon.

Warm Regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very good service by Chaz. He was very kind and nice to me as a gast. The hotel room was also very nice and clean. I have had a perfect stayin. When i come to London again, there is no doubt that i will stay at the W hotel . Thank you guys for the good service and ill see next year.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doldol27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian C, General Manager at W London Leicester Square, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Doldo,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at W London Leicester Square. I am very pleased to hear that you had a perfect stay with us on this occasion.

Thank you for your comments about Chaz which I will be happy to share with him. No doubt he will be delighted to hear it.

See you next year.

Warm Regards,
Ian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Le Meridien Piccadilly
#533 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,306 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#84 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Soho
Premier Inn London Leicester Square Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#183 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W London Leicester Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W London Leicester Square

Property: W London Leicester Square
Address: London Leicester Square London Leicester Square 10 Wardour Street, London W1D 6QF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho , Leicester Square / Shaftesbury Avenue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in London
#269 Luxury Hotel in London
#318 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — W London Leicester Square 5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated and quirky, glamorous and decadent, W London - Leicester Square crystallizes the quintessential dual personality of the British soul. Located steps away from theatre land, the catwalks of Brewer Street and Soho’s electric nightlife, the hotel - like the city itself - is a bold contrast of themes, colors, textures and characters. Experience luxury comfort and the vibrant decor of our rooms and suites, your ultimate pit stop. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your W London Leicester Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w London Leicester Square Hotel London
W London Leicester Square England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing