We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally unreliable booking "system"”
Review of The William IV

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The William IV
Ranked #351 of 560 London B&B and Inns
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Totally unreliable booking "system"”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I've been staying here on and off over the last few years (when I can't get into my preferred London hotel in W9). The rooms were cheap but good and I could get a meal and work on my laptop in the bar; met a few locals and generally was looked after well by friendly staff. Sometimes there were failings in the booking system but nothing catastrophic. However with my latest booking I turned up tired and hungry after travelling from Scotland and was told there was no booking. I had booked by phone and been given a price and room number which had all been agreed and confirmed. When I arrived I was told my booking had been changed to another hotel, in Kilburn (clearly an improvised lie) and the barmaid handling my booking was not able to help me, but kept phoning someone for instruction while I waited, eventually without being given a room, or an apology, or compensation. I found a room at The Edward Hotel near Paddington which was a little more pricey but stunningly efficient in comparison, nearer the centre of town and restaurants, tube stations etc. I won't be coming back after this total failure of service. Beware.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 3 as it is the size of a bed + 12 inches on two sides of it. Don't stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    60
    46
    18
    56
See reviews for
28
97
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here because it was close to where our friends were getting married, and on paper seemed perfect. In reality the William IV was a strange mix of mid-renovation to boutique hotel, nice pub, and full-on hip hop club experience. Frankly while all these things may be nice, none of them work together.

The rooms had been recently renovated, everything was new, nicely styled and clean. Staff were a little disorganised, but reasonably friendly and helpful when asked.

However, the main problem for us was that big-name djs play both Friday and Saturday night until 2am. The staff then continued to party/make noise while clearing up, meaning no sleep until 4ish. Not ideal when you have an early start for a wedding!

Think the rooms are nice (though ours was very small, and there seemed to be single people staying in much larger rooms), the refurb to rooms and hotel corridors lovely, but nice hotel rooms don't go with the (admittedly great) music and sound system until club hours. I would suggest you only stay here if you are attending a night or event there, as it doesn't work for anyone else!

Room Tip: Request a large one!! Some of the rooms here (we took a peek) are huge, especially for London, but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeZane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Sandbach, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stoped at this hotel twice, this summer, and I would stop again if I needed to be conveniently located near the Portobello Markets.

The first time, I went with my boyfriend and we stopped at the very upstairs room, which is very large, modern and comfortable. The hotel was then undergoing massive internal refurbishment and the whole situation was a bit comical: for three nights, we would say hello and good bye to the kitchen staff and access our room via a set of internal stairs. On our last night there, we went out to see a show at a theatre and when we returned, there was a private party that occupied the whole of the pub downstairs. We did feel the music was uncomfortably loud but we were the only ones who felt it, everybody else seemed to be having a great time. The atmosphere was very calm and friendly though, I think we could even have dared to stop at the pub with the guests if we'd wished to. Upstairs in our bedroom, there was still a bit of noise but that didn't disturb our sleep.

The second time I went was only two weeks ago and I was on my own. I had rung to see if I could stop at the same room I previously occupied and was told that sure, no problem I could. As it was midweek, I guessed it probably wouldn't matter much which room I stayed in, the pub should be quiet anyway, but I just fancied that room and was happy to get it. On my arrival, I was greetted by the new manageress, who was very friendly. (The previous manager was very nice too.) She showed me to the new stairs: yes, the refurbishment was then finished and the guests of the hotel could come in and get out through a separate door. These new stairs were also much easier to manage, as they were wider. Also this second time, the wifi was working only I didn't get the chance to use it because I'd left my netbook at home.

The breakfast was very good everyday of both my stays. I chose to have continental breakfast but once or twice regreted it after seeing some lovely laid out and very apetising fried breakfasts being served to other guests.

The William IV is definately a pub, with the hotel taking a second place of priority. The decor is very tasty and modern throught both pub and rooms. The building is historical and beautiful and its modern interiors make it justice. It is a bit of a shame that the music can be so loud at the weekends, maybe they should re-think their policy on that. Or you could just asked for the top floor room, like I did.
This hotel is definately good value for money and I'd stop there again any time :-)

Room Tip: choose room number 1 (top floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The William IV is not a hotel.... Guest House or B and B are more accurate. As many reviews have said, it is primarily a Pub, a sprawling, large, well-worn Pub. Above the Pub via steep winding stairs are recently renovated rooms. I've actually stayed in three of the rooms, 2 singles and a much larger room during my 8 nights there. All of the rooms have been renovated with new bathroom fixtures, bedding, etcetera. The 2 singles were very small; the Standard room much larger and had 2 beds, a couch, a comfy chair and a view of the Kensal Green cemetery. All of the rooms were very clean.

The employees were nice but they just aren't focused on the House guests. Breakfast is hit or miss.... a couple of mornings there wasn't any, on the weekend it was a wonderful full-on made-to-order British fry up.

The noise... as many have complained... Weekdays the Pub is open until midnight. Most of the time I was out late so it was a non-factor. Friday and Saturday nights the place has very loud music until 2 am. My first weekend there, I was on the 3rd floor and didn't even hear the music. My last night there I was on the 2nd floor and it was definitely loud.

The W IV is in an unremarkable neighborhood but it is a 10 minute walk to the Tube station on the Bakerloo line.

So why stay at the W IV..... value. I stayed at the William IV in July and August during the Olympics. Rooms in London were going for $500 to 1000 USD, I paid $150. I believe the rooms typically go for $75.

If you are a budget traveler and can live with the things outlined above, consider the W IV

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VisuallyOriented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Wish I'd read these reviews before I booked as it's the worst place I've ever stayed! Fri & Sat night should not be advertised as accommodation due to the crazy level of noise! Tried to complain through lastminute.com who I booked through off their website but they were just as interested as the pub staff! Clueless! Path to my room was through the kitchen and numerous other rooms what a nightmare and never, ever again! Hope you read this before you decide against booking!

Room Tip: Book a different hotel! Simple!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed two night's (Sunday and Monday) and felt the place was great. It was quiet and comfortable with good spec rooms. I will recommend it to visiting friends and family. The staff were very nice, friendly and accommodating and the breakfast good. The room was warm, however it was probably the hottest day of the year so I would expect that at most Inn's!

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank JakeDurbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Pleasant green themed boutique decor, wooden flooring. The customers didn't seem very happy. Decent cocktail menu but lack of atmosphere (something it had in the past I'm informed), left it lacking.

The pub served a fantastic pint of Red Stripe. Luckily admission was free. The cost for 2 pints was slightly more than Paradise by way of Kensal Green.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backpackerfriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Dorset Square Hotel
Dorset Square Hotel
#278 of 1,069 in London
242 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#785 of 1,069 in London
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Black Lion
#185 of 560 in London
235 reviews
Windmill Hotel
#244 of 560 in London
251 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#17 of 560 in London
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The William IV? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The William IV

Property: The William IV
Address: 786 Harrow Road, London NW10 5JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 560 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The William IV 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The William IV reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The William Iv Hotel London
The William IV London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing