We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, so-so location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Ranked #170 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2010

We booked on hotwire, and as it turned out, we were put in a hotel on the edges of the city of London, which was disappointing. The hotel itself was nice--a boutique hotel with clean, comfortable rooms.

The hotel is easily accessible by by buses that run every 5-10 minutes throughout the day.

The amenities could use improvement: the "gym" is a small standard room with two treadmills, a rowing machine, a bench and some weights. The "spa" and "pool" are also less than ideal. Also, there was strange blue lighting in the bathroom and pool area, no doubt some arty idea of an interior designer.

The beds were the most comfortable I've slept in. The pillows and duvets were great for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geekytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,028 - 2,034 of 2,415 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2010

We stayed at the Pestana Chelsea Bridge for the Friday, Saturday and checked out on the Sunday. This was when the London Marathon was on. The rooms are a modern style, very big and the bathroom was good. The travel agent (Superbreak I think) said it has recently been refurbished and it has, everything looks pristine. The spa was good, usual size for a hotel, it had a sauna, steam room and pool.

Only ate breakfast in the hotel, this was a buffet and very good, I'm glad we booked B&B.

This is such a good hotel I've booked my wife and mother in law into it for a weekend break in May.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lambandmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Our stay in Pestana London (Chelsea Bridge) was a great experience. The rooms are spacious, modern and stylish and the staff was very good. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreas49172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

Stayed here a few times and will happily again. Minutes walk across the river to Chelsea and Sloane St. Railway lines in outside rooms with odd numbers, evens look into courtyard or noisy main road; so you'll have to leave your window shut. Fab views over park from some rooms. Nice pool and spa. Very clean and new. Nice new feather pillows and duvets. Very nice showers. Mini bar fridge not stocked. Better than majority at same price. Not sure how long the new feel will last though.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awoluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

Stayed at the Pestana Chelsea Bridge for a weekend away with my partner, and I can honestly say, that i am glad that we did.

The hotel is very nice, rooms are very spacious especially for London standards with contemporary stylish decor. The hotel reception staff are very friendly and helpful, and ensured our stay was extremely comfortable. Great internet connection as well.

The Portuguese themed on-site restaurant is excellent as well, and we really enjoyed the dinner we had on our first night there. The pool and spa looked nice, although we had a tight schedule and didnt really get to use it.

Great location to explore London, easy to reach from Gatwick, great hotel, would definitely recommend if you're looking for a quality experience.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank yuktiroye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed at the Pestana Chelsea Bridge over the Easter weekend. We had been sent an opening offer which was so good for Central London that we thought we would give it a go and we are glad we did. It is a long walk from the tube station but as previous reviewers have said, the bus stops right outside the hotel and will take you to Sloane Square tube, or as we usually did, direct to Oxford Street. With an Oyster card it was easy.
We were upgraded to a suite and it was wonderful. Large white leather sofas in the sitting room, king sized bed with great duvets in the bedroom, TV and double shower in the bathroom and a fridge and coffee machine which we didn't need to use.
It was very busy for breakfast on Easter Sunday but we were not kept waiting and the food was good.
The suite was on the railway side of the hotel but we weren't kept awake although the noise was quite loud if you were in the bedroom during the day. We couldn't hear it in the sitting room.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and we would stay here again if we got a good rate. If the price goes up once the hotel has been open a while, we would probably choose to stay somewhere more central if we were coming for a theatre break.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank howfarcanwetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

Having stayed in a stack of London hotels, this one by far shines. OK, it's not exactly central but because of London's excellent public transport, you are never more than 20 minutes away from something. The rooms are spacious and luxurious, having very much a new style and very different from the usual in the capital. My only negative was the food, being new I don't think they have still got the hang of it all. The beefburger I had was dripping in grease and the bread rock hard. Hardly worth the £19 I pad for it. You expect big prices in London, but usually the quality is top notch.

Unfortunately the breakfast was about the same, couldn't seem to get the eggs right, either raw or over done. Toast came out cold or hardly toasted. A real shame as this is a beautiful place, in a lovely area of London.

Hotel TV had HDMI input, so pulled out their cable and plugged in my laptop - caught up on some DVDs!

All in all, please visit this place if coming to London - particularly for the first time, as some of the inner central hotels can be quite scary. This is in a quiet area, with the beautiful Battersea Park across the road. The nearest tube is Sloane Square, but if you have bags beware, it's a long walk - about 20 minutes. The buses stop right outside the hotel so are handy coming home or going out. 3 buses go to Oxford Circus, Victoria or Sloane Square.

They also have a bargain of a shuttle to Victoria for £3 - goes every hour.

They claim free WiFi - but I never managed to get an Internet connection - I didn't care as I have my trusty dongle. Some guests said they struggled to get a mobile signal - well Orange had 5 bars and 3 Internet was also quick.

Never tried out the fitness center so can't comment. Was too busy.

I'm going to come back to London with the wife for a weekend and I'll certainly come here.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BigSeanPUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#224 of 1,076 in London
3,718 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#65 of 1,076 in London
3,614 reviews
Chelsea
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
#201 of 1,076 in London
1,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Chelsea Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Chelsea Bridge

Address: 354 Queenstown Road | Battersea, London SW11 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in London
#87 Business Hotel in London
#93 Romantic Hotel in London
#137 Luxury Hotel in London
#162 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $166 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Chelsea Bridge 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the 4* luxury Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & SPA and enjoy London's trendy development, Chelsea Wharf, nestled between scenic Battersea Park, the river Thames and iconic Battersea Power Station. 217 Spacious modern bedrooms all equipped with individual bath and shower facilities, including one and two bedroom suites and a private Club Lounge are located on the 11th floor. Our designer SPA offers guests a tranquil relaxation area including heated indoor pool, sauna and steam room with beauty treatment rooms for bespoke professional therapy. The Atlantico Restaurant & BAR and coffee lounge, provides guests with perfect menu options of light meals, speciality coffees, high tea & the popular "tapas buffet" table with Chef's menu choices for dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, PESTANA MANAGEMENT - Servicos de Gestao S.A., Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Chelsea Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel And Spa London
Pestana Chelsea Bridge London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing