We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean and comfortable in wimbledon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Justin James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Justin James Hotel
Ranked #159 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“clean and comfortable in wimbledon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Used Justin James as a base for 3 days intensive London sightseeing for German friends. Wanted somewhere to park and leave car during stay after drive up from westcountry. Very convenient for tube station with lots of places to eat and cheaper than the city Excellent breakfast, helpful staff. Would have liked a lounge.

Room Tip: Corner room attractive but noisy traffic on both sides. choose a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank june g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    46
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
26
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Deinze, East-Flanders, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

I travel quite frequently to Wimbledon, and this is my preferred place to stay. Whilst this is a very small family run B&B, it has everything a business traveler needs for a single night. Free WiFi, comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom, cooked-to-order Breakfast ( no buffet ), friendly service at affordable prices. And very close to city center! Only downside, no air-conditioning, the rooms can be quite hot in summer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConsiglioriWim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Needed to be in this area of Wimbledon, so not much choice?
Is expensive for what it is, but, this is Wimbledon I'm afraid?
This is reasonable standard B&B, it is not what you would call a 'hotel'. Lots of small rooms have been squeezed into the building.
The standard of our ground floor room, near the reception, was fine. Reasonably decorated and quality of bed OK. Noise levels were acceptable.
Breakfast was again fine, not the worst I have had, but certainly not the best either.
Within walking distance of the Station. Not much car parking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
116 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Sometimes you find a gem in a smaller hotel, other times a dump, and this was the later. I was in room 11 and paid 85 pounds via booking.com.

I knew it was a single room... but the description 1/2 room would have been more appropriate. Under the eaves of the house it was almost impossible to stand up straight in the bedroom.

Room dirty - cobwebs everywhere
Electric shower with limited pressure
TV would freeze and no sound requiring constant turning on and off to change channel - reported but no response
skylight in roof meant light streamed in at 5 am
very old single bed was not comfortable
cheap breakfast - edible but not worth the money
wifi unstable router wouldn't accept password complained / no action

location is good, sainsbury's, pubs restaurants and train very close

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This euphemistically called "hotel" is nothing of the kind. 3star. What a joke. I arrived, admittedly 20 mins early for official check in time & was informed that maintenance were still working on my room. I requested somewhere that I could get some refreshment as it was a very hot day & taxi from station was impossible as it was deemed to be too close. I asked directions from a number of people. none of whom had ever heard of it.
I was taken into a room empty other than some hard backed chairs. Dining Room it said on the door. this was the only public area in the "HOTEL"? Don't forget the 3 stars! I spent some time trying to connect to the free wifi with no success. I then asked how long it would be before I could gain access to my room & the receptionist opened a door & said "how long will you be"? Helpfully answered by "Dunno".
The keys left me even more disconcerted, as they were proper keys for the room plus a front door key. leading me to believe that the 3* hotel was unmanned at night..
My room was next to the reception desk & I believe the 1st port of call for any intruders.
I asked if might see the room. I think Philip Schofield would probably have made it, but Gordon the Gopher too-no chance!
I then enquired as to the nature of the problem maintenance was fixing & was informed Oh the toilet's broken.
My husband has run a building firm for 45yrs so I should have contacted him, but was becoming increasingly discomfited.
How on earth this place has the nerve to call itself an hotel mystifies me. it is a boarding house at best.
Eventually I plucked up the courage to say. "Sorry, but I want to leave". isn't it amazing how alternative rooms suddenly materialise when you say that? By then however I wanted more than anything to just get out of the place, so I offered to pay.
End result-£64 to sit in a stifling empty room with a glass of tepid water for almost an hour & moving to a real hotel & paying their bill also.
It's got other great reviews so pay your money take your chance.

Room Tip: Don.t even go there!
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria j, Manager at Justin James Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest, I'm so sorry to read your review which displays your dissatisfaction.
You had arrived early and requested bar facilities which are not available at the Justin James Hotel (please refer to our website). The Duty Manager offered you tea / coffee whilst the room was being serviced, you requested water which was provided.
Unfortunately maintenance is necessary and in the main is accepted as 'one of those things' so we do apologise if this was difficult for you to accept.
Please do accept our apologies again - we work hard in providing a high standard of service and as you can see from the previous reviews, most of our guests are satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is our second time now,as we liked to see the tennis. Stayed in room 4, small but luxurious and very clean with a fantastic shower. Excellent maid service, room always clean and tidy each day. Staff really friendly and always happy to help. Really good breakfast too, warm plates too. Will be going back there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamRafaNadal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel was very clean, staff very friendly, breakfast very nice. Our room was in the attic, it was very nice and beds were comfy, only problem was the over the bath shower. In way of you couldn't stand up to have a shower, it was more a kneel down shower. We felt it should have been cheaper due to this inconvienience.

Room Tip: I would assume the rooms at the back of the hotel would be quieter, as we were at the front, which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Wimbledon Hotel
#720 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Antoinette Hotel Wimbledon
#468 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
Hotel du Vin Wimbledon
#534 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Rose and Crown
#53 of 567 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Justin James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Justin James Hotel

Property: Justin James Hotel
Address: 43 Worple Road | Wimbledon, London SW19 4JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Justin James Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Justin James Hotel in Wimbledon is a long established family run hotel, providing a high standard of service & hospitality. We cater for local businesses and their overseas clientele, Wimbledon tennis guests, family celebrations and tourists visiting London throughout the year, and have recently been awarded the Visit London Approved Marque.The hotel has 18 en-suite bedrooms with facilities which include television, telephone, tea & coffee making facilities and free Wi-Fi access. The Justin James Hotel is ideally located in the heart of Wimbledon, home of the world famous All England Lawn Tennis Club which hosts the annual Wimbledon Tennis Championships. We are just a few minutes’ walk away from Wimbledon town centre in South West London, with all its shops, restaurants, cinema and the renowned Wimbledon theatre. Nearby Wimbledon Village offers a pleasant alternative to the town centre, with a selection of small shops and boutiques, restaurants, cafes and public houses, as well as delightful walks around Wimbledon Common. Wimbledon mainline and underground train stations are also within easy walking distance of the hotel, providing a fast and efficient service to central London with its many world-famous visitor attractions, theatres, shops and markets. Our tariff includes a full English breakfast each morning, and we offer an on-site massage service at discounted rates for our guests as well as a number of other facilities to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. The Justin James guest house is non-smoking throughout, however we do have a peaceful, easily accessible courtyard for those guests wishing to smoke. We strongly support the environment with our recycling policy. Our guests can choose whether or not to have daily laundry replacement, and we use First Mile, a local recycling company, who provide a weekly collection of all recyclable items. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Justin James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Justin James Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing