We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
London

“Very nice friendly restaurant”

Haxells Restaurant & Bar
Reserve a Table
Bookatable
Ranked #6,364 of 26,737 Restaurants in London
Price range: $4 - $47
Description: Haxells is the perfect place to mix, mingle and unwind in the heart of London. Providing the ideal backdrop to the menu, the design is aesthetically intriguing with an emphasis of the salon concept typical of a palace. Enjoy British inspired cuisine with modern art deco decor throughout the restaurant, bar, afternoon tearoom and private dining room. Haxells Restaurant & Bar is accompanied by the eclectic new afternoon tearoom serving irresistible assortments, perfect for treating loved ones, friends and family. Here you can enjoy delicious scones, finger sandwiches and delightful cakes hand-crafted by our Executive Chef. Enjoy loose leaf teas and delicate treats in true British style in the opulent afternoon tearoom, just seconds from Covent Garden. Set in a rich Bordeaux red finish, it’s the perfect way for you to while away the afternoon.
Restaurant details
Description: Haxells is the perfect place to mix, mingle and unwind in the heart of London. Providing the ideal backdrop to the menu, the design is aesthetically intriguing with an emphasis of the salon concept typical of a palace. Enjoy British inspired cuisine with modern art deco decor throughout the restaurant, bar, afternoon tearoom and private dining room. Haxells Restaurant & Bar is accompanied by the eclectic new afternoon tearoom serving irresistible assortments, perfect for treating loved ones, friends and family. Here you can enjoy delicious scones, finger sandwiches and delightful cakes hand-crafted by our Executive Chef. Enjoy loose leaf teas and delicate treats in true British style in the opulent afternoon tearoom, just seconds from Covent Garden. Set in a rich Bordeaux red finish, it’s the perfect way for you to while away the afternoon.
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

Very nice friendly restaurant on the ground floor of the Strand Palace Hotel. Food surprisingly good at a reasonable price. Recomend the scotch egg and the trifle but all our selections were very good. Service was exceptional without being obtrusive. Thank you

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank aking873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyStrand372, Owner at Haxells Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear A King

Thank you for your recent review; I am pleased that you enjoyed your meal whilst staying with us!

Kind Regards
Holly
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 44 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2019 via mobile

Had a lovely christmas themed afternoon tea with friends. The atmosphere was luxurious while also being personal and relaxed. Staff were very accommodating of dietary needs as well. We were not a fan of some of the sandwich fillings but the staff were polite and understanding and offered alternatives with minimal fuss and no extra charge. Overall a great experience and our bottomless prosecco was kept well topped up throughout.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Mai V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyStrand372, Owner at Haxells Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2020

Dear Mai,

Thank you for reviewing your Afternoon Tea experience with us; I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us here!

Kind Regards
Holly
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

We went to get the christmas afternoon tea. The sandwiches were ok, the scones were a bit of a disappointment, there was suppose to be 4 scones as we were to people, two for me and two for my mom. They were all kinda small and the two of them was suppose to be with cranberry. Mine bad lost of cranberry but was half the size of the one my mom got, but hers only had 1 cranberry in it!!. I wouldn't say that 1 cranberry qualifies the scone to be a cranberry scone. The cakes were alright not the best, not the worst. The tea was really good though! I think the biggest let down was that we came at 4 o'clock and because the room where the afternoon tea is normally served in was closing at 5 o'clock so we were sat out in this big area that kinda looked like a lobby and not in the beautiful room we had wished we were in.
Overall an okay experience but I've had better afternoon tea experiences

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lidijasoerensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyStrand372, Owner at Haxells Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2020

Dear Lidija,

Thank you for reviewing Haxells; I do apologise the food received was not up to our usual standards, this is most disappointing to hear. I do hope you were able to discuss this with a member of our management team as we are always looking for guest feedback to help us improve our service.

I do hope we are able to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Holly
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2019

We ate at Haxell's three times during our stay at the hotel. Each time we dined there, we felt invisible. We'd be seated and it would take 5-6 minutes for anyone to acknowledge us. Servers were fine during ordering food coming out, but would leave us sitting 10 mins after we'd clearly finished, waiting for check or wanting to order dessert. On our last night, it took them 20 minutes to prepare our desserts. There are only like 5 desserts on the menu, how are they taking 20 mins? The restaurant itself is airy, bright and comfortable. The food, while a relatively small menu, was all pretty tasty and nicely presented. IF and WHEN you could get it.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank danakate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyStrand372, Guest Relations Manager at Haxells Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Dear Dana,

Thank you for reviewing Haxells; I do apologise that your experience was dampened by the service provided. This is certainly not the feedback we wish to receive and certainly not the impression we wish to leave. I will ensure that this is passed on to our Food and Beverage teams.

Kind Regards,
Holly
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2019 via mobile

Christmas Lunch. We have dined at The Strand Palace Carvery in many occasion, however the place closed for a refurb and has now reopened as Haxells. We loved the new makeover, very open plan and a bit Art Deco inspired. Although the Carvery has gone it still sells English food. We pre booked the 3 course Christmas dinner which included crackers, party hats and party poppers on a nicely decorated table. Service was a little slow at times for taking orders, but the food arrived well cooked and in a timely fashion. Only slight criticism was no pig in blankets served with the dinner, or even offered which was a shame as we both love them! We would have paid a supplement if we could have had them. However, this did not stop us enjoying the meal and we will be returning. Thank you

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank 404Robert404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HollyStrand372, Guest Relations Manager at Haxells Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Dear Robert,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience in Haxells over the festive period. I am delighted that you had a pleasant experience!

I will be sure to pass on your feedback for next years festivities!

Kind Regards,
Holly
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haxells Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Haxells Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing