We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Pretty spot

We passed through here on our walk on the Thames Path. There were several people swimming off the... read more

Reviewed July 11, 2018
James P
,
Cambridge, United Kingdom
via mobile
You're not supposed to swim in the basin and nor are you supposed to fish at night

Well I certainly welcome all of the people who tend to descend on our basin either at weekends or... read more

Reviewed May 11, 2016
Roz S
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 16 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around London
from $172.27
More Info
from $31.76
More Info
from $47.57
More Info
from $96.42
More Info
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
5
10
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
5
10
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 16 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2017

I wandered past Shadwell Basin at the conclusion of a day-long walk down the Regent's Canal to Limehouse Basin and up the Thames to Tower Bridge. The apartments lining the basin are vintage late-1980s architecture. The Basin itself is notable in that it's the largest remaining portion of the former London Docks. Everything else has largely been landfilled and built upon.

The Basin has a pretty steel bridge at it's east end. And best of all is the Prospect of Whitby Pub, apparently the oldest London riverside pub, dating to 1520. It has lovely view out over the river and downstream toward Canary Wharf.

The whole thing isn't worth going out of your way to see. If you're nearby, however, enjoy the Basin and a pint at the Prospect.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Abbotsbury92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2016

Well I certainly welcome all of the people who tend to descend on our basin either at weekends or when the sun is out. Certainly when the weather is good and its a weekend, you'll see lots of walkers, joggers, dog walkers and also groups of kids with ghetto blasters having a good time. I live on the basin and naturally for us, the view is spectacular. However as with all places, there are of course people who decide to ruin it. Firstly. We now how idiotic imbeciles who decide to ride around the basin (pedestrian and cycle paths) with scooters and motorbikes. Not only this, we are also 'delighted' to welcome plenty of idiots who actually swim...yes swim in stagnate water that is only alive due to the council pumping oxygyn into it to keep the fish alive. It clearly states....NO swimming...deep water, and yet its to no avail. Now let's move on to the biggest problem / pests....the 'fishermen' or 'talented angler' as one called himself. They turn up in their dozens pretty much everyday....no doubt with nothing else to do. they throw food into the water and in most cases, rubbish as well, including plastic bags. Like with the swimming, there are clear signs around the basin stating no fishing to take place by night. Yet we have enough lowlives coming and pitching a tent....yes a tent and sometimes staying for days. All in all, we love our basin and it tends to be beautiful no matter the weather. But it does get ruined by the swimmers (no doubt disturbing the wildlife) and the fishermen who need to be eradicated.

Date of experience: May 2016
6  Thank Roz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2015

I am lucky enough to live very close to Shadwell Basin. The buildings around it have a certain, slightly desolate, 80s feel. However, the basin itself is wonderful. Wildlife abounds and it's great to see the local watersports club in action; kayaking and sailing. There must be some pretty big fish in there too, as fisherman/women line the banks. Of late, it has become a, very busy, makeshift lido and the rumour is that this is going to become more official with a beach area and a new bridge. That would be an improvement as it would keep humans and wildlife apart: At the moment the ducks and swans, sensibly, do a runner as soon as they spot the blubbery white humans, arriving, en masse, to bask in the sunshine and hurl their bodies into the water. Shadwell Basin plays a starring role in series seven of "Only Fools and Horses" in an episode called "He Ain't Heavy, He's My Uncle". Check it out.

Date of experience: July 2015
1  Thank Yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2014

Shadwell Basin is a really small and perfectly formed basin near Wapping/ Limehouse/ Tower Bridge. It is a pretty area with nice houses all around the waterside. Along my jogging route, I enjoy the beauty and serenity of this place as I go through it - ducks, swans and other people peacefully relaxing make up a very welcome and pleasant sight. A rejuvenating oasis, highly recommended for you to visit!

Date of experience: November 2014
1  Thank Ibadanboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2014

Saw a few brave people swim here over the years. When it got hot in the summer, I went for a splash here twice as well. Sure, it's not exactly a beach destination, but it's doable, and the water is fairly warm. Weekly kayak training sessions are being held here, which convinced me to give it a try as well (they do overturn and get in contact with water). Nothing bad happened.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank Ed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews