We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-class central London option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Ranked #145 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top-class central London option”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I hadn't heard of this place before doing a search of London hotels for a weekend break, but it was a fantastic choice. Just south of the Thames, by Chelsea Bridge and across from Battersea Park - with Battersea Power Station right next door on the other side - it is in a prime location. The rooms on the higher floors also offer views out to the London Eye and Westminster, St Paul's and the new Shard skyscraper, as well as the river.
We booked two rooms, to take my mother-in-law and her husband to the Smoke for a birthday trip, and they loved this hotel. It has a very stylish exterior, with outside seating, and the lobby, bar and restaurant areas are full of modern, smart furniture and decor. The same can be said for the rooms, which are particularly trendy, with eye-catching art-work dotted around, along with white leather sofas and - in the 'club' rooms, an exercise bike, of all things!
I asked for an upgrade for my mother-in-law and her husband, as it was her birthday, and Pedro at reception managed to make it happen, without charge. He was very helpful. In effect, the 'club' rooms only offer the bike and the improved view when compared to the standard rooms, but the phrase 'complimentary upgrade' always goes down well and keeps the guests happy!
In terms of the hotel facilities, we didn't have a chance to use the gym, spa and pool, which was a pity. My wife and I ordered room service which was of a high standard and as we just shared one dish, they waived the usual tray charge - another impressive touch. When we ordered coffees in the lobby bar they were extremely expensive, but that is a London issue, not a problem just restricted to this hotel.
The hotel is right next to a busy train track, so especially if you are on a lower floor on that side, it is best to keep the (double-glazed) windows closed and use the air-con to cool the room, to keep out the noise. But we didn't find that a major hassle. In fact, the proximity of two train stations, with services to Victoria and Waterloo, was another of the positive aspects of this place.
Overall, for the reasonable price we were extremely impressed and would stay there again if needing a base in central London.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Battersea Park side are quieter, but rooms on the other side have better views - take y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CFoy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,368
    761
    152
    40
    40
See reviews for
381
960
112
507
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Amazing hotel. Went to london for aniversary whilst there my boyfriend proposed. no faults with hotel. great service tasty food gorgeous rooms :) staff really helpful. bus stop right outside complex go to kensington victoria and other places. battersea park just across the road nice to walk around hand in hand

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loubilou10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Excellent rooms, really clean and modern and great value. Hotel has a nice feel and looks great. Private car park right next door for £20 a night and we didn't have to enter the congestion charging zone. Would definitely stay again.

Would have awarded a five star excellent, just a little irritated by a few customer service incidents; when I'm checking in and have to wait for the receptionist to finish a long telephone call recommending an external restaurant, please don't then answer the phone whilst trying to check me in. The receptionist proceeded to ask if I wanted to prepay for breakfast the next day and forgot to charge this to me (may have been distracted by the phone?). The next day, after thinking I had prepaid, I was challenged whilst eating and said there must be some mistake. After some further discussion, the waitress didn't get to the bottom of what had happened and made me feel that I was being a pain in the backside. Not a great attitude. I had to go to the front desk to sort out as the attitude of the waitress was causing embarrassment to me at my table. All was sorted. Upon departure, I wasn't asked if I had enjoyed my stay. Disappointed by these issues as a lot of the other reviews say how good the staff are whereas I was a little irritated and disappointed by what I experienced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marburg, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Kind and attentive service. The rooms are quite big compared to many other hotels in London. The cleanness of the rooms was without complaint. From the hotel you can reach Victoria Station /Underground within a ten minutes walk or by bus/train close to the hotel. The Battersea Park is right is just in front of the hotel entrance and invites for footing or walking.
On the back side of the hotel pass the trains to Victoria, in case of west wind direction the planes to London Heathrow approach in some hundret meters above the hotel, with closed windows this was not a problem to us, but might be to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
274 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Third visit and nothing has changed. It still is a wonderful guest experience from the front door to the staff, bedrooms are by far the best four star rooms in London. Need I say more. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart170649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Pestana Chelsea Bridge most definitely is one of the best hotels in London and as an experienced traveller I visited probably most of them. Superior rooms, excellent facilities, professional and friendly staff couldn't possibly do more to satisfy a guest (a big 'thank you' to Ruta and others). The hotel has great location for those trying to avoid tourists crowd, but still stay close to everything London has to offer. The hotel has very relaxed atmosphere, there's nothing pretentious about it. Pestana offers great value for money and I would recommend anyone who visits London to stay there. Tom

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomMusiol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed here earlier this week for a business convention.

Strong plusses - great staff overall, hospitable and willing. Bar staff were herioc with later night conference folk letting their hair down! Rooms spacious, crisply decorated, and very clean.

Not so much a negative as something to be aware of - the hotel is a short stroll from Chelsea, over the bridge - but the area it is located in itself feels somewhat isolated - surrounded mostly by (good quality) apartment buildings. The area is itself is fine - but there are no shops or restaurants nearby (apart from one convenience store tucked away round the corner from the hotel).

No hesitation whatsoever in recommending it, and very good value given its proximity to central London.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BravoCharlie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
K West Hotel & Spa
#261 of 1,067 in London
2,885 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
The Chelsea Harbour Hotel
#206 of 1,067 in London
1,681 reviews
London Bridge
Novotel London Blackfriars
Novotel London Blackfriars
#178 of 1,067 in London
2,140 reviews
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#219 of 1,067 in London
3,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London

Property: Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Address: 354 Queenstown Road | Battersea, London SW11 8AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Business Hotel in London
#93 Romantic Hotel in London
#121 Luxury Hotel in London
#162 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel and Spa is a 4 star hotel in Chelsea, London, servicing both the business and leisure traveler. The hotel is ideally located in the prestigious development of Chelsea Bridge Wharf, one of the most affluent and fashionable new developments in Chelsea. Alongside the banks of the Thames River and close to one of London’s original public parks, the Battersea Park, with spectacular gardens and lakes ideal for outdoor relaxation and entertainment. Its location makes it one of the best hotels in London offering guests the convenience of the City Center atmosphere, combined with a tranquil and scenic setting. The hotel in Chelsea Bridge offers 216 spacious and modern air-conditioned rooms above average in size for luxury hotel rooms in London. Guest comforts include an LCD TV and iPod docking station, private bathrooms with separate bath and shower facilities and tea/coffee making service. An expertly designer Spa offers the very best in spa and beauty therapy including an indoor heated pool, sauna and steam room with a relaxation area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel And Spa London
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing