We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in London”

Kennedy's of Goswell Road
Ranked #985 of 23,041 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Clerkenwell
Description: We also have another Kennedys Restaurant at 169-171 Whitecross Street EC1Y 8JT
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best value in London”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Kennedy's is hands down my favourite place to eat at in London. Whilst the food is of your basic pie and chip variety, it is of excellent quality and the prices are incredibly cheap (there are numerous meal specials throughout the day too). I have dined at Kennedy's several times and have amongst other things, tried the fish, sausages and pies and have been delighted with every meal I have ever had there. The servings themselves are incredibly generous, all in all further contributing to Kennedy's excellent value. This place is a must for classic English comfort food, I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TDLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    65
    19
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
482 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips at their best!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

A really top-notch destination for its rustic, old-style atmosphere, delicious specialties (and generous portions), family-friendly prices and cheery service. We had starters of grilled baby squid and sauteed scallops, followed by their most popular mains: battered cod and haddock w/chips, and sides of mushy peas and cole slaw... all 'best of class'. As a special offer, each two mains came with a FREE Bottle of wine (white,rose or red; we chose pinot grigio, which went just fine with our fish). Other wines and beers are available cheaply, but free was irresistable; so our 4 tasty meals plus 2 bottles of wine totalled only £62, plus tip... an unbelieveable quality/cost deal in this historic London icon. Dieters might choose grilled cod/halibut/salmon or tuna; but we enjoyed ours 'traditional'... lightly crusted, w/moist, flakey fish of excellent quality. NOTE: Kennedy's is where London's cabbies go for 'the real thing'! Also has popular onsite 'take-away' counter sharing same menu and kitchen.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wildswanDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch deal”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

20 years ago this was a grotty fish & chip shop. It's still a fish & chip shop but it has gone upmarket with a pleasant restaurant attached that serves the fish & chip classic dishes but also sophisticated fish dishes. They do an incredible lunch deal. My husband had scampi, chips, salad & a glass of wine wine for £5. My fish cakes, salad & glass of wine was £6.50.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LFKUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Proper fish and chips”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This fish and chip shop stands out because of the range of dishes - traditional battered haddock, chips and mushy peas was excellent and freshly cooked - but we also had grilled calamari as a starter and a trio of grilled fish included halibut, salmon and tuna. It's licensed so we also had a good bottle of very cold white wine which was very resonably priced. I'd take anyone here to show them how good fish and chips can be. The staff were excellent too, in spite of being very busy. It's popular so might be worth booking, but we hadn't and were found a table after a short wait. I'd agree with other reviewers saying it's the best in London.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyclades_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
217 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Best Chippy in London”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The only downside to Kennedys is the fact that the second best fish and chip shop is located just round the corner in Kings Square.
I love Kennedys and make it my first port of call when in London. I grew up just down the road from here and have som many wonderful memories, but this place offers up immediate pleasure. The fish is always golden and crisp like no other you have tasted. Even simple things like sausages they go the extra mile for. The interior has changed over the years, and we have had many a family meal in here, but the fish and chips remains to die for.

Shame the Shakespere across the road has been demolished.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pumperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennedy's of Goswell Road also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Kennedy's of Goswell Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing