We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“a nice, modern hotel with comfortable rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Ranked #151 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
103 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“a nice, modern hotel with comfortable rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have always had in my head that London was one of those unfortunate places where the hotels were very expensive while offering lousy service. The panorama, luckily, is changing.

Pestana is a nice option if you want to stay close to Chelsea area. It is a part of the new developments at the south bank, opposite the Battersea Park. It is new. What I liked most was the room - spacious, modern design, a huge bed... very comfortable. Breakfasts were acceptable. It has a small gym (small is 4-5 pieces of equipment). There is a spa, but I did not use it.

The staff were very helpful... a mixture of nationalities but all very attentive and available to help.

Two things to take into account:
- location is good but the closest tuve station is Sloane´s Square.. you can get there by bus or add a 10-15 min walk... a cab is 5 pounds...
- riverside view rooms... while you get a nice view by night on Thames... you will get the impressive Battersea Power Station which is being reconstructed... and train rails between Victoria and Battersea train stations... trains every 2-4 minutes

Have a good stay!

Room Tip: river view rooms might be noisy at night due to passing trains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomaszsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,261
    703
    141
    39
    38
See reviews for
340
886
109
468
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

I'm currently writing this review as I'm staying at the hotel. Ive traveled all though out Europe for the past few years, I'm young and flexible, i usually will stay in hostels, and this is even worse than the cheap hostels I've stayed at. This place is a tourist trap. I decided to stay here with my boyfriend based on what seemed like good reviews, and a decent deal. However, the staff are ridiculously rude, the food sucks, everything is overpriced, and they'll charge you for anything and everything. There is no wifi although the website tricks you into thinking there is. It's 5 pounds an hour for wifi! The hotel is in a bad area, it was very uncomfortable walking here from the nearest train. We have a gross view of a power plant. The list goes on. Basically don't waste your money, time, or vacation here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Little9788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pestana_Chelsea, General Manager at Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
As a four star hotel that has earned a strong ranking through positive guest reviews, I wish to assure you that we take your comments seriously. I am therefore disappointed that upon investigating your allegations, the facts are inaccurate and rather unfairly stated. Our website makes no reference to ‘free wifi’ in the rooms, and on checking the booking site through which we received your reservation, it is also not mentioned as a free service within the rooms, only in public areas. I am aware that this incident raised a fair amount of frustration on your side and I believe our staff tried their best to assist you with an explanation. As far as your comments on the food is concerned, no formal complaint was received that would allow me to investigate the detail unfortunately and there is no record of a charge. I accept that hotel choices are very personal and regret that you found our location unsuitable. The area however is by no means ‘bad’ and is considered to be within one of the most elite and sophisticated emerging nodes of London, surrounded by convenient bus and train routes. It may have been that you were not aware that Sloane and Victoria stations are within a 15 minute walk or bus ride from the hotel, and we have public bus transport literally outside the hotel into Oxford Street, Kensington Hight Street, Knightsbridge, Hyde Park, Westminster, Westfield Shopping Centre and Piccadilly Circus. There is no doubt that we do not position our hotel or its services on the level of hostels and therefore understand that you may have been uncomfortable. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. It is a beautiful hotel. Very modern and fresh, with excellent staff. The price for what u get is really fantastic. Other cities would charge twice this rate at such an experience.
Only grip us it's not super close to public transport.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetasanut_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were lucky enough to book the hotel through a website the specialises in last minute deals - because we booked through quidco we managed to get a Kingsize deluxe room for £95 on a Saturday night with a 17% cashback - lucky us!

The hotel feels pretty new and the room was well-appointed with a seperate shower and bath and all the other facilities you expect with a decent city hotel.

The swimming pool was rather small - long and narrow - and I never got a chance to look at the gym. we only used the lobby/lounge area for teas and coffees and croissants but these were all excellent and for central London not too pricey.

Much better than a Travel Lodge or a Premier Inn and probably no more expensive - right by Chelsea Bridge. We will definitely try and use it again when we stay in London.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Battersea Park NOT Battersea Power Station!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashbocking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a 1 night stay and loved every minute of it. Upon arrival we were upgraded to the 1 bed suite on the 11th floor. The suite was simply amazing- lounge, bedroom, shower room, bathroom and little kitchen area. Huge balcony area with great views over Battersea Park. The bed was a super king with lovely bedding. The en suite bathroom had a tv overlooking the bath- pure indulgence. The room was like a dream. The pool is at the bottom of the hotel- good pool, sauna and steam room. Wasn't too busy when we were there so nice experience. Dinner and breakfast were good and all the staff were very helpful. An amazing stay in a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BooBoo154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed in this hotel twice over the last two weeks whilst working nearby. The staff were very friendly, the hotel well appointed and the rooms very comfortable, The food was good though a little on the pricy side, and there is a discretionary service charge added to food and drink to watch for. All in all though very satisfied.

Room Tip: Try to get a rear room if you want to see BAttersea Power station, the Eye, the Shard, big ben and S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I only had a one night stay for a business trip but will now use this hotel as first choice. Great first impressions from check in staff - friendly and helpful. The room was excellent with a very very comfy bed and also very quiet - a major plus in a London hotel! Large bathroom with separate rain shower and bath. The bathrobe actually fitted which is a first as they are usually made for giants! Transport easy - bus stop nearby with short bus journey to Sloane sq to pick up tube, Only slight niggle is the complicated log in for free wifi which never worked for me but it was not a major requirement. Overall a great place to stay for either business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Quiet room on upper floors. The rooms with view overlook the railway and view not very picturesque!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LD51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
K West Hotel & Spa
#269 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,548 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
Corinthia Hotel London
Corinthia Hotel London
#16 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,272 reviews
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Chelsea
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
#150 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London

Property: Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Address: 354 Queenstown Road | Battersea, London SW8 4AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Business Hotel in London
#93 Romantic Hotel in London
#121 Luxury Hotel in London
#162 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel and Spa is a 4 star hotel in Chelsea, London, servicing both the business and leisure traveler. The hotel is ideally located in the prestigious development of Chelsea Bridge Wharf, one of the most affluent and fashionable new developments in Chelsea. Alongside the banks of the Thames River and close to one of London’s original public parks, the Battersea Park, with spectacular gardens and lakes ideal for outdoor relaxation and entertainment. Its location makes it one of the best hotels in London offering guests the convenience of the City Center atmosphere, combined with a tranquil and scenic setting. The hotel in Chelsea Bridge offers 216 spacious and modern air-conditioned rooms above average in size for luxury hotel rooms in London. Guest comforts include an LCD TV and iPod docking station, private bathrooms with separate bath and shower facilities and tea/coffee making service. An expertly designer Spa offers the very best in spa and beauty therapy including an indoor heated pool, sauna and steam room with a relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel And Spa London
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing