We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Ranked #192 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 6, 2012

stayed for long weekend at Park Plaza. I had read previous reviews that said check- in and check-out were disorganised chaos and time consuming. We had no wait in or out so I presume it must be a peak and off peak situation ??
We were given an upgrade without asking for one and the room we were given I had seen on the web page and never dreamed we would stay in. It had seperate lounge with plasma tv, a sofa that unfolded into another bed, the bathroom had bath and seperate shower, there was a small kitchen area with fridge, mini bar and microwave. the bedroom had another plasma tv with internet access.
The hotel felt fresh and modern with a lovely sushi restaurant that had views of the Palace of Westminster.
The hotel had a good location near to Westminster, the london eye and Waterloo station
There was a free show on the Saturday night featuring a Tina Turner tribute act that was popular.
On the Sunday morning we went down to the pool and spa centre on floor -4. We waited ten minutes for the lift to take us down and the same coming back. When I asked if there were stairs the receptionist told us there were fire exit stairs but were not very user friendly!!!
If I had one small criticism it would be that the room lighting seemed rather dull, especially in the kitchen area, not good for us ageing people with diminishing sight.
I cannot say much else other than we will defo stay there on our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamworthSpidey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your review TamworthSpidey, delighted you enjoyed your time with us for your long weekend.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11,409 - 11,415 of 17,036 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed with family for one night, and as a Carlson Gold card holder, got upgraded to mini suite with view over Thames. Check in was slow, and not very friendly when eventually served. Room was great, very clean, good bathroom, large flat screen and good air con. After an afternoon in the West End we decided to check out the restaurants in the hotel in advance of the evening, we were met by a jobs worth lady, who seemed to be patrolling the lobby area, when I asked whether my daughter and I could choose from the brasserie menu, and my wife join us with sushi from the other restaurant, we were greeted with a blunt, no, cant do that! Fortunately in the evening the restaurant staff, who were very friendly and helpful, obliged, and we had a great evening, as both restaurants are clearly excellent. Breakfast was good, and efficient even on a Sunday morning. The hotel gets four stars from me, and I will be back, I hope jobsworth isn't.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LINDTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your review Lindty. Sorry to note your experience within the lobby area. To help me identify this member of our team, could you tell me the date and time, I will then be able to offer any refresher training as this is certainly not the norm. Our team is dedicated to providing the highest standards of customer services and I am sorry this was not your experience.

I’m pleased to note that this has not deterred you from considering us for a future visit and I look forward to welcoming you back for an even better stay.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here and the location is superb – lots to see and do very close by. We did book a very good offer with the hotel and our review reflects this.

We had a very short wait to check in but did see big queues at other times, but Reception staff were efficient, friendly and welcoming. Other reviewers have mentioned the wait for lifts – all were working and at times there was a small wait, but considering the hotel was full all weekend (1000 rooms!) we weren’t inconvenienced.

Rooms are modern, fresh, clean and well appointed – we took the option to upgrade to a studio room and it was good to have the additional sofa area. Bathrooms are super, with stylish fittings, bath and separate shower. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Another great touch was having well labelled lighting choices ‘mood’, ‘full’, ‘off’ etc – no fiddling around trying to work out which switches turn on which lights!

Breakfast was quite hectic the first morning, with a long queue of people, simply due to the numbers in the hotel. We were therefore directed to the conference room facilities on the lower floor – this was fine but having breakfast in the Joel brasserie the next day was a nicer experience. Staff did their best to keep the wait to a minimum though.

We enjoyed the Primo bar on the first evening – a really buzzy atmosphere with live entertainment – it would probably be more tranquil on a week night.

We also used the pool on the 2nd morning – nice facilities but it did feel quite busy after a while – again, just because the hotel was so busy when we stayed.

We would definitely return – a smart, modern hotel which caters for leisure and business visitors and is A1 for location. We’ll be looking out for future offers!

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view but only if you have an external facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IOWtravelbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Oh absolutely IOWtravelbabes, keep an eye out on the Park Plaza website for some great offers, you can currently get 50% off with our Winter Super Save promotion!! (terms and conditions apply). Sign up for our newsletter that way you won't miss out on offers like these.

Thank you for your candid review and recommendation, we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Park Plaza for just one night to celebrate our 10th Wedding Anniversary. We had read previous reviews and were not disappointed, the hotel lived up to its great reputation. We had a studio room with a good exterior view towards Westminster Bridge. On arriving we realised that the light in the kitchen area wasn't working and it was quite difficult to see in that area. One quick call to housekeeping and it was fixed in a jiffy. We ate in Joel's Brasserie within the hotel and that was just exquisite - fantastic food and faultless service. The swimming pool, sauna and steam room areas were wonderful. Spotlessly clean and very relaxing. We opted to pay for the executive lounge which had a fabulous view of Westminster Bridge, Houses of Parliament and Big Ben. We ended up having afternoon tea in there when we arrived, then drinks and canapes before dinner and breakfast the next morning too, so it was good value for money. For such a massive hotel, the rooms and service were faultless.

Room Tip: Ask for a studio room with an exterior view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you Sarjj for your review and for choosing us for your special stay, congratulations.

Glad we could replace that bulb so quickly and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was my first time in London and was nervous about where to stay as I didn't want an old and typically tiny European hotel. The Park Plaza West
Westminster Bridge was awesome. It is a large, modern hotel with very generous sized rooms - although we splurged for an "iconic view" room which had a great view of Big Ben. Location was perfect...very short walk to Houses of Parliament, the London Eye, and Westminster Abby. Can walk to Trafalgar Square and Buckingham Palace. Underground stop is right there too.

Also the service was outstanding. Our international plug wasn't working when we got in our room and they came up within 5 minutes and fixed it. My husband forgot his toothbrush and although there is no gift shop, they brought us one immediately.

Can't say enough good things about this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you Jennifer B, delighted you enjoyed your stay with us on your first trip to London, I hope you enjoyed all that London has to offer.

We hope we’ll see you when you’re next in town.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My sister and I had a little pamper session at the Mandara Spa and it was lovely.

On arrival at the hotel, we had to pick our way through a cloud of smokers at the front door, which let the side down somewhat! However, once we reached the Spa itself (in the bowels of the hotel, not that you would notice!) we were transported to an oasis of calm!!

I had a Lemon & Ginger scrub (yum!) and a foot treatment. The therapist was very friendly and professional and by the time my hour was up I felt very relaxed!

We also used the swimming pool and steam room. There is a sauna too, but it was too hot for us (wimps!!).

The changing rooms/ showers were very tastefully decorated, with proper hair dryers and fancy toiletries. My only gripe would be the lack of privacy for changing/ drying.... there are no individual cubicles, just 2 large changing/ locker rooms.

It was a little pricey for what you get (then again, which Spa's are total value?), and my sister felt her massage was a little on the rough side to be totally relaxing. However it was great to have a little bit of luxury!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JillyBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Jillybro,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your visit to Mandara Spa. Your wonderful comments are greatly appreciated. I will make sure everyone involved in your day is aware of the positive feedback you have given us.

Many thanks and we hope to welcome you and your sister back again very soon.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We Stayed at the Park Plaza Westminster for 2 nights 2nd and 3rd November. From the moment we arrived, untill we left, the staff were nothing short of excellent. This is a big hotel, situated at the end of Westminster bridge, with superb views of Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament from the hotel. There are various bars, Restaurants and Cafes within the hotel, and a very good (although expensive spa). Hotel 5 minutes walk from Westminster or Waterloo tube stations. Excellent English breakfast. All round very impressed, and would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toonman_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkPlazaWestminster, Manager at Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thanks for your review and recommendation Toonman_11.

Regards,
Hasham Soliman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Address: 200 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7UT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in London
#42 Spa Hotel in London
#83 Family Hotel in London
#94 Business Hotel in London
#101 Romantic Hotel in London
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $194 - $378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London 4*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art meets design in the grand Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London. From its iconic position opposite Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, the hotel places London's finest landmarks at your fingertips. The London Eye, Big Ben, London Dungeons, the London Aquarium, and the city's finest theatres, restaurants and bars are just a few steps away. A choice of tastefully conceived and breathtakingly executed guestrooms and suites includes large Studio Rooms with a bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette and living space with pull-out sofa bed, which is perfect for family stays. On the hotel's highest floors, enhanced amenities and extra space are on offer in the chic Penthouses and Suites, some of which have split-level duplex accommodation, balconies and panoramic city views. Brasserie Joël presents delicious French cuisine with seasonal specialties, while Ichi Sushi & Sashimi offers a true taste of Tokyo. 1WB Lounge & Patisserie is the place for afternoon tea and light bites, Primo Bar comes alive every evening with live music and sophisticated cocktails, and Espressamente Illy serves authentic Italian coffees. Unique among central London hotels, Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London boasts a fitness centre with 15-metre pool and Europe's only Mandara Spa, an exquisite oasis of Balinese calm. Nine treatment rooms, a manicure and pedicure area and relaxation lounge combine to offer indulgent pampering with the finest spa products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London Hotel London
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing