We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great but a bit isolated for eating out”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Ranked #146 of 1,090 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great but a bit isolated for eating out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

I stayed with some trepidation having read some of the other reviews but have to say I didn't experience any ofhte noise issues others have raised. I had a rear room overlooking the railway and the power station and could hardly hear the trains let alone them be a barrier to me sleeping. Reception was very efficient and the room was excellent. Breakfast wasn't as quite as good as some others I have had e.g. only option for eggs was scrambled, available with no option (that I found) to order poached or boiled etc.

Overall the only disadvantage I found was the location, it's nowhere near a tube route although the bus stop to Victoria is across the road. The problem is that there are no local facilities nearby, the nearest pubs, eating places are a good 15 minute walk away in Battersea, unless you're happy with a sandwich from the petrol station down the road.

Other than this a real delight.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NigelP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,344
    743
    146
    40
    40
See reviews for
372
943
111
494
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

We stayed at this hotel at the end of July. It was in a lovely part of London, with great views of Battersea Park and the Power Station. If you were staying in London for a while, I think this would be a great place to stay, as it is in a lovely neighbourhood, and was quite quiet at night set back from the main road.
We were only there for a weekend however, and it felt like we were constantly rushing to and from the hotel.
Sloane Square is around 15 minutes walk away, and while there are regular buses and it's hardly a long walk, I did find it a little inconvenient. For instance, I didn't have time to go back to the hotel to change after shopping before heading out for a meal, little things like that, which wouldn't have caused an issue if we'd have had more time, or if we were staying more centrally. There is no quick dash to anywhere from here (apart from Battersea Park).
The hotel is very clean, and the rooms are a generously sized. Aside from an ugly painting of a dog over the toilet (which got on my boyfriend's nerves, I was just amused by it's pointlessness, and my boyfriends reaction) the hotel was quite stylish and well equipped.
We didn't really have much interaction with the staff, so I can't really comment on service. It wasn't the friendliest place I have ever stayed, however nobody was rude at all so there's no complaints whatsoever.
I would recommend this hotel to someone who is staying in London for a while, wants to be nearer to Battersea or is planning a lazy weekend. If you are planning a weekend full of activities in central London, I would recommend staying more centrally.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxter052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

The Pestana is slightly away from the centre of London, but is reachable with regular buses to link to Sloane Square and Victoria passing along the main road next to the hotel every few minutes. The building is new, and the rooms are relatively large and sumptuously furnished with large, comfortable beds and leather chaise longues. The very effective air conditioning came in handy during the early summer heatwave. The breakfast buffet was delicious, with a decent range of foods on offer every morning. The spa is a lovely, quiet spot, with a sauna and steam room, and a comprehensive range of treatments available. I must mention Silvia in the spa who was very friendly and helpful. My only criticism of the spa is that the 'relaxation pool' needs some heating - it's absolutely freezing, and in no way relaxing! I also dined in the restaurant one evening. The food was good, the service pleasant and efficient and the cost reasonable. Overall, I had a wonderful stay. The staff were, without exception, helpful and friendly. A lovely experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campcrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

For the £94 we paid for the room we were suprised at how lovely the hotel was. The room was huge and beds very comfy! Not the best view of the train line and power station but there was no noise to disturb us. The staff were very polite and helpful. I would stay here again and it was a bit of a bargin!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _pretty_kitty_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

We arrived at the hotel to find that the online booking agent we had used for the booking had gone into administration.
However the duty manager was extremely effiecent and helpful in enabling us to overcome this and handled what what a stressful situation impeccably.
The rooms were spacious, bed comfortable and the shower excellent. No room or corridoor noise.
The bar area was a good space for a meeting. Speedy checkout.

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank occasionalweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

Very good hotel clean and well located in a quiet area which is good when you have walked around London all day!! Nice spa/swimming pool though a bit cold !! Lap tops available in the hall but internet access not free, wifi is but no in your rooms!! except these 2 points great hotel...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ds1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOLTON
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

Situated just at the south end of Chelsea Bridge, opposite Battersea Park, the Pestana is a new (2010) hotel immaculately kitted out and with the sort of friendly staff for whom, from the management to the cleaners, nothing seems to be too much trouble. I never had the impression, as I have at other London hotels, that whoever I was talking to had something far more important they would rather be doing!

Breakfast is served until a very civilised 1100 am (1200 on Sundays!) - it is perhaps stronger on the continental selection than on the "Full English", but that, too, is still good. Rooms are airy and very up-to-date in their décor, with incredibly comfortable beds. My wife and I had a double of standard configuration, but my daughters had a twin with a window into the bathroom, presuambly to provide natural light.

It is a short bus ride to the tube at Sloane Square, Victoria or Battersea station, and the service is very frequent - about every 5 mins to Sloane Square and every 10-15 to Victoria, so getting about is not really problematic.

A nice surprise was Battersea Park - well worth a pleasant morning stroll!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedRoseRover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
K West Hotel & Spa
#258 of 1,090 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#51 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#183 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Chelsea
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
#155 of 1,090 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London

Property: Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Address: 354 Queenstown Road | Battersea, London SW11 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Business Hotel in London
#93 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Luxury Hotel in London
#162 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel and Spa is a 4 star hotel in Chelsea, London, servicing both the business and leisure traveler. The hotel is ideally located in the prestigious development of Chelsea Bridge Wharf, one of the most affluent and fashionable new developments in Chelsea. Alongside the banks of the Thames River and close to one of London’s original public parks, the Battersea Park, with spectacular gardens and lakes ideal for outdoor relaxation and entertainment. Its location makes it one of the best hotels in London offering guests the convenience of the City Center atmosphere, combined with a tranquil and scenic setting. The hotel in Chelsea Bridge offers 216 spacious and modern air-conditioned rooms above average in size for luxury hotel rooms in London. Guest comforts include an LCD TV and iPod docking station, private bathrooms with separate bath and shower facilities and tea/coffee making service. An expertly designer Spa offers the very best in spa and beauty therapy including an indoor heated pool, sauna and steam room with a relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TravelUp, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel And Spa London
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing