We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
London
Post
Inbox
Search

“Dine as a coeliac”
Review of Phoenix

Phoenix
Ranked #4,217 of 28,978 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Notting Hill
Description: The Phoenix is comfy pub located conveniently around the corner from Bayswater underground station. The pub serves traditional cask ales, premium spirits, cocktails as well as a wide variety of soft drinks. There are some great drinks offers. There is an extensive food menu with pub favourites such as Fish and Chips and Burgers, through to lighter snacks and sharing platters. We also have some great food offers with two main meals starting from only as little as only £12.99 for the pair. The pub has a large screen to show sporting events as well 4 others, there is also free Wi-fi for your convenience. The team at the Phoenix look forward to welcoming you!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I struggle with eating outside because of my severe case of coeliac disease. The kind staff gave us an extensive list of which meals that may be containing gluten or different ingredients that people may be allergic to. When we asked them to make sure everything was as clean as possible when making the food to avoid cross-contamination, they were happy to oblige.

Honestly this place made my day, i absolutely recommend it and will 100% come back in the future.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Egilsebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, General Manager at Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Egilsebastian, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us. Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 206 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2019

We came around 13h00 in sunday sunday. The pub was not busy at all. We ordered 5 sunday roast. After 10 min the waitress serve to us 4 of them without Yorkshire pudding...the last one came 30min after. No one came to explain or to give any apologies. The manager just tell me in the really bad way like she will give me my money back for the last one...the sunday roast by himself wasn't good at all. Just go for a beer and forget the food.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank antoine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2019

Antoine R, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, but would appreciate the chance to turn your experience around. Your feedback helps us improve, so thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. If you are willing, please give us a call at 020 7229 0647 so we can discuss your experience further. We look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2019

Lively pub with a nice homely atmosphere. Had fish and chips which arrived warm rather than not but a good sized portion. Good choice of ales. Only complaint was I could have had a smile from the staff two nights in there not one smile!

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stefan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2019

Hi Stefan C, it's a shame we didn't wow you when you visited us. If you'd like to share any feedback on your visit please get in touch and let me know using 020 7229 0647

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2019

We dropped in to get the English Pub feel and a English Pub "feed'.
The staff were pleasant and the atmosphere was good but the steaks we ordered medium to well done come out basically raw. The beer was pretty good but the food was too much to overlook. I am not normally worried about steak being a bit "pink" in the middle this was basically brown on the outside and red throughout, not on one but 2 steaks.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2019

Hi Wayne M, I really appreciate your honest feedback, and it will definitely be taken on board. I'm sorry for the experience you've had, and I hope you'll give us another try as this is not our usual standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2019

We stay in this pub for a quick drink after and before going to the hotel.
We take 3 beers, with some peanuts and we have a lovely time .People work here is friendly and the service in very good. We will come again text time we will come to London !

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stenton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greene_K1ng, Manager at Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2019

Alex742018, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at our pub We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix also viewed

 

Been to Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing