We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 mins walk from the metro, big ben and london eye right outside the front doors!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Ranked #192 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Location:
The location of the hotel is about 5-10 mins walk from the Waterloo or Westminster metro station. The Westminster route is more scenic though because it passes the London Eye, walking towards the Big Ben. We were able to take the metro from the London City Airport with no problem and way less costly than a cab.

Hotel:
The lobby of the hotel is pretty grand and gives off a sophisticated feel. The crowd and guests staying at the hotel were mature and well mannered. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room:
We booked the standard room facing the atrium so our view basically did not exist for the sake of privacy. The blinds were very effective in shielding the light and the windows were very sound proof.

The washroom and the room was very nicely decorated with modern designs, colours and layout.

The washroom was a decent size and the toiletries were sufficient.

We found the pillows to be not the best out there as it felt like a mush with no shape.

Overall, it was a decent stay and I very much appreciated the cleanliness of the rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDV15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13,079 - 13,085 of 17,362 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2011

I needed a hotel near St Thomas' Hospital, and this hotel, together with Park Plaza County Hall are within stone's throw of the hospital, on south side of the River. Got a good rate booking direct with the hotel web-site.

My female relative checked in first and had a complete fit when she saw the room we had been allocated, as it was a budget room (very small) with no (or little) natural daylight. Do check the room details carefully on the web-site before you book a specific room type! The hotel staff were great and upgraded us free of charge to a suite on the 12th floor: sitting area, spacious bathroom, small "butler area (sink, fridge, microwave) and sleeping area with floor to ceiling windows.

Plus Points:
Being a new hotel, fixtures and fittings were very smart, clean and tidy.
Location was, for London, reasonably quiet, so we ( family member and I) both got a good night's sleep.
All the staff we encountered were very courteous and friendly. In particular, the doormen were marvellous in finding taxis for us.
The lobby was an attractive area: spacious, with fabulous views across the bridge to Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament.

Negatives:
Even though we had a suite, with floor to ceiling windows, the room was quite dark and the lighting wasn't really adequate.
Really annoying aspect about the room: above the dressing table was the flat screen television (huge thing), and the only mirror was a floor to ceiling mirror outside the bathroom door. So, when I wanted to dry my hair, I had to sit on the floor outside the bathroom! Who on earth designed the room interiors??

We chose not to have breakfast in the hotel, as full breakfast was over £20 per person, with continental only slightly less, and in my experience, hotel breakfasts are never that great.

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms look into the dark Atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarnia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

large, clean and modern rooms - definately a perfect place to stay as it is near all the tourist sites one wishes.
However DO NOT go to the Sushi restaurant...

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel is located in a very busy roundabout and it is circular in shape, which means some rooms will face other rooms/walls. My room was one of these. I'm not too fussy about having a view but I would expect proper light in the room when there is none from the outside. The lighting was extremely poor! I could barely find my things around! Otherwise it's clean, modern, but more on the tacky side, with a pretty impersonal feel. I didn't pay for the room but I assume it's not cheap, so I was not impressed at all with this hotel. Plus the shower room/cubicule has no ventilator which meant it got incredibly steamy. Bar was locked and there were movies you had to pay for (£5). As I said, it's a pretty decent hotel in a very good location. But I wouldn't pay too much for this level of quality.

Room Tip: ask for room with proper lighting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quechua30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a new and very large hotel with an excellent location right by Westminster Bridge and easy access to the underground. High level of service and full breakfast served in room at no extra charge. Very quiet and spacious rooms, studio has a compact living area and two televisions. Check-out was only a signature and the bill was then sent by mail. Hotel size makes it less personal, would return anytime on business but maybe not for vacation with family.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NBlacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Bottom Line: I got a great rate, the hotel was above average in its class, and the location is terrific. Highly Recommended!

Details: I traveled to London for a short break in May 2011 and stayed at the Park Plaza Westminster Bridge. After booking a government rate (125 GBP plus VAT) for a basic room with breakfast, I was pleasantly surprised to have been upgraded (based on my Club Carlson status) to a Studio Room with separate living area, bathroom, and bedroom. The view was of the hotel next door - so nothing spectacular there, although some rooms do provide a room of the Houses of Parliament across the Thames.

The location is great, near the London Eye, the County Hall complex, and with a short walk over the bridge you will find yourself at the Houses of Parliament, Whitehall, Westminster Abbey; with a slightly longer walk (20 minutes or so) you can make it to Trafalgar Square and (if you walk pretty fast) even the West End, Covent Garden, etc. If you don't want to walk that far, Westminster and Waterloo stations are very close and there are bus stops almost immediately outside the hotel as well.

The hotel, being so large, is kind of impersonal; it is used by a lot of tour groups and if you hang around the lobby for any period of time you will see flight crews, bus tour groups, cruise tour groups, and other groups come and go. However, the service is still good; the 110V jack in my room was not working and a technician was sent immediately upon my request to fix it. Not only did he fix it within 15 minutes, the service desk did call back after about 30 minutes to verify that everything was in working order.

The breakfast buffet was good, it was the typical English breakfast with a few extras, but everything was tasty. Tea and coffee service was adequate; I would suggest to the hotel that they just leave a carafe of coffee at the table for those of us who order coffee so that we don't have to ask for refills.

Wifi is free at this hotel which is a big plus in comparison to other 4* hotels that would charge 10 to even 20 GBP for the service. It seemed adequately speedy.

The bathroom was nice - containing both a shower and a tub, and the soaps/shampoos/etc were of a high standard. I especially liked the kitchenette area right next to the bathroom - although I didn't use it, for a longer stay the microwave included in this area would help defray restaurant costs.

Room Tip: It helps to have Club Carlson status
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

There were three of us traveling and the room was already set up when we arrived. The beds were superb. The bathroom had a separate shower and tub. Both the room and the bathroom were very spacious, especially by London standards. The desk had a power bar with outlets for UK and USA plugs.

We were staying at the hotel as a part of a group tour at the beginning and end. The location is excellent for using Waterloo Station and close to several Tube Stations. The London Eye is a little over a block away. Westminster Palace is just across the bridge.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blouiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#87 of 1,077 in London
3,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London

Address: 200 Westminster Bridge Road, London SE1 7UT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in London
#44 Spa Hotel in London
#83 Family Hotel in London
#94 Business Hotel in London
#101 Romantic Hotel in London
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $169 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London 4*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art meets design in the grand Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London. From its iconic position opposite Big Ben and the Houses of Parliament, the hotel places London's finest landmarks at your fingertips. The London Eye, Big Ben, London Dungeons, the London Aquarium, and the city's finest theatres, restaurants and bars are just a few steps away. A choice of tastefully conceived and breathtakingly executed guestrooms and suites includes large Studio Rooms with a bedroom, bathroom, kitchenette and living space with pull-out sofa bed, which is perfect for family stays. On the hotel's highest floors, enhanced amenities and extra space are on offer in the chic Penthouses and Suites, some of which have split-level duplex accommodation, balconies and panoramic city views. Brasserie Joël presents delicious French cuisine with seasonal specialties, while Ichi Sushi & Sashimi offers a true taste of Tokyo. 1WB Lounge & Patisserie is the place for afternoon tea and light bites, Primo Bar comes alive every evening with live music and sophisticated cocktails, and Espressamente Illy serves authentic Italian coffees. Unique among central London hotels, Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London boasts a fitness centre with 15-metre pool and Europe's only Mandara Spa, an exquisite oasis of Balinese calm. Nine treatment rooms, a manicure and pedicure area and relaxation lounge combine to offer indulgent pampering with the finest spa products. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Splitty, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London Hotel London
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing